for your iPhone
for your iPad

South Africa and Canada on Pole in Mexico

A1GP in Mexico City
Saturday, March 15, 2008


Adrian Zaugg
Sprint race qualifying

Twenty-one-year-old Adrian Zaugg set the fastest lap on new tires during the second 15-minute qualifying segment to take pole position for the South African team for tomorrow morning's Sprint race, claiming his fourth pole position of the season.

New Zealand's Jonny Reid, who topped the time sheets in Q1, will line up alongside South Africa on the front row in second position. USA's Jonathan Summerton was on fine form, leaping up the order in Q2 to qualify third. The 19-year-old American will be joined on the second row by current title leader Neel Jani, who qualified the Swiss car in fourth place.

GBR's Oliver Jarvis and Canada's Robert Wickens will start the Sprint race from fifth and sixth places, while Ireland's Adam Carroll and Brazil's Bruno Junqueira will line up behind them on the fourth row of the grid in seventh and eighth places respectively.

Mexico's David Garza will start the Sprint race from a disappointing 21st position after a frustrating qualifying session. France's Jonathan Cochet, currently lying second in the championship and in need of a decent points haul this weekend, will start the Sprint race from 16th.

Robert Wickens
Feature race qualifying
Canada's Robert Wickens waited for the closing minutes of the final qualifying segment to secure pole position for tomorrow's Feature race, just thousandths of a second ahead of Switzerland's Neel Jani, who will line up alongside the Canadian in second place on the front row.

Germany's Michael Ammermüller qualified in third position while Great Britain's Oliver Jarvis, who blitzed the Mexico Feature race last year to take GBR's first ever A1GP victory, will line up in fourth place on the second row. Ireland's Adam Carroll took the fifth spot ahead of New Zealand's Jonny Reid who will start the Feature race from sixth place.

USA's Jonathan Summerton, who finished second in the Mexico Feature race last year to secure the best ever result of his A1GP career, qualified seventh. He will be joined on the fourth row by Portugal's Filipe Albuquerque, who is enjoying a strong weekend in Mexico City, which is only his second A1GP event.

Home nation A1 Team Mexico's David Garza will start the Feature race from the back of the grid as he was not able to set a competitive lap time in Q4 due to spinning off and hitting the wall at the famous Peraltada corner.

France's Jonathan Cochet endured another difficult session and will start the Feature race from 14th alongside the Netherlands' Jeroen Bleekemolen.

South Africa's Adrian Zaugg, who will start the Sprint race from pole position and the Feature race from 10th, said:

'The new tires actually make things a lot easier for you - the car is a lot more stable and a lot easier to drive over the bumps. It wasn't actually very difficult to get a good time. The times are very close so each and every little error will cost you a position. We tried to aim to go out late because usually the track is at its best at the end of the session.'

Canada's Robert Wickens was pleased with his first Feature race pole and praised the work of his team:

'Getting my first Feature pole is definitely a good accomplishment. Everyone always wants to win the Feature over the Sprint because in my opinion it's a better race - it's longer and there are pit stops and more variables. Canada did a great job and the car was phenomenal. We struggled a bit in practice but we were able to overcome our difficulties and it was a pretty solid qualifying effort.'

Mexico's David Garza endured a difficult qualifying session this afternoon and will start the Sprint race from 21st and the Feature race from 22nd:

'I had trouble with one of the front tires and we were struggling to keep them in condition for the whole session. I tried to do a reasonable time in the last lap to try to improve my position but the car was just impossible so I lost it when I was braking for the chicane and that was it. There will probably be a lot of incidents in the races tomorrow with tires and those who keep their tires in better condition are going to have a good result, so I'm counting on that to improve my position.'

Tomorrow's Sprint race in Mexico City will start at 11.00 local time and the 70-minute Feature race will start at 15.00.

