for your iPhone
for your iPad

IndyCar Links

2017 Teams

2017 Schedule

2016 IC Rule Book

2015 IC Engine Rules

2015 IC Aero Rules

2014 Indy Lights Rules

2014 Pro Mazda Rules

2014 USF2000 Rules

2014 Drug Policy

2014 Scanner Freq

Race Car Comparison

Lap Time Comparison

History CART/IRL Split

2017 Point Standings
After Texas
Rank Driver Points

1 Scott Dixon 326
2 Simon Pagenaud 313
3 Takuma Sato 312
4 Helio Castroneves 305
5 Will Power 286
6 Graham Rahal 283
7 Josef Newgarden 277
8 Tony Kanaan 264
9 Alexander Rossi 254
10 James Hinchcliffe 232
11 Max Chilton 229
12 Ed Jones 228
13 Marco Andretti 210
14 Ryan Hunter-Reay 194
15 Mikhail Aleshin 192
16 JR Hildebrand 191
17 Carlos Munoz 180
18 Charlie Kimball 143
19 Conor Daly 140
20 Sebastien Bourdais 136
21 Ed Carpenter 124
22 Spencer Pigot 124
23 Juan Pablo Montoya 93
25 Gabby Chaves 83
26 Oriol Servia 61
27 Fernando Alonso 47
28 Sebastian Saavedra 33
30 Pippa Mann 32
31 Esteban Gutierrez 27
32 Jay Howard 24
33 Zach Veach 23
34 Sage Karam 23
37 James Davison 21
38 Jack Harvey 17
39 Tristan Vautier 15
42 Buddy Lazier 14

Rookie of Year Standings
1. Ed Jones 228
2. Fernando Alonso 47
3. Zach Veach 23
4. Jack Harvey 17
5. Esteban Gutierrez 11
Kanaan nips Power for GP of St. Pete pole

Indy Car
Saturday, April 5, 2008


Kanaan talks to team owner Michael Andretti
Andretti Green Racing's Tony Kanaan, who has finished either second or third in the previous three races on the 1.8-mile, 14-turn street course, will start from the inside of the front row for the Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

Kanaan, driving the No. 11 Team 7-Eleven car, prevailed in the 10-minute Firestone Fast Six session with a best lap of 1 minute, 02.5322 (103.627 mph). Will Power in the No. 8 Aussie Vineyards-Team Australia car for KV Racing Technology, will join the 2004 IndyCar Series champion in Row 1.

Justin Wilson, driving the No. 02 McDonald's car for Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing, and two-time defending race winner Helio Castroneves will occupy Row 2. His Team Penske teammate, Ryan Briscoe, and Rahal Letterman Racing's Ryan Hunter-Reay will start from Row 3.

The Firestone Fast Six was the culmination of a three-round knockout qualifying format instituted for street/road courses in 2008. The top six cars advanced from a 12-car field, and those 12 cars were determined by two 13-car groups that had 20 minutes to post their best laps.


TONY KANAAN (No. 11 Team 7-Eleven, qualified first): “It was tough. I think the IndyCar Series is so competitive now that you have to give everything. When I finished the qualifying run, I was exhausted. With more good drivers, it makes it a lot more difficult. It makes me proud. If you look at my suit, I’m all wet. I had to sweat to get this one done.”

WILL POWER (No. 8 Aussie Vineyard-Team Australia, qualified second): “I wanted to get into the Firestone Fast Six, which we did. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get the pole considering the lap time we posted in the previous session. I'm very happy to be on the front row. It's very good for Aussie Vineyards and KV Racing Technologies. Most importantly, it's a payback to the team. They've been working so hard over the last month - working long hours and they haven't been seeing their families - so I 'm very happy for them.”

JUSTIN WILSON (No. 02 McDonald’s Racing Team, qualified third): “This weekend has just been great from start to finish. I’m glad to have made it through to the Firestone Fast Six, and I’m pretty pleased with third. Would like to have gone a tenth (of a second) quicker and got the pole position but that’s racing, and Tony (Kanaan) obviously put a good lap in. I think generally we’re just very pleased with the way the McDonald’s car is handling, and hopefully we keep it up in the race tomorrow.”

HELIO CASTRONEVES (No. 3 Team Penske, qualified fourth): “Obviously, I went as hard as anyone out there. The field and the qualifying format were very competitive. Team Penske was able to get into the Firestone Fast Six. It was fast and difficult qualifying session and an interesting format for the fans.”

RYAN BRISCOE (No. 6 Team Penske, qualified fifth): “It was hard work with a long qualifying session and a lot of laps. I was happy with the Team Penske car at the beginning of qualifying, and then it went away from me when the track got hotter. I think we should have been a bit better than where we qualified, but I’m happy to get into the Firestone Fast Six on my first try with Team Penske. I think we have a good car for tomorrow’s race.”



Driver Team Chassis Best Time Average Speed
1. Tony Kanaan Andretti Green Racing Honda Dallara 1:02.4322 103.627 mph
2. Will Power-R KV Racing Technologies Honda Dallara 1:02.6096 103.499
3. Justin Wilson-R Newman Haas Lanigan Honda Dallara 1:02.6426 103.444
4. Helio Castroneves Team Penske Honda Dallara 1:02.6462 103.438
5. Ryan Briscoe Team Penske Honda Dallara 1:02.7071 103.338
6. Ryan Hunter-Reay Rahal Letterman Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.0077 102.845
7. Oriol Servia KV Racing Technologies Honda Dallara 1:02.7427 103.279
8. Dan Wheldon Target Chip Ganassi Honda Dallara 1:02.7964 103.191
9. Graham Rahal-R Newman Haas Lanigan Honda Dallara 1:02.8122 103.165
10. Franck Perera-R Conquest Racing Honda Dallara 1:02.8749 103.062
11. Darren Manning A.J. Foyt Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.0136 102.835
12. Marco Andretti Andretti Green Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.2443 102.460
13. Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Honda Dallara 1:03.2365 102.472
14. Hideki Mutoh-R Andretti Green Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.2757 102.409
15. Ernesto Viso-R HVM Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.3067 102.359
16. Buddy Rice Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.3591 102.274
17. Vitor Meira Panther Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.4480 102.131
18. Enrique Bernoldi-R Conquest Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.4568 102.117
19. Danica Patrick Andretti Green Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.5766 101.924
20. Jay Howard-R Roth Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.7447 101.656
21. Ed Carpenter Vision Racing Honda Dallara 1:03.8007 101.566
22. Mario Moraes-R Dale Coyne Racing Honda Dallara 1:04.1590 100.999
23. Townsend Bell Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Honda Dallara 1:04.3880 100.640
24. A.J. Foyt IV Vision Racing Honda Dallara 1:04.4996 100.466
25. Marty Roth Roth Racing Honda Dallara 1:07.7041 95.711
26. Bruno Junqueira Dale Coyne Racing Honda Dallara 1:09.3851 93.392

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article