for your iPhone
for your iPad

IndyCar Links

2017 Teams

2017 Schedule

2016 IC Rule Book

2015 IC Engine Rules

2015 IC Aero Rules

2014 Indy Lights Rules

2014 Pro Mazda Rules

2014 USF2000 Rules

2014 Drug Policy

2014 Scanner Freq

Race Car Comparison

Lap Time Comparison

History CART/IRL Split

2017 Point Standings
After Sonoma
Rank Driver Points

1 Josef Newgarden 642
2 Simon Pagenaud 629
3 Scott Dixon 621
4 Helio Castroneves 598
5 Will Power 562
6 Graham Rahal 522
7 Alexander Rossi 494
8 Takuma Sato 441
9 Ryan Hunter-Reay 421
10 Tony Kanaan 403
11 Max Chilton 396
12 Marco Andretti 388
13 James Hinchcliffe 376
14 Ed Jones 354
15 JR Hildebrand 347
16 Carlos Munoz 328
17 Charlie Kimball 327
18 Conor Daly 305
19 Mikhail Aleshin 237
20 Spencer Pigot 218
21 Sebastien Bourdais 214
22 Ed Carpenter 169
23 Gabby Chaves 98
24 Juan Pablo Montoya 93
25 Esteban Gutierrez 91
26 Sebastian Saavedra 80
27 Oriol Servia 61
28 Jack Harvey 57
29 Fernando Alonso 47
30 Pippa Mann 32
31 Zachary Claman DeMelo 26
32 Jay Howard 24
33 Zach Veach 23
34 Sage Karam 23
35 James Davison 21
36 Tristan Vautier 15
37 Buddy Lazier 14

Rookie of Year Standings
1. Ed Jones 354
2. Esteban Gutierrez 91
3. Jack Harvey 57
4. Fernando Alonso 47
5. Zach Veach 23

Manufacturer Standings
1. Chevy 1489
2. Honda 1326

Dixon triumphs in Miami, Franchitti wins IndyCar title

by Mark J. Cipolloni
Saturday, October 2, 2010


2010 champ Dario Franchitti

Target Chip Ganassi's Scott Dixon won the IZOD IndyCar season finale at Homestead Miami Speedway Saturday night and his teammate Dario Franchitti won the 2010 IndyCar title over Team Penske's Will Power, denying the Australian of his first IndyCar title.  Power didn't help his cause after he got up into the marbles, brushed the outside wall and broke his right rear suspension ending any hope he had of winning the title.

Power was running in fourth place when his car brushed the wall in the exit of Turn 4 on the 135th lap of the 200-lap race. The crew desperately tried to repair the car, replacing the right rear wishbone in just a few minutes, but Power was unable to continue after returning to the track. He retired from the race and finished 25th as Dario Franchitti, who finished eighth, wound up winning the championship by just five points.

“It’s definitely disappointing,” said Power, who came into the race 11 points ahead of Franchitti. “I really wanted to win this championship. It was at a point in the race where I felt I really had to push because Dario had led the most laps and was leading the race. I was trying to get around (Ryan) Hunter-Reay, and I got a little too high and brushed the wall and bent the suspension.”

Franchitti came home 8th and won the title by just 5 points, 602 to Power's 597.  And Dixon, by virtue of his win, beat Helio Castroneves for third place in points.

Franchitti celebrated with a trademark burnout while owner Chip Ganassi shared a hug with Franchitti's wife, actress Ashley Judd.

A year ago, Franchitti used some savvy pit strategy to leapfrog Dixon and Briscoe for the title and cap his comeback from an ill-fated trip to NASCAR.

This time, he dominated when he had to. He started from the pole and with Dixon playing blocker, led enough laps to pick up two valuable bonus points and increase the pressure on Power.

Power blinked.

"Good haul, isn't it?" Franchitti said. "Look back to the start of 2007, I hadn't won a championship. Won a lot of races, but not a championship or Indy 500. Now we find ourselves with two Indy 500s and three championships.

"I'm just going to enjoy it. I think I'm just going to let it sink in, enjoy it. But I'm very proud of the achievement."

"Dario seems to get better with age," said Dixon.  "They said triathletes are at their peak in their mid-thirties and it certainly seems that way with Dario.  He left in 2008 and then comes back and wins two straight IndyCar titles here.

