for your iPhone
for your iPad
Weathertech USCC


Prototype (P)

Prototype Challenge(PC)

GT Le Mans (GTLM

GT Daytona (GTD)

IMSA Point Standings
2018 Final (Top-10)
Prototype Drivers
Pos Drivers Total
1 Eric Curran 277
1 Felipe Nasr 277
2 Jonathan Bennett 274
2 Colin Braun 274
3 Jordan Taylor 270
3 Renger Van Der Zande 270
4 Misha Goikhberg 252
4 Stephen Simpson 252
5 Dane Cameron 251
5 Juan Pablo Montoya 251
6 Filipe Albuquerque 249
7 Ricky Taylor 243
7 Helio Castroneves 243
8 Oliver Jarvis 234
8 Tristan Nunez 234
9 Pipo Derani 232
10 Jonathan Bomarito 218

1 Jan Magnussen 322
1 Antonio Garcia 322
2 Richard Westbrook 316
2 Ryan Briscoe 316
3 Oliver Gavin 310
3 Tommy Milner 310
4 Dirk Mueller 308
4 Joey Hand 308
5 Earl Bamber 308
5 Laurens Vanthoor 308
6 Alexander Sims 304
6 Connor De Phillippi 304
7 Nick Tandy 299
7 Patrick Pilet 299
8 John Edwards 278
8 Jesse Krohn 278
9 Bill Auberlen 106
10 Frederic Makowiecki 93

1 Bryan Sellers 333
1 Madison Snow 333
2 Katherine Legge 329
3 Jeroen Bleekemolen 299
3 Ben Keating 299
4 Cooper Macneil 295
5 Kyle Marcelli 268
5 Dominik Baumann 268
6 Alvaro Parente 264
7 Patrick Long 263
7 Christina Nielsen 263
8 John Potter 255
8 Andy Lally 255
9 Justin Marks 249
9 Lawson Aschenbach 249
10 Jack Hawksworth 239

Rank Make Total
1 Cadillac 332
2 Acura 316
3 Nissan 302
4 Mazda 300

1 Ford 351
2 Chevrolet 345
3 Porsche 341
4 BMW 332
5 Ferrari 84

1 Lamborghini 340
2 Acura 330
3 Ferrari 310
4 Mercedes-AMG 307
5 Lexus 306
6 Porsche 298
7 Audi 284
8 BMW 278
Lola, Chevron, Peugeot and Porsche Teams Prevail

in Competitive HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour
Monday, December 9, 2019


Peugeot and Audi
Peugeot and Audi
Iconic sports car racing marques Lola, Chevron, Peugeot and Porsche - raced in competition by top teams and drivers from around the world - emerged as deserving and persevering winners this weekend in the Fourth Annual Historic Sportscar Racing (HSR) Classic Sebring 12 Hour at Sebring International Raceway.

A tribute race to the timeless Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, which will be run for the 68th time this March, the Classic Sebring 12 Hour features four different Run Groups of vintage and historic sports cars that each took to the legendary Sebring road course four times in the last two days.

Officially titled the HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour, Pistons and Props, presented by the Alan Jay Automotive Network, the Sebring race weekend again culminated with the presentation of custom-made HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour edition B.R.M. Chronographes watches to the four overall Run Group winners.

Saturday's schedule included the first three 42-minute rounds for each Group - appropriately within the span of a 12-hour period - while the fourth and final segments today determined the overall winners.

 Toni Seiler won both last month's HSR Classic Daytona presented by IMSA and last year's HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour in a 1969 Lola T70, but it was a first-time winner and race car from McClendon that stepped up to score this weekend's third-straight victory.

Group A saw the McClendon International team produce its third-consecutive "HSR Classics" winner from its stable of classic and competitive Lolas.

Marco Fumagalli
Marco Fumagalli
Debuting driver Marco Fumagalli swept the first three of Group A's four race segments at the wheel of the McClendon 1970 No. 20 Lola T165. Seiler rebounded from some early-round setbacks to win the fourth and final segment in the No. 77, but the gap Fumagalli had built on the field by that stage was enough for the quick Italian driver to seal the overall Group A victory.

The Group B victory went to the Phil Reilly Co. 1974 No. 26 Chevron B26 of Gray Gregory and Randy Buck for the second-straight year. Similar to Fumagalli's winning performance, the No. 26 swept the opening trio of Group B races but then gave way to the second-place 1982 No. 21 Chevy Camaro IROC of Swiss driver Alain Rüede, who finished first in the fourth and final segment.

Although narrowly losing to the No. 26 Chevron at Sebring for the second-straight year, Rüede's runner-up placing capped a strong 2019 performance in "HSR Classics" events. Last month, Rüede raced the Camaro to the overall Group B victory in the HSR Classic Daytona, presented by IMSA, classic 24-hour race. 

Frey crossed the line first in Saturday's opening race before Porter stepped up to sweep the final three segments to win his second HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour title. The victory gave Porter a sweep of this year's "HSR Classics" races after winning his Group last month in the Classic Daytona, and returned the Peugeot to victory lane at Sebring. Porter's 908 HDi was raced in its competitive prime to the overall 12 Hours of Sebring victory in 2011.
Group C was a race-long battle between David Porter in his GMT Racing 2007 No. 7 Peugeot 908 HDi FAP and Michel Frey in a 2008 No. 15 Lola B07/18.

#561 Porsche
#561 Porsche
Home to more modern GT and sports cars, Group D again stepped up to deliver the closest battle of this year's HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour. The Ebimotors 2012 No. 561 Porsche 997 GT3 Cup of Gianluigi Candiani and Sabino de Castro was first in the opening three Group D segments and then withstood a late charge by the Zotz Racing 2010 No. 119 Porsche 997 GT3 Cup of Chris Ruppel and Eric Zitza.

While the Zotz No. 119 finished first in segment four, the Group D victory went to Ebimotors after what appeared to be a relatively trouble-free and calculated race to the finish.

The other three Group winners all overcame some late drama in their fourth and final segments.

Fumagalli pitted from the lead with a vibration in the final Group A segment but returned to the race without issue after the McClendon crew checked and tightened the Lola's wheels.

Gregory and Buck felt the Chevron come out of gear once or twice in Saturday's long schedule of races, so the Reilly Co. crew changed out the gearbox internals on the Chevron before today's finale.

Porter led from the start of the Group C final segment only to spin in his No. 7 Peugeot in Turn 7 on lap one. Porter rejoined the race in last, and over 45 seconds behind the leader, but still managed to come back and take the segment win and seal the overall Group C title.

Next up for HSR is 2020's season-opening event that brings the series right back to Sebring International Raceway, March 26 - 29, for the HSR Spring Fling Weekend.


- Sunday's now traditional parade of planes, which begins the departure of the amazing vintage and historic aircraft that are always a big part of the HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour, Pistons and Props, was preceded by the annual Best-Plane and Best-Car awards presentation. Attending pilots and their families select the best race car of the event while the participating HSR competitors vote on the weekend-best plane. The husband-and-wife Heritage Motorsports driving duo of Mike Banz and Kathy Blaha presented the Best-Plane honor to Roger Brown and his wife Terese Brown for their beautiful 1943 Howard DGA15P (pictured below), which appeared at the Classic Sebring for the first time. The airplane contingent in turn selected the Australian-built Cobra-replica 2000 Python Mk II as its race car of choice.

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article