Go to AutoRacing1's Home PageGo to AutoRacing 1's CART PageGo to AutoRacing1's NASCAR PageGo to AutoRacing 1's F1 PageGo to AutoRacing 1's Links PageGo to AutoRacing1's Race Schedules PageGo to AutoRacing1's Classified Ads PageGo to AutoRacing 1's Rumor's PageGo to AutoRacing1's Hot News PageGo to AutoRacing 1's Discussion ForumsGo to AutoRacing1's Racing Store PageGo to AutoRacing 1's CarTest PageAutoRacing Stock PricesGo to AutoRacing 1's Interviews PageContact the AutoRacing1 Webmaster


NASCAR Winston Cup Series Race #34 of 36

WHERE: Homestead-Miami Speedway
1.5 Mile Paved Speedway

WHEN: Sunday, November 11, 2001

DISTANCE: 400.5 Miles/267 Laps

POSTED AWARDS: $3,592,785

FIELD: Field consists of the fastest 36 cars through time trials. Also, seven provisional starting positions based on 2001 owner points, for maximum 43-car field. The 43rd position is reserved for a past NWCS champion, if needed. If unused, it will go to the next eligible owner.

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Homestead-Miami Speedway LLC

TV: Pre-race show: 12:00 p.m. ET Hosted by Bill Weber
Race coverage: 12:30 p.m. ET
Announcers: Allen Bestwick, Benny Parsons and Wally Dallenbach
Pit Reporters: Bill Weber, Marty Snider, Dave Burns and Matt Yocum

RADIO: Airtime: 12:00 p.m. ET
Announcers: Barney Hall and Joe Moore
Turn Reporter: Kurt Becker and Mike Bagley
Pit Reporters: Jim Phillips, Winston Kelley and Jason Toy


Friday, November 9: 
7:00am NASCAR Garage Opens 8:00am 
11:20am Practice till 1:20pm 
3:05pm Qualifying-All Positions, 2 laps 

Saturday, November 10:
NASCAR Garage Opens
10:30am Practice till 11:15am
11:45am Final Practice till 12:30pm

Sunday, November 11:
7:00am NASCAR Garage Opens
10:30am Drivers & Crew Chiefs Meeting
12:00pm Introduction of Drivers 
12:30pm Start of the Pennzoil 400

RECORDS: Qualifying: Steve Park, 11/10/00, 156.440 mph (34.518 seconds)
Race: Tony Stewart, 11/14/99, 140.335 mph (2 hrs., 51 mins., 14 seconds)

THE TRACK: Homestead-Miami Speedway is a 1.5-mile oval track with 6-degree banking in the turns and 4-degree banking on the straightaways. The length of the frontstretch and backstretch is 1760 feet. This is the third annual Pennzoil 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

2000 REVIEW: Steve Park led the 43-car field to the green flag and proceeded to pace the first nine laps before being passed by Jimmy Spencer. Spencer held the point until lap 25 when Ricky Rudd took the lead. Rudd's lead was diminished after the first caution period of the day. Jeremy Mayfield won the race off pit road with a gas-only pit stop. With the championship in sight, Tony Stewart charged to the front and all but clinched the championship for his teammate Bobby Labonte. On lap 224 the race resumed to green-flag racing for the final time of the day with Stewart and Rudd joined by Mark Martin as the front-runners. Mayfield charged through the front-runners with Labonte in tow passing Martin and putting the pressure on Stewart in the waning laps but Stewart proved to be up for the challenge. Tony Stewart proceeded to win his ninth career NASCAR Winston Cup Series victory.

2000 TOP 10 OF THE PENNZOIL 400: 
1. Tony Stewart
2. Jeremy Mayfield
3. Mark Martin
4. Bobby Labonte
5. Jimmy Spencer
6. Ricky Rudd
7. Jeff Gordon
8. Steve Park
9. Dave Blaney
10. Casey Atwood

Winner Bud Pole Winner
2000 Tony Stewart Steve Park
1999 Tony Stewart David Green

Winston, Aeroquip, Anheuser-Busch, Auto Meter Products, Bowman Distribution, Clevite Engine Parts, Competition Cams, EA Sports, Edelbrock Manifolds, Gatorade Sports Beverage, Goodyear Belts & Hoses, Goodyear Tires, Hasbro, Holley Carburetors, JE Pistons, Jesel Rocker Arms, MAC Tools, Mechanix Wear, Moog Chassis Parts, Plasti-Kote Spray Paint, Prestone, Raybestos Brakes, 76 Gasoline, 76/NASCAR High Performance Motor Oil, Simpson Helmets, Spicer Drive Shafts, 3M Company, True Value Hardware, Wix Air Filters.

* The posted awards for the Pennzoil 400 are $3,592,485.
* The NASCAR Winston Cup Leader Bonus is worth $60,000 for the Pennzoil 400.
* Tony Stewart has won both NASCAR Winston Cup Series races at Homestead.
* Bobby Labonte has finished fourth or better in both NASCAR Winston Cup Series races at Homestead.
* Dale Jarrett (1995), Kevin Lepage (1996), Joe Nemechek (1997 and '99), Jeff Burton (1998) and Jeff Gordon (2000) have won NASCAR Busch Series races at Homestead.
* Florida native, Joe Nemechek has competed in eight races at Homestead (six NASCAR Busch Series and two NASCAR Winston Cup Series). He is the only driver that has won a Bud Pole and scored a victory at the South Florida track - both in the NASCAR Busch Series.

ewart 461
9. Jeff Burton 400
10. Kevin Harvick 373

Top 10 Miles Leaders:
1. Jeff Gordon 2758.77
2. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 1358.09
3. Rusty Wallace 1085.55
4. Sterling Marlin 842.97
5. Dale Jarrett 756.12
6. Ricky Rudd 695.02
7. Steve Park 646.29
8. Tony Stewart 582.36
9. Jeff Burton 464.47
10. Kevin Harvick 418.94