for your iPhone
for your iPad
Tudor USCC


Prototype (P)

Prototype Challenge(PC)

GT Le Mans (GTLM

GT Daytona (GTD)

USCC Point Standings
After Lime Rock
Prototype Drivers
Pos Drivers Total
1 Joao Barbosa 220
1 Christian Fittipaldi 220
2 Dane Cameron 216
2 Eric Curran 216
3 Jordan Taylor 211
3 Ricky Taylor 211
4 Marc Goossens 197
5 Oswaldo Negri Jr. 191
6 Jonathan Bomarito 183
6 Tristan Nunez 183
7 Tom Long 179
7 Joel Miller 179
8 Katherine Legge 171
8 Ryan Dalziel 171
9 John Pew 164
10 Sean Rayhall 120
11 Johannes Van Overbeek 95
11 Scott Sharp 95
11 Luis Felipe Derani 95
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay 84
13 Max Angelelli 82
14 Olivier Pla 77
15 Spencer Pigot 72
15 Ed Brown 72
16 Ben Devlin 70
17 Andy Meyrick 67
18 Scott Pruett 62
19 Filipe Albuquerque 61
20 Rubens Barrichello 53

1 #5 Action Express Racing 220
2 #31 Action Express Racing 216
3 #10 Wayne Taylor Racing 211
4 #90 Visitflorida.Com Racing 197
5 #60 Michael Shank Racing 191
6 #55 Mazda Motorsports 183
7 #70 Mazda Motorsports 179
8 #0 Panoz Deltawing Racing 144
9 #2 Tequila Patron Esm 95
10 #50 Highway To Help 46
11 #81 Dragonspeed 29
12 #01 Ford Chip Ganassi 27
13 #02 Ford Chip Ganassi 25
14 #37 Smp Racing 23
15 #24 Porsche Centre Oakville 21

1 Chevrolet 236
2 Honda 227
3 Mazda 212
4 Bmw 56
5 Ford 30
Gil de Ferran announces his retirement a 2nd time

Friday, August 7, 2009


Gil de Ferran announces his retirement
Two-time Indy car Champion and 2003 Indianapolis 500 winner, Gil de Ferran, announced today that he will retire from sports car driving at the completion of the 2009 American Le Mans Series (ALMS) season.  The 41-year-old Florida-based Brazilian, will continue as President of de Ferran Motorsports (DFM), the Team he formed in 2008 to compete in ALMS as the factory-supported Acura Team.

“Throughout my career, I’ve always been driven by new challenges.  While I’ve enjoyed my time behind the wheel of the #66 XM Radio DFM Acura ARX-02a, my main focus moving forward is to continue to build our Team into a world class motorsports organization,” said the past Indy car and Indianapolis 500 champion.  “I feel that by returning to the cockpit for the past year, I have been competitive and added value to our team as a driver. Overall, I also feel we  succeeded in developing this program to a point where I can now step down and dedicate 100% of my time to expanding our Team.”

de Ferran, whose racing career began in 1982 and included winning titles in each of the Series in which he competed, originally retired from open-wheel racing at the conclusion of the 2003 season.  Immediately upon his retirement, he worked as an announcer for ABC/ESPN before being named as the Sporting Director of the Honda Formula One Team.

de Ferran founded DFM in 2008 to support Acura in the development of their sports car program, assuming a role similar to his role with Honda in the Indy car Series.  In their first race (Salt Lake City) they qualified on the front row and finished on the podium (third).  They ended their 2008 season with four front row starts in eight races including one pole position.  To date this season, they have started on the front row in every race missing the pole position only once and have won the past three events.  They currently are in second place in the Championship, just thirteen points out of first place.

“I’m looking forward to competing in the final races of the 2009 ALMS season as I think we have a very strong shot at the Championship,” said de Ferran.  “It would be great to end my sports car driving career with a win at Laguna Seca and a Championship for Acura and DFM, much the same way I ended my Indy car career.”  (de Ferran ended the 2003 season with a win at Texas Motor Speedway as the defending Indy 500 winner).

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article