Sprint race qualifying results - A1GP Mexico City, Mexico (round 8 of 10)

1 SOUTH AFRICA Adrian ZAUGG 01:20.505 01:20.315 01:20.315
2 NEW ZEALAND Jonny REID 01:20.397 01:21.111 01:20.397 +0.082
3 USA Jonathan SUMMERTON 01:21.242 01:20.426 01:20.426 +0.111
4 SWITZERLAND Neel JANI 01:20.518 01:20.561 01:20.518 +0.203
5 GREAT BRITAIN Oliver JARVIS 01:21.112 01:20.556 01:20.556 +0.241
6 CANADA Robert WICKENS 01:20.621 01:20.836 01:20.621 +0.306
7 IRELAND Adam CARROLL 01:20.769 01:21.214 01:20.769 +0.454
8 BRAZIL Bruno JUNQUEIRA 01:21.457 01:20.842 01:20.842 +0.527
9 PORTUGAL Filipe ALBUQUERQUE 01:21.816 01:20.940 01:20.940 +0.625
10 ITALY Edoardo PISCOPO 01:21.459 01:20.961 01:20.961 +0.646
11 NETHERLANDS Jeroen BLEEKEMOLEN 01:21.005 01:21.031 01:21.005 +0.690
12 CHINA Congfu CHENG 01:21.260 01:21.028 01:21.028 +0.713
13 GERMANY Michael AMMERMÜLLER 01:21.379 01:21.054 01:21.054 +0.739
14 MALAYSIA Alex YOONG 01:22.218 01:21.099 01:21.099 +0.784
15 PAKISTAN Adam KHAN 01:22.860 01:21.176 01:21.176 +0.861
16 FRANCE Jonathan COCHET 01:21.554 01:21.417 01:21.417 +1.102
17 AUSTRALIA John MARTIN 01:21.979 01:21.789 01:21.789 +1.474
18 INDIA Narain KARTHIKEYAN 01:21.948 01:21.799 01:21.799 +1.484
19 LEBANON Jimmy AUBY 01:22.425 01:22.012 01:22.012 +1.697
20 INDONESIA Satrio HERMANTO 01:22.044 01:22.204 01:22.044 +1.729
21 MEXICO David GARZA 01:32.790 01:22.370 01:22.370 +2.055
22 CZECH REPUBLIC Filip SALAQUARDA 01:24.237 01:22.373 01:22.373 +2.058

Feature race qualifying results - A1GP Mexico City, Mexico (round 8 of 10)
1 CANADA Robert WICKENS 01:20.812 01:20.278 01:20.278
2 SWITZERLAND Neel JANI 01:20.455 01:20.320 01:20.320 +0.042
3 GERMANY Michael AMMERMÜLLER 01:21.203 01:20.646 01:20.646 +0.368
4 GREAT BRITAIN Oliver JARVIS 01:21.188 01:20.705 01:20.705 +0.427
5 IRELAND Adam CARROLL 01:21.530 01:20.708 01:20.708 +0.430
6 NEW ZEALAND Jonny REID 01:20.881 01:20.743 01:20.743 +0.465
7 USA Jonathan SUMMERTON 01:20.979 01:20.783 01:20.783 +0.505
8 PORTUGAL Filipe ALBUQUERQUE 01:21.574 01:20.825 01:20.825 +0.547
9 CHINA Congfu CHENG 01:21.450 01:20.859 01:20.859 +0.581
10 SOUTH AFRICA Adrian ZAUGG 01:20.870 01:20.870 +0.592
11 MALAYSIA Alex YOONG 01:21.699 01:20.939 01:20.939 +0.661
12 ITALY Edoardo PISCOPO 01:21.539 01:20.953 01:20.953 +0.675
13 NETHERLANDS Jeroen BLEEKEMOLEN 01:21.749 01:21.263 01:21.263 +0.985
14 FRANCE Jonathan COCHET 01:22.101 01:21.310 01:21.310 +1.032
15 AUSTRALIA John MARTIN 01:21.955 01:21.358 01:21.358 +1.080
16 LEBANON Jimmy AUBY 01:21.441 01:21.484 01:21.441 +1.163
17 PAKISTAN Adam KHAN 01:21.484 01:21.553 01:21.484 +1.206
18 BRAZIL Bruno JUNQUEIRA 01:21.675 01:21.675 +1.397
19 INDONESIA Satrio HERMANTO 01:21.788 01:22.238 01:21.788 +1.510
20 INDIA Narain KARTHIKEYAN 01:21.909 01:21.909 +1.631
21 CZECH REPUBLIC Filip SALAQUARDA 01:22.582 01:22.333 01:22.333 +2.055
22 MEXICO David GARZA 01:22.371 01:22.371 +2.093

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article