for your iPhone
for your iPad

IndyCar Links

2019 Teams

Engineers & Strategists

2019 Schedule

2019 IC Rule Book

2019 Indy Lights Rules

2019 IP2000 Rules

2019 USF2000 Rules

2014 Scanner Freq

Race Car Comparison

History CART/IRL Split

2019 Point Standings
After Laguna Seca
Rank Driver Points

1 Newgarden, Josef 641
2 Pagenaud, Simon 616
3 Rossi, Alexander 608
4 Dixon, Scott 578
5 Power, Will 550
6 Rosenqvist, Felix (R) 425
7 Herta, Colton (R) 420
8 Hunter-Reay, Ryan 420
9 Sato, Takuma 415
10 Rahal, Graham 389
11 Bourdais, Sebastien 387
12 Hinchcliffe, James 370
13 Ferrucci, Santino (R) 351
14 Pigot, Spencer 335
15 Kanaan, Tony 304
16 Andretti, Marco 303
17 Ericsson, Marcus (R) 290
18 Veach, Zach 271
19 Leist, Matheus 261
20 Jones, Ed 217
21 Harvey, Jack 186
22 Chilton, Max 184
23 Carpenter, Ed 161
24 Daly, Conor 149
25 Kimball, Charlie 117
26 O'Ward, Patricio (R) 115
27 Karam, Sage 39
28 Davison, James 36
29 Castroneves, Helio 33
30 Hanley, Ben (R) 31
31 Mann, Pippa 28
32 Kaiser, Kyle (R) 22
33 Hildebrand, JR 20
34 Servia, Oriol 16
35 Enerson, RC (R) 13
36 King, Jordan (R) 12

Rookie of Year Standings
1 Rosenqvist, Felix 425
2 Herta, Colton 420
3 Ferrucci, Santino 351
4 Ericsson, Marcus 290
5 O'Ward, Patricio 115
6 Hanley, Ben 31
7 Kaiser, Kyle 22
8 RC Enerson 13
9 King, Jordan 12

Manufacturer Standings
1. Honda 1436
2. Chevy 1387

Karam holds off Rosenqvist to win iRacing IndyCar race

First IndyCar win at The Glen
Saturday, March 28, 2020


Sage Karam drives to victory
Sage Karam drives to victory

With 36,000 fans in attendance, Dreyer and Reinbold #24 Wix Filters driver Sage Karam from Nazareth, PA. battled Ganassi NTT Data #10 driver Felix Rosenqvist all race long but held on to win the iRacing IndyCar race at Watkins Glen Saturday.

The race is the first of 6 races scheduled to fill the gap due to the Coronavirus postponing the start of the real IndyCar season.

Penske drivers Will Power and Scott McLaughlin were 3rd and 4th while Ganassi Racing rookie Oliver Askew rounded out the top-5.

Karam started from pole and led every lap (except for pit stops) with Rosenqvist always within 2 to 3 seconds back.

Karam, a serious SIM racer, always managed to open the gap back out to 3 seconds whenever the Swede would start to close up. 

Karam’s victory was his first in INDYCAR – virtual or otherwise. The champion of the 2013 Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires season has made only 19 actual NTT starts over six seasons, scoring a career-best third at Iowa Speedway in 2015.

“It was nerve-wracking there at the end, for sure,” he said in reference to a late-race near-miss with Indy Pro 2000 champion Kyle Kirkwood, who was subbing for Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay in the No. 28 DHL Honda. “That was a little too close for comfort (in Turn 10), a (scary) moment. I didn’t know which way he was going to go when he started to spin, so I had to quick rely on some instincts and picked ‘left’ and thankfully it was the right choice.”

Karam, one of the most experienced iRacing drivers in this field, applauded his competitors for investing the necessary practice time this week to make the inaugural online show entertaining for the fans.

“It was a lot of fun, and it was great that we could give the fans something to watch,” he said. “It’s the only sport that (the world) can really do right now.”

The virtual event featured most of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES drivers expecting to be in the midst of the actual season had the pandemic not occurred. The upside of being able to stage such an event: It allowed seven-time NASCAR Cup champion Jimmie Johnson and two-time Virgin Australia Supercars champion Scott McLaughlin to participate.

Karam leads Rosenqvist
Karam leads Rosenqvist

McLaughlin is hoping to