for your iPhone
for your iPad
Tudor USCC


Prototype (P)

Prototype Challenge(PC)

GT Le Mans (GTLM

GT Daytona (GTD)

USCC Point Standings
2014 After Watkins Glen
Prototype Drivers
Pos Drivers Total
1 Joao Barbosa 31
1 Christian Fittipaldi 31
2 Brian Frisselle 26
2 Burt Frisselle 26
3 Sage Karam 26
4 Max Angelelli 25
4 Jordan Taylor 25
4 Ricky Taylor 25
5 Scott Pruett 24
5 Memo Rojas 24
6 Sebastien Bourdais 23
7 Michael Valiante 22
7 Richard Westbrook 22
8 Scott Dixon 22
8 Tony Kanaan 22
9 Ryan Dalziel 21
9 Scott Sharp 21
10 Johannes van Overbeek 21
10 Ed Brown 21
11 Marino Franchitti 20
12 Alex Brundle 20
12 Gustavo Yacaman 20
13 Eric Curran 18
13 Boris Said 18
14 Oswaldo Negri Jr. 18
14 John Pew 18
15 Joel Miller 18
15 Tristan Vautier 18
16 Gabby Chaves 18
16 Katherine Legge 18
17 David Brabham 17
18 Simon Pagenaud 17
19 Wayne Taylor 15
20 Fabien Giroix 14
20 John Martin 14

1 Chevrolet 38
2 Ford 34
3 Nissan 28
4 Honda 26
5 Mazda 18
Gurney defeats Pruett in New Jersey

Makes pass with 2 laps remaining
Sunday, July 18, 2010


With three minutes remaining Sunday at New Jersey Motorsports Park, Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas were looking to make GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 history. Then, Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty made some history of their own.

One day after Fogarty gave the team its first pole position of the season, Gurney caught and passed Pruett with less than two laps remaining and went on to win by 3.674 seconds, giving the defending Daytona Prototype champions their first GRAND-AM Rolex Series victory of the season in the NJMP 250. They drove the No. 99 GAINSCO Auto Insurance Chevrolet/Riley.

Pruett beat Gurney out of the pits following his final pit stop and led 45 laps in his quest for a record fourth consecutive victory in the No. 01 TELMEX BMW/Riley started by Memo Rojas. However, Pruett brushed Ozz Negri while making a pass with less than three minutes remaining in the two-hour, 45-minute event, causing a slow leak in his right-front tire.

"My engineer told me that Scott had a cut tire, so I took my time and held back to make a clean pass," said Gurney, who joined Fogarty in winning their 13th career DP race. "Scott moved over for me and it all worked out. I didn't let up. That was a nice gift they gave us, but I think we've delivered a few gifts to people over the years. It's nice to get one."

With six victories in nine races, Pruett and Rojas lead fifth-place finisher Ryan Dalziel by 19 points (267-248) with three races remaining in the DP championship. The six victories this season remain one shy of the record seven recorded by Fogarty and Gurney in their 2007 championship season.

Pruett and Rojas ran without the benefit of cool suits despite racing in ambient temperatures in the 90s. Rojas spent time in the infield medical center after leading 10 laps during his opening stint.

"Normally, we just deal with the heat," Rojas said. "Today, I think we needed cool suits."

Max Angelelli and Ricky Taylor finished third in the No. 10 SunTrust Ford/Dallara, followed by Burt Frisselle and Mark Wilkins in the No. 61 Pacific Mobile/BioSign Ford/Riley and Mike Forest and Dalziel in the No. 8 Corsa Car Care/Xtreme Indoor Karting BMW/Riley.

A number of cars encountered problems in the final 10 minutes. Buddy Rice had a brief fire in the No. 90 Spirit of Daytona Porsche/Coyote that was quickly extinguished. Michael Valiante, driving the No. 6 Pit Stop on Norris Lake Ford/Riley, and David Donohue, aboard the No. 59 Porsche/Riley, both spun and continued while running in the top five. Then, Burt Frisselle - running third in DP - had contact with Jordan Taylor in the No. 30 Racers Edge Motorsports Mazda RX-8.

Jonathan Bomarito and Sylvain Tremblay led a top-four sweep by Mazda in the production-based GT class, giving the No. 70 Castrol Syntec Mazda RX-8 its first victory since the Rolex 24 At Daytona. John Edwards and Adam Christodoulou finished second in the No. 68 Mazdaspeed Motorsports Development Mazda RX-8, with Edwards .170 seconds behind Bomarito at the checkered flag.

