for your iPhone
for your iPad
Formula 1

F1 Links

2016 Schedule

Race Car Comparison

Lap Time Comparison

Champ Car vs F1 Car

Teams & Driver Page

2016 Point Standings

After USA
Championship Standings:
Pos Driver Points
1 Nico Rosberg 331
2 Lewis Hamilton 305
3 Daniel Ricciardo 227
4 Sebastian Vettel 177
5 Kimi Raikkonen 170
6 Max Verstappen 165
7 Sergio Perez 84
8 Valtteri Bottas 81
9 Nico Hulkenberg 54
10 Fernando Alonso 52
11 Felipe Massa 49
12 Carlos Sainz 38
13 Romain Grosjean 29
14 Daniil Kvyat 25
15 Jenson Button 21
16 Kevin Magnussen 7
17 Jolyon Palmer 1
18 Pascal Wehrlein 1
19 Stoffel Vandoorne 1
20 Esteban Gutierrez 0
21 Marcus Ericsson 0
22 Felipe Nasr 0
23 Rio Haryanto 0
24 Esteban Ocon 0

1 Mercedes 636
2 Red Bull Racing Tag Heuer 400
3 Ferrari 347
4 Force India Mercedes 138
5 Williams Mercedes 130
6 McLaren Honda 74
7 Toro Rosso Ferrari 55
8 Haas Ferrari 29
9 Renault 8
10 MRT Mercedes 1
11 Sauber Ferrari 0 

Monaco GP: Button & Barrichello in romp

by Mark J. Cipolloni
Sunday, May 24, 2009


Jenson Button on his way to his 5th win in 6 races
Starting from his pole position, Jenson Button easily won the Monaco Grand Prix today, 7.6 seconds ahead of his Brawn-Mercedes teammate Rubens Barrichello for a one-two finish for Brawn GP. Kimi Raikkonen ended Ferrari's podium drought with third place, followed closely by teammate Felipe Massa. some 15.1 seconds behind Button. The win is Button's fifth of sixth races in the season so far.

Mark Webber (15.7s) in the Red Bull-Renault finished in fifth place, followed by Nico Rosberg (33.5s) in the Williams-Toyota in sixth place, Fernando Alonso (37.8s) in the Renault in seventh place and Sebastien Bourdais (63.1s) in the Toro Rosso-Ferrari took the final points paying position.

At the start Button got the jump on outside pole sitter Kimi Raikkonen's Ferrari on the run up to Ste. Devote and his teammate Barrichello, also on the clean side of the track squeezed past Raikkonen as well and the Brawn cars were off and running.

From there Button was never headed and controlled the race at the front to perfection.

Jenson Button had so much energy after winning the Monaco grand prix that he managed to run the entire distance of the pit straight to get to the podium ceremony in time.

After winning the prestigious race, his fifth from six starts so far in 2009, the Brawn driver mistakenly parked into the pits, not further down the road on the straight where the top three runners assemble for the festivities.

"I'm lost for words with him really," Ross Brawn, having earlier on Sunday compared Button with Michael Schumacher, told the BBC.  "He's exceeding everything I thought possible."

Button wasn't lost for words on the radio after crossing the checkered flag: "Monaco baby, yeah!" the resident of the Principality screamed.

His lead over teammate Rubens Barrichello, squarely beaten and second on Sunday, is now 16 points, while the closest non-Brawn challenger Sebastian Vettel crashed into the barriers at Ste Devote after burning up his soft tires.

The German is now an increasingly distant 28 points behind Button with 11 races to go, meaning Button can now afford to lose a couple of points to the Red Bull at every remaining grand prix on the calendar and still win the title.

Force India, with Giancarlo Fisichella in ninth, missed scoring a point by less than two seconds, amid a spate of retirements and crashes and the awful form this weekend of the BMWs and Toyotas.

Sebastian Buemi punted Nelson Piquet off, while Heikki Kovalainen and Kazuki Nakajima shunted alone, the latter Williams while negotiating the last lap.

Piquet, just a season ahead of rookie Swiss Buemi, was scathing: "These young drivers need to calm down."

Reigning world champion Lewis Hamilton finished twelfth and a lap down.  Jenson Button has proven this season he is the best British driver on the grid, not Hamilton, having won 5 of 6 races and never putting a wheel wrong, something that Hamilton never did.



1. Jenson Button Britain Brawn-Mercedes 78
2. Rubens Barrichello Brazil Brawn-Mercedes 78 7.6
3. Kimi Raikkonen Finland Ferrari 78 13.4
4. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari 78 15.1
5. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull-Renault 78 15.7
6. Nico Rosberg Germany Williams-Toyota 78 33.5
7. Fernando Alonso Spain Renault 78 37.8
8. Sebastien Bourdais France Toro Rosso-Ferrari 78 1m03.1
9. Giancarlo Fisichella Italy Force India-Mercedes 78 1m05.0
10. Timo Glock Germany Toyota 77 1 Lap
11. Nick Heidfeld Germany BMW Sauber 77 1 Lap
12. Lewis Hamilton Britain McLaren-Mercedes 77 1 Lap
13. Jarno Trulli Italy Toyota 77 1 Lap
14. Adrian Sutil Germany Force India-Mercedes 77 1 Lap
15. Kazuki Nakajima Japan Williams-Toyota 76 2 Laps, Accident
R Heikki Kovalainen Finland McLaren-Mercedes 51 Accident
R Robert Kubica Poland BMW Sauber 28
R Sebastian Vettel Germany Red Bull-Renault 15 Accident
R Nelson Piquet Brazil Renault 10 Accident
R Sebastien Buemi Switzerland Toro Rosso-Ferrari 10 Accident
FASTEST LAP Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari 50 1:15.154

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article