Danica Patrick outdueled her Andretti Autosport teammate for 2nd place in what she called her 2nd best oval race of her career, Texas being what she described as her best race.

A disappointed Power said after the race that "This was the best year of my career, but I am disappointed with the outcome.

“Like I predicted at the beginning of the season, the guy who made the least amount of mistakes would win the championship,” said Power, who suffered his first DNF of the season on Saturday. “Next year I’ll come back very strong. The confidence I’ve gained on the ovals is very important. I knew going into this year that ovals were going to be my weak point, but now I feel like I’m on par with the other guys. Next year will be a tough fight.”

A year ago, Power was recovering from serious injuries sustained in a crash at Infineon Raceway. He returned to the track more motivated than ever and he asserted himself as a contender from the outset as he won the first two races of the season and led the championship for nearly all of 2010. He believes he’ll be just as driven in 2011 – if not more.

“Last year I was here watching this race in a back brace,” added Power. “The Verizon team had a great season, and we have a lot to be proud of. This has been the best season of my career in motorsport, and I’ve learned so much. We’ll be coming back to win this thing next year.”

"I realized early on in this race that I did not have the car to beat Dario.  The car was not handling well and I had to run the high groove.  I was passing a backmarker and he took the air off my wings and I just skated up the track and pancaked the wall."

On losing the title by just 5 points, we asked Power what one race he wished he could have all over again, Power said "If there is one thing I wish could have gone differently this year was Chicagoland, we ran out front all day only to have pit equipment failure kill our chances."

Meanwhile Dale Coyne Racing's Alex Lloyd clinched the Rookie of The year title, beating Simona di Silvestro. "Our turning point was the Indy 500.  We had a really good race at Indy and followed it up with a good race in Texas.  I was effectively out of the sport for two years and the team had new engineering staff this year, so it is very rewarding to win this title.

"I hope we can come back next year with this same team and see if we can build upon what we accomplished this year."

For Chip Ganassi, it is the culmination of the best year of his career as a team owner, winning the Daytona 500, Indy 500, the Grand-Am Rolex title, many races and now the Indy 500 title.

Franchitti will be crowned champion Sunday night in Miami Beach.



No Name Laps Gap Diff Pits Comment
1 9 Scott Dixon 200 --.---- --.---- 3 Running
2 7 Danica Patrick 200 2.7587 2.7587 4 Running
3 11 Tony Kanaan 200 0.0111 2.7698 4 Running
4 6 Ryan Briscoe 200 1.0129 3.7827 4 Running
5 3 Helio Castroneves 200 1.5497 5.3324 3 Running
6 14 Vitor Meira 200 1.8802 7.2126 4 Running
7 26 Marco Andretti 200 1.1511 8.3637 4 Running
8 10 Dario Franchitti 200 2.7764 11.1401 4 Running
9 4 Dan Wheldon 200 11.1120 22.2521 3 Running
10 02 Graham Rahal 199 1 lap 1 lap 3 Running
11 37 Ryan Hunter-Reay 199 1.9767 1.9767 3 Running
12 19 Alex Lloyd 199 0.8603 2.8370 5 Running
13 20 Ed Carpenter 199 2.1761 5.0131 3 Running
14 77 Alex Tagliani 199 0.0260 5.0391 4 Running
15 34 Bertrand Baguette 199 1.5237 6.5628 4 Running
16 36 Sebastian Saavedra 199 0.0185 6.5813 5 Running
17 2 Raphael Matos 199 0.0217 6.6030 4 Running
18 5 Takuma Sato 199 4.8314 11.4344 5 Running
19 8 EJ Viso 198 1 lap 2 laps 5 Running
20 06 Hideki Mutoh 198 4.0849 4.0849 5 Running
21 22 Justin Wilson 198 2.1157 6.2006 5 Running
22 67 Sarah Fisher 197 1 lap 3 laps 6 Running
23 78 Simona de Silvestro 197 0.9108 0.9108 4 Running
24 18 Milka Duno 170 27 laps 30 laps 4 Contact
25 12 Will Power 143 27 laps 57 laps 4 Contact
26 24 Ana Beatriz 42 101 laps 158 laps 1 Contact
27 32 Mario Moraes 25 17 laps 175 laps 1 Mechanical

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article