for your iPhone
for your iPad

NHRA Links
 2016 Schedule
2016 Tickets
2016 Results
2016 Full Throttle points 

NHRA Point Standings
Through 2016 Las Vegas

Top Fuel
Pos Driver Points
1 Brittany Force 307
2 Antron Brown 269
3 Doug Kalitta 267
4 Steve Torrence 249
5 Clay Millican 242
6 J.R. Todd 229
7 Dave Connolly 217
8 Terry Mc Millen 209
9 Tony Schumacher 190
10 Leah Pritchett 188
11 Richie Crampton 187
12 Troy Buff 155
13 Shawn Langdon 130
14 Scott Palmer 93
15 Morgan Lucas 84

Funny Car
Pos Driver Points
1 Robert Hight 341
2 John Force 294
3 Ron Capps 289
4 Del Worsham 283
5 Jack Beckman 271
6 Courtney Force 265
7 Chad Head 236
8 Alexis De Joria 233
9 Tim Wilkerson 221
10 Matt Hagan 150
11 Tommy Johnson 149
12 Cruz Pedregon 146
13 John Hale 126
14 James Campbell 109
15 Terry Haddock 98

Pro Stock
Pos Driver Points
1 Jason Line 463
2 Greg Anderson 415
3 Bo Butner 331
4 Drew Skillman 264
5 Chris McGaha 214
6 Allen Johnson 212
7 Jeg Coughlin 191
8 Vincent Nobile 175
9 Erica Enders 171
10 Alex Laughlin 154
11 Deric Kramer 135
12 V Gaines 124
12 Matthew Hartford 124
14 Shane Gray 117
15 Joey Grose 94

Pro Stock Motorcycle
Pos Driver Points
1 Eddie Krawiec 129
2 Hector Arana 99
3 Andrew Hines 79
4 LE Tonglet IV 74
5 Chip Ellis 62
6 Michael Ray Jr 52
6 Gerald Savoie 52
6 James Underdahl 52
9 Angelle Sampey 35
10 Scott Pollacheck 33
10 Melissa Surber 33
12 Steve Johnson 32
13 Hector Arana Jr 31
13 Mike Berry 31
13 Michael Phillips 31
13 Angie Smith 31
McClenathan, Force, Edwards, Smith win 4-wide Nats

by Pete McCole
Monday, March 29, 2010


4-wide Funny Car photo finish

John Force, Cory McClenathan, Mike Edwards and Matt Smith racing their way into history on Monday, scoring victories in the ever Four-Wide Nationals for the NHRA Full Throttle Series at zMax Dragway.

After a day’s delay from rain showers that washed out the finals on Sunday, 14-time Funny Car Champion Force pulled off a 4.036 second, 316.23 mph run to beat out his daughter Ashley Force Hood, Ron Capps and Matt Hagan to collect his second win of the year in his 205th final round appearance.

John Force
Rhonda McCole/
Force was part of the original four-wide exhibition that took place last September and was the only driver from the exhibition to make it into the final round.

“This is a little taste of history,” Force said. “This was special, like beating the dragsters at Bristol (at the 1999 Showdown between Funny Cars and Top Fuelers). Thanks to (zMAX Dragway owners) Bruton and Marcus Smith. They took the money and spent it to make this happen.

“The hardest part was racing Ron Capps. He is always tough and (Matt) Hagan, now that he has (co-crew chief) John Medlen there, will put the fear into you. My own daughter also leaves nothing on the table. I'm proud of Ashley. She's learned the game.”

McClenathan and his team rebounded from a blown tire after the first round of eliminations in Top Fuel to power to his 33rd career victory and his second of the season, barely beating out Doug Kalitta by .001 seconds at the line with a 3.800 second 319.60 mph run. Antron Brown was third followed by hometown favorite Doug Herbert.

Cory McClenathan
Rhonda McCole/
“(Crew chiefs) Todd Okuhara, Phil Shuler and the FRAM boys are just so good this year,” McClenathan said. “They give me what it takes to go out there and win drag races. We came here with the opinion that we need to be able to go four-wide, we need to be able to understand the lights, and I had a certain way that I went about it all weekend long. I kept the same plan and it worked out for us. I was happy with the whole thing.”

Pro Stock and Pro Stock Motorcycle completed their semi-final rounds that were postponed from Sunday, with Greg Stanfield and Bob Yonke beating out Rodger Brogdon and Rickie Jones to advance to the finals to face Edwards and Jason line, who finished 1-2 in their semi-final against Allen Johnson and John Nobile.

In the final, Edwards nailed a .009 at the light to top Line with a run of 6.596 at 210.05 mph to notch his 23rd Pro Stock victory.

“I must have been real shallow because that should have been a red-light; I rolled the beams a little but got away with it,” said Edwards of his final-round reaction time. “I'll tell ya, this four-wide deal is hard on people, but it's been a great weekend.

“It was fun; it was confusing a lot of times, but it was fun. It was different, but you still had to do everything right. I had a good time, and anytime you can win a race, it's a great time. This is a great start to hopefully another great season.”

Smith took the top honors in the Pro Stock Motorcycle class, beating out defending series champion Hector Arana, Steve Johnson and Michael Phillips with an ET of 6.937 at 189.84 mph for his 11th career final round victory.

“We stayed and tested in Gainesville on Monday and got our stuff right,” said Smith. “As a three-bike team [with Angie Smith and Doug Horne], we all did our jobs down there, and that helped. We still have some problems with the other two bikes, and I’ll get to that, but this was a big win.

“I love this four-wide deal. I’m glad that NHRA and Bruton [Smith] did this. It was fun, just like NASCAR having road races. It was a different atmosphere.”

Smith and Arana won out over L.E. Tonglet and Mike Berry to move on to the finals, while Johnson and Phillips beat out David Hope and Junior Pippin to advance to the finals.

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article