Jeff Segal and Emil Assentato finished third in the No. 69 FXDD Mazda RX-8 to give SpeedSource a sweep of the GT podium. Segal and Assentato now lead Tremblay by eight points in the GT championship (262-254).

James Gue and Leh Keen finished fourth in the No. 41 Dempsey Racing/Team Seattle Mazda RX-8, while Bill Auberlen and Joey Hand took fifth in the No. 94 Turner Motorsport BMW M6.

Andy Lally entered the race nine points out of the GT lead, but joined RJ Valentine in finishing ninth in the No. 66 Advanced Aerosol Acquisitions Porsche GT3. Lally is now third in the championship, 17 points behind the leaders, after winning his last three starts for TRG. John Potter and Craig Stanton had the highest-finishing Porsche, taking sixth in the No. 44 Magnus Racing GT3, while Robin Liddell and Andrew Davis led the GM contingent with a seventh-place finish in the No. 57 BryanMark Financial/Vin Solutions Camaro.

There were three caution periods for 11 laps, with the winners averaging 94.672 mph.


Pos Num Cls CPos Drivers Team Car Laps
1. 99 DP 1 J.Fogarty, A.Gurney Gainsco/Bob Stallings Racing Chevrolet Riley 116
2. 01 DP 2 S.Pruett, M.Rojas Chip Ganassi Racing w/F.Sabates BMW Riley 116
3. 10 DP 3 M.Angelelli, R.Taylor SunTrust Racing Ford Dallara 116
4. 61 DP 4 Bu.Frisselle, M.Wilkins AIM Autosport Ford Riley 116
5. 8 DP 5 R.Dalziel, M.Forest Starworks Motorsport BMW Riley 116
6. 77 DP 6 M.Bell, D.von Moltke Doran Racing Ford Dallara 116
7. 6 DP 7 Br.Frisselle, M.Valiante Michael Shank Racing Ford Riley 116
8. 60 DP 8 O.Negri Jr, J.Pew Michael Shank Racing Ford Riley 116
9. 59 DP 9 D.Donohue, D.Law Brumos Racing Porsche Riley 115
10. 70 GT 1 J.Bomarito, S.Tremblay SpeedSource Mazda RX-8 111
11. 68 GT 2 A.Christodoulou, J.Edwards SpeedSource/Newman Wachs Racing Mazda RX-8 111
12. 69 GT 3 E.Assentato, J.Segal SpeedSource Mazda RX-8 111
13. 41 GT 4 J.Gue, L.Keen Dempsey Racing Mazda RX-8 111
14. 94 GT 5 B.Auberlen, J.Hand Turner Motorsport BMW M6 111
15. 44 GT 6 J.Potter, C.Stanton Magnus Racing Porsche GT3 111
16. 57 GT 7 A.Davis, R.Liddell Stevenson Motorsports Camaro GT.R 111
17. 30 GT 8 D.Lacey, J.Taylor Racers Edge Motorsports Mazda RX-8 110
18. 66 GT 9 A.Lally, RJ.Valentine TRG Porsche GT3 110
19. 64 GT 10 J.Lowe, J.van Overbeek JLowe Racing Porsche GT3 110
20. 40 GT 11 C.Espenlaub, J.Foster Dempsey Racing Mazda RX-8 110
21. 07 GT 13 P.Edwards, S.Russell Banner Racing Corvette 109
22. 46 GT 14 L.Aschenbach, J.O'Connell Autohaus Motorsports Camaro GT.R 109
23. 67 GT 15 S.Bertheau, S.Pumpelly TRG Porsche GT3 107
24. 42 GT 16 Wi.Nonnamaker, J.Nonnamaker, J.Sahl Team Sahlen Mazda RX-8 105
25. 90 DP 10 A.Garcia, B.Rice Spirit of Daytona Racing Porsche Coyote 99
26. 9 DP 11 T.Borcheller, J.Barbosa, JC.France Action Express Racing Porsche Riley 96
27. 97 GT 17 J.Magnussen, G.Schaldach Stevenson Motorsports Camaro GT.R 90
28. 7 DP 12 B.Lester, D.Cameron Starworks Motorsport BMW Riley 89
29. 75 DP 13 N.Jonsson, T.Krohn Krohn Racing Ford Lola 65
30. 28 GT 18 K.Collins, E.Lux LG Motorsports Corvette 65
31. 31 GT 19 E.Curran, B.Said, S.Whelen Marsh Racing Corvette 44
32. 43 GT 12 Wa.Nonnamaker, A.Wallace+ Team Sahlen Mazda RX-8 110

The next action for the GRAND-AM Rolex Series will be the Crown Royal 200 on Aug. 7 at Watkins Glen International.

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article