for your iPhone
for your iPad
Tudor USCC


Prototype (P)

Prototype Challenge(PC)

GT Le Mans (GTLM

GT Daytona (GTD)

USCC Point Standings
After Lime Rock
Prototype Drivers
Pos Drivers Total
1 Joao Barbosa 220
1 Christian Fittipaldi 220
2 Dane Cameron 216
2 Eric Curran 216
3 Jordan Taylor 211
3 Ricky Taylor 211
4 Marc Goossens 197
5 Oswaldo Negri Jr. 191
6 Jonathan Bomarito 183
6 Tristan Nunez 183
7 Tom Long 179
7 Joel Miller 179
8 Katherine Legge 171
8 Ryan Dalziel 171
9 John Pew 164
10 Sean Rayhall 120
11 Johannes Van Overbeek 95
11 Scott Sharp 95
11 Luis Felipe Derani 95
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay 84
13 Max Angelelli 82
14 Olivier Pla 77
15 Spencer Pigot 72
15 Ed Brown 72
16 Ben Devlin 70
17 Andy Meyrick 67
18 Scott Pruett 62
19 Filipe Albuquerque 61
20 Rubens Barrichello 53

1 #5 Action Express Racing 220
2 #31 Action Express Racing 216
3 #10 Wayne Taylor Racing 211
4 #90 Visitflorida.Com Racing 197
5 #60 Michael Shank Racing 191
6 #55 Mazda Motorsports 183
7 #70 Mazda Motorsports 179
8 #0 Panoz Deltawing Racing 144
9 #2 Tequila Patron Esm 95
10 #50 Highway To Help 46
11 #81 Dragonspeed 29
12 #01 Ford Chip Ganassi 27
13 #02 Ford Chip Ganassi 25
14 #37 Smp Racing 23
15 #24 Porsche Centre Oakville 21

1 Chevrolet 236
2 Honda 227
3 Mazda 212
4 Bmw 56
5 Ford 30
Ricky Taylor Snares Pole Position

For Saturday's Brumos Porsche 250 At Daytona
Friday, July 2, 2010


Told he needed to run "one more perfect lap," Ricky Taylor responded with a lap of 1:42.341 (125.228 mph) to capture the pole position for Saturday's Brumos Porsche 250 at Daytona International Speedway, the eighth round of the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16.

The race takes the green flag at 11 a.m. Flag-to-flag SPEED coverage begins at 1 p.m. ET.

Taylor put the No. 10 SunTrust Ford/Dallara atop the scoring charts early in the 15-minute session, and bettered his speed three times to hold off defending Daytona Prototype champion Jon Fogarty in the No. 99 GAINSCO Chevrolet/Riley. Taylor is in his first year co-driving with Max Angelelli, defending winner of the Brumos Porsche 250.

But that was not enough for team strategist Simon Hodgson, who told the 20-year-old student at the University of Central Florida that he needed to go faster.

"As always, the car was capable of winning the pole, and it was a matter of putting all of the corners together," said Taylor, who recorded his second pole of the season. "When you run with a team like SunTrust, it's easy to look good. I think I could have gone even faster if I had another lap, but I ran out of fuel."

"Ricky was fantastic, and he continues to exceed my expectations," said Angelelli, who co-drove with Brian Frisselle in last year's victory. Angelelli also won this event in 2004, co-driving with car owner Wayne Taylor, father of the pole winner. "I am looking forward to tomorrow night - and the future."

Fogarty was second fastest with a lap of 1:42.454 (125.090 mph). Starting on the second row will be Darren Law, 1:42.904 (124.543 mph) in the No. 59 Brumos Porsche/Riley, and points leader Memo Rojas in the No. 01 TELMEX BMW/Riley shared with Scott Pruett, 1:43.377 (123.973 mph). Rojas and Pruett have won five of seven races this year, including the last two.

Ironically, while Taylor secured the pole on his final lap, his younger brother Jordan Taylor was bumped off the top slot in GT qualifying on the final lap by Sylvain Tremblay. Tremblay ran a lap of 1:50.495 (115.987 mph) in the No. 70 Castrol Syntec Mazda RX-8 he drove to victory in the 2010 Rolex 24 At Daytona with co-driver Jonathan Bomarito.

Tremblay, second in GT points, is a two-time GT winner of the Brumos Porsche 250. Tremblay also won the Rolex 24 twice - all in the No. 70 Mazda RX-8. The No. 70 he drove Friday is the same car that was involved in an accident two weeks ago at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course; the team replaced the entire front end of the car.

"I was gradually getting quicker on every lap," Tremblay said. "As the track got better, I played with my line and adjusted the bars - and that got the car better at the end. Jordan was quick - but he always qualifies fantastically."

It will be the seventh front-row start of 2010 for Jordan Taylor, who ran a lap of 1:50.514 (115.967 mph) in the No. 30 Racers Edge Motorsports Mazda RX-8 he shares with Todd Lamb. Taylor leads the class with three poles.

Starting on the second row will be Adam Christodoulou, 1:51.326 (115.121 mph) in the No. 68 Mazdaspeed Motorsports Development Mazda RX-8 co-driven by John Edwards; and James Gue, 1:51.835 (114.597 mph) in the No. 41 Global Diving & Salvage Mazda RX-8 he shares with defending GT race winner Leh Keen.

Saturday's schedule opens with a 9:45 a.m. ET with a 20-minute practice session. The two-and-a-half hour Brumos Porsche 250 begins at 11 a.m. ET.

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article