for your iPhone
for your iPad

Wehrlein disqualified, Rowland takes pole in Paris

Nissan locks out front-row
Saturday, April 27, 2019


Pascal Wehrlein and his teammate disqualified
Pascal Wehrlein and his teammate disqualified
Mahindra Racing's Pascal Wehrlein has lost his ABB FIA Formula E pole position for the Paris E-Prix after the ex-Formula 1 driver and team-mate Jerome D'Ambrosio were disqualified.

The two Mahindra cars were the only machines not to be cleared from parc ferme, with an FIA document later stating that the disqualification is due to "non-respect of the minimum tire pressure" rule.


After clinching the Julius Baer Pole Position in Mexico City, Mahindra Racing's Pascal Wehrlein strikes again in Paris with his second Pole in his Formula E career. Starting the race at the front, the German is followed by Nissan e.dams' Oliver Rowland in second, his teammate Sebastien Buemi in third, Envision Virgin Racing's Robin Frijns in fourth, Venturi's Felipe Massa in fifth and Championship leader Jerome d'Ambrosio rounding off the top six.

3rd quick Rowland awarded pole
3rd quick Rowland awarded pole
After a troublesome morning, which saw Sam Bird among other drivers sustain damage in the wet conditions, it was GEOX Dragon's rookie Max Gunther who just missed out on Super Pole. The German driver will start the race in seventh ahead of fellow Germans Andre Lotterer (DS Techeetah) and Daniel Abt for Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler.

Behind Abt is his teammate Lucas di Grassi, who previously held the overall course record here in Paris. Behind the Brazilian on the starting grid will be home race hero Tom Dillmann for NIO and Edoardo Mortara in 12th who separates Dillmann from his teammate Oliver Turvey in 13th.

Starting 14th in his all-important home race is reigning champion and DS Techeetah driver Jean-Eric Vergne. After the Parisian won here last season, the Frenchman will be hoping for a repeat performance here in Les Invalides. Close behind Vergne is Envision Virgin Racing's Sam Bird in 15th, BMW i Andretti Autosport's frontman Antonio Felix da Costa and Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Alex Lynn in 17th, who sits ahead of da Costa's teammate Alex Sims in 18th and HWA Racelab's Gary Paffett in 19th.

After winning in Rome for the first time, Jaguar's Mitch Evans will start the race 20th in front of HWA's Stoffel Vandoorne and Dragon's Jose-Maria Lopez who sits at the back of the grid.

Starting Lineup

1 Oliver Rowland e.dams Nissan 1m00.535s -
2 Sebastien Buemi e.dams Nissan 1m00.768s 0.233s
3 Robin Frijns Virgin Audi 1m00.793s 0.258s
4 Felipe Massa Venturi Venturi 1m01.217s 0.682s
5 Maximilian Gunther Dragon Penske 1m00.719s 0.184s
6 Andre Lotterer DS Techeetah DS 1m00.738s 0.203s
7 Daniel Abt Audi Audi 1m00.739s 0.204s
8 Lucas di Grassi Audi Audi 1m00.761s 0.226s
9 Tom Dillmann NIO NIO 1m00.784s 0.249s
10 Edoardo Mortara Venturi Venturi 1m00.801s 0.266s
11 Oliver Turvey NIO NIO 1m00.876s 0.341s
12 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah DS 1m00.886s 0.351s
13 Sam Bird Virgin Audi 1m00.928s 0.393s
14 Antonio Felix da Costa BMW BMW 1m00.952s 0.417s
15 Alex Lynn Jaguar Jaguar 1m01.012s 0.477s
16 Alexander Sims BMW BMW 1m01.037s 0.502s
17 Gary Paffett HWA Venturi 1m01.135s 0.600s
18 Mitch Evans Jaguar Jaguar 1m01.243s 0.708s
19 Stoffel Vandoorne HWA Venturi 1m01.471s 0.936s
20 Jose Maria Lopez Dragon Penske 1m07.494s 6.959s
21 Jerome d'Ambrosio Mahindra Mahindra - -
22 Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Mahindra - -

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article