for your iPhone
for your iPad

Rain Postpones Daytona 500 To Monday Afternoon

by Brandon Reed
Sunday, February 16, 2020


Ricky Stenhouse led the first 20 laps from pole. Then it rained
Ricky Stenhouse led the first 20 laps from pole. Then it rained

Mother Nature won out in Daytona Beach on Sunday.

The 62nd annual Daytona 500 has been postponed to Monday afternoon at 4 pm thanks to persistent rain showers over Daytona International Speedway.

The race only got 20 laps on the board before the skies opened up.  The race will resume at 4 pm Monday afternoon.

Just as the competitors approached the 20 lap mark, the skies opened up over turn two of the 2.5-mile raceway, soaking the racing surface and leading race officials to bring the field to pit road under the red flag.

It's was the second stoppage of the event.  The race was set to begin around 3:30 pm, but with the 40-car field about100 years away from taking the green flag, a pop-up shower broke out over the second turn.  The field was brought to pit road without taking the green flag to allow for track drying.

After about an hour's delay, the field finally took the green flag, with pole sitter Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. taking the early lead.  He would pace the field for the first 20 laps until the rain returned, bringing the race under the red flag.

Just before 7 pm, drivers had been called back to their cars, but the skies opened up again with the hardest rains of the day coming down.  Moments later, NASCAR officials made the call to push the completion of the race to Monday afternoon.

Joey Logano was running in second when the rains came, with Aric Almirola third, Ryan Newman fourth and Kevin Harvick in fifth.

Brad Keselowski, William Byron, Jimmie Johnson, Ty Dillon and Timmy Hill rounded out the top ten at the time of the red flag.

Red Flag Standings

147Ricky Stenhouse Jr.20
222Joey Logano20
310Aric Almirola20
46Ryan Newman20
54Kevin Harvick20
62Brad Keselowski20
724William Byron20
848Jimmie Johnson20
913Ty Dillon20
1066* Timmy Hill(i)20
1136David Ragan20
1217Chris Buescher20
1321Matt DiBenedetto20
149Chase Elliott20
1577Ross Chastain(i)20
1688Alex Bowman20
1742Kyle Larson20
181Kurt Busch20
193Austin Dillon20
2041Cole Custer #20
2134Michael McDowell20
228Tyler Reddick #20
2312Ryan Blaney20
2443Bubba Wallace20
2527* Reed Sorenson20
2652BJ McLeod(i)20
2732Corey LaJoie20
2862* Brendan Gaughan(i)20
2937Ryan Preece20
3016* Justin Haley(i)20
3119Martin Truex Jr.20
3218Kyle Busch20
3320Erik Jones20
3495Christopher Bell #20
3511Denny Hamlin20
3614Clint Bowyer20
3738John Hunter Nemechek #20
3800Quin Houff #20
3951Joey Gase(i)20
4015Brennan Poole #20


Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article