for your iPhone
for your iPad

IndyCar Links

2017 Teams

2017 Schedule

2016 IC Rule Book

2015 IC Engine Rules

2015 IC Aero Rules

2014 Indy Lights Rules

2014 Pro Mazda Rules

2014 USF2000 Rules

2014 Drug Policy

2014 Scanner Freq

Race Car Comparison

Lap Time Comparison

History CART/IRL Split

2017 Point Standings
After Sonoma
Rank Driver Points

1 Josef Newgarden 642
2 Simon Pagenaud 629
3 Scott Dixon 621
4 Helio Castroneves 598
5 Will Power 562
6 Graham Rahal 522
7 Alexander Rossi 494
8 Takuma Sato 441
9 Ryan Hunter-Reay 421
10 Tony Kanaan 403
11 Max Chilton 396
12 Marco Andretti 388
13 James Hinchcliffe 376
14 Ed Jones 354
15 JR Hildebrand 347
16 Carlos Munoz 328
17 Charlie Kimball 327
18 Conor Daly 305
19 Mikhail Aleshin 237
20 Spencer Pigot 218
21 Sebastien Bourdais 214
22 Ed Carpenter 169
23 Gabby Chaves 98
24 Juan Pablo Montoya 93
25 Esteban Gutierrez 91
26 Sebastian Saavedra 80
27 Oriol Servia 61
28 Jack Harvey 57
29 Fernando Alonso 47
30 Pippa Mann 32
31 Zachary Claman DeMelo 26
32 Jay Howard 24
33 Zach Veach 23
34 Sage Karam 23
35 James Davison 21
36 Tristan Vautier 15
37 Buddy Lazier 14

Rookie of Year Standings
1. Ed Jones 354
2. Esteban Gutierrez 91
3. Jack Harvey 57
4. Fernando Alonso 47
5. Zach Veach 23

Manufacturer Standings
1. Chevy 1489
2. Honda 1326

IndyCar announces return to Las Vegas

Big improvement over Homestead season final
Tuesday, February 22, 2011


The last time IndyCars raced at Las Vegas on the oval was 2005 as a Champ Car event where they raced 6 wide at times
INDYCAR, the sanctioning body of the IZOD IndyCar Series and Firestone Indy Lights, announced that the 2011 season will culminate with the crowning of its champions on Oct. 16 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

The event weekend, known as the IZOD INDYCAR World Championships, will take place at the 1.5-mile, high-banked oval known for producing side-by-side racing and exciting finishes that are the hallmark of the series.

INDYCAR CEO Randy Bernard also announced that fans purchasing a ticket to any IZOD IndyCar Series race during the 2011 season are eligible to receive a complimentary ticket to the championship race.

"I said at the INDYCAR State of the Sport in mid-January that we must give our fans a great experience with three primary elements -- great entertainment, competition and value," Bernard said. "There is not a city in the world that can provide entertainment like Las Vegas. Las Vegas Motor Speedway will provide some of the fastest and most exciting racing fans will see anywhere, and the ticket promotion is true value. This is a time when INDYCAR can tell our fans that we thank them for their support."

"In 2010, our first year as the title sponsor, the IZOD brand, together with the league worked aggressively to build awareness and excitement around the series, especially within the major markets, looking for ways to connect with new fans through a host of events and promotions that connected with pop culture." said Mike Kelly, executive vice president of marketing for the Phillips-Van Heusen corporation, owners of the IZOD brand. "We can't think of a better place than Las Vegas- one of the greatest entertainment cities in the world - to take these initiatives to new levels and celebrate the 2011 World Championship."

At a news conference at Crystals at CityCenter, Bernard also announced a $5 million challenge to any professional race car driver not competing in the IZOD IndyCar Series for the season finale race, reinforcing the series' positioning of its drivers as the best of the best.

"We showcase our drivers as being the very best, fastest and most versatile in the world," he said, "and we are putting our money where our mouth is. If any race car driver in the world outside of the IZOD IndyCar Series can win the Vegas race, we will give you $5 million. We will accept five entries for this challenge, with entrants being determined by mid-summer."

The IZOD IndyCar Series competed at Las Vegas Motor Speedway oval from 1996 to 2000, and Champ Car competed at the facility in 2004 and '05. Drivers who have visited Victory Lane at the facility include Al Unser Jr., Sam Schmidt, Arie Luyendyk and Sebastien Bourdais. The racetrack was reconfigured in 2006.

"We had the opportunity to conduct a test with Target Chip Ganassi Racing and Team Penske at Vegas last November and our cars performed very well at this facility," said Brian Barnhart, president of competition and operations for INDYCAR. "Its banking and width is similar to Chicagoland Speedway, which has produced some of the most exciting, side-by-side racing and closest finishes in the history of the series." 

Tickets to the IZOD INDYCAR World Championships go on sale today through Full details for the complimentary ticket promotion will be announced March 1 on and 866-INDYCAR.

"Las Vegas is a world-class sports destination, and we are excited to welcome all of the open-wheel racing fans back to Las Vegas," said Rossi Ralenkotter, president/CEO of the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority.  "Hosting the season finale for the IZOD IndyCar Series is a great partnership for us and we know the fans will enjoy all that Las Vegas has to offer."

"Las Vegas Motor Speedway has produced thrilling open-wheel races in the past, and the return of the IZOD IndyCar Series for its season-ending event is sure to provide more thrills in October," added Chris Powell, president of LVMS. "We know there's a huge fan base of INDYCAR fans in the western United States. Hosting the season finale, and the media attention it generates, gives our speedway and our city another opportunity to showcase so much that Las Vegas has to offer."

With the completion of its 17-race schedule, the IZOD IndyCar Series also confirmed its broadcast designations for the season as well as broadcast start times.  Five events will be broadcast on ABC - St. Petersburg, Indianapolis, Milwaukee, New Hampshire and Las Vegas. The balance of the schedule will be aired on VERSUS, the IZOD IndyCar Series' exclusive cable network home.

Final 2011 IndyCar Schedule

Date Track Venue Broadcast Time (ET)
March 27 Streets of St. Petersburg 1.8-mile street course ABC 12:30 p.m.
April 10 Barber Motorsports Park 2.3-mile road course VERSUS 3 p.m.
April 17 Streets of Long Beach 1.968-mile street course VERSUS 3:30 p.m.
May 1 Streets of Sao Paulo 2.536-mile street course VERSUS Noon
May 29 Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2.5-mile oval ABC Noon
June 11* Texas Motor Speedway 1.5-mile oval VERSUS 8 p.m.
June 19 The Milwaukee Mile 1-mile oval ABC 3:30 p.m.
June 25* Iowa Speedway .875-mile oval VERSUS 8 p.m.
July 10 Streets of Toronto 1.755-mile street course VERSUS 2 p.m.
July 24 Edmonton City Centre Airport 2.256-mile airport course VERSUS 2 p.m.
Aug. 7 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course 2.258-mile road course VERSUS 2 p.m.
Aug. 14 New Hampshire Motor Speedway 1-mile oval ABC 3:30 p.m.
Aug. 28 Infineon Raceway 2.303-mile road course VERSUS 4 p.m.
Sept. 4 Streets of Baltimore 2-mile street course VERSUS 2 p.m.
Sept. 18 Twin Ring Motegi 1.5-mile oval VERSUS 11 p.m.
Oct. 2 Kentucky Speedway 1.5-mile oval VERSUS 2 p.m.
Oct. 16 Las Vegas Motor Speedway 1.5-mile oval ABC 3:30 p.m.

*Denotes night race  Schedule Subject to Change

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article