for your iPhone
for your iPad
Formula 1

F1 Links

2017 Schedule

Race Car Comparison

Lap Time Comparison

Champ Car vs F1 Car

Teams & Driver Page

2017 Point Standings

After Malaysia
Championship Standings:

Pos Entrant Points
1 Lewis Hamilton 281
2 Sebastian Vettel 247
3 Valtteri Bottas 222
4 Daniel Ricciardo 177
5 Kimi Raikkonen 138
6 Max Verstappen 93
7 Sergio Perez 76
8 Esteban Ocon 57
9 Carlos Sainz 48
10 Nico Hulkenberg 34
11 Felipe Massa 33
12 Lance Stroll 32
13 Romain Grosjean 26
14 Stoffel Vandoorne 13
15 Kevin Magnussen 11
16 Fernando Alonso 10
17 Jolyon Palmer 8
18 Pascal Wehrlein 5
19 Daniil Kvyat 4
20 Marcus Ericsson 0
21 Antonio Giovinazzi 0
22 Pierre Gasly 0

Pos Team Points
1 Mercedes 503
2 Ferrari 385
3 Red Bull 270
4 Force India 133
5 Williams 65
6 Toro Rosso 52
7 Renault 42
8 Haas Ferrari 37
9 McLaren Honda 23
10 Sauber Ferrari 5

Bahrain GP: Button wins 3rd race of 2009

by Mark J. Cipolloni
Sunday, April 26, 2009


Jenson Button on his way to his 3rd win of 2009
Jenson Button claimed his third win in four races by winning the Bahrain Grand Prix in sweltering conditions on Sunday.

Fastest of the non-double diffuser cars was Sebastian Vettel in second for Red Bull, with pole-sitter Jarno Trulli (Toyota) third and Lewis Hamilton taking fourth for McLaren.  Rubens Barrichello came through to fifth in the second Brawn despite his three-stop strategy.

Vettel lost the race due to his inability to pass Hamilton's slower McLaren early on and then later the Red Bull emerged from the pits right behind the Toyota of Jarno Trulli, but with Trulli losing a second per lap to new leader Button, Vettel lost more time to leader Button.

It was not until the final stops that Vettel managed to pass Trulli, and by that time he was 12s adrift of Button and finished 7.1 seconds behind him.  Vettel was faster, but his team's strategy that but him behind slower cars cost him the race.

Button extended his lead in the drivers' world championship to 12 points over his Brawn teammate Rubens Barrichello.

After also winning in Australia and Malaysia, the 29-year-old Briton said the victory - over Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel - was his favorite of the season.

"We have been right on the edge with engine temperature, not quite always there with pace, so the races you aren't completely sure about are the ones that feel the best (to win)," team boss Ross Brawn told the BBC.

Shanghai winner Vettel now trails Button for the title by 13 points, while a further 3.5 points adrift is Jarno Trulli, who after scoring pole position in the Sakhir desert finished 2 seconds adrift of Vettel to complete the podium.

In the presence of big cheese Luca di Montezemolo, Ferrari at least opened its points account, even though Kimi Raikkonen 3 points in Bahrain leaves the famous Italian team just ninth in the constructors' standings.

Felipe Massa was just 14th and lapped, apparently with KERS problems and after having to pit for front end damage.

Both BMWs also displayed battle-damage at the end of 56 laps, and only beat Williams' retired Kazuki Nakajima to the checkered flag.


Pos Driver Team Time/Behind
1. Button Brawn GP-Mercedes 1h31:48.182
2. Vettel Red Bull-Renault +7.187
3. Trulli Toyota +9.170
4. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes +22.096
5. Barrichello Brawn GP-Mercedes +37.779
6. Raikkonen Ferrari +42.057
7. Glock Toyota +42.880
8. Alonso Renault +52.775
9. Rosberg Williams-Toyota +58.198
10. Piquet Renault +1:05.149
11. Webber Red Bull-Renault +1:07.641
12. Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes +1:17.824
13. Bourdais Toro Rosso-Ferrari +1:18.805
14. Massa Ferrari +1 lap
15. Fisichella Force India-Mercedes +1 lap
16. Sutil Force India-Mercedes +1 lap
17. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari +1 lap
18. Kubica BMW Sauber +1 lap
19. Heidfeld BMW Sauber +1 lap
20. Nakajima Williams-Toyota DNF Lap 49

Fastest lap: Trulli, 1:34.556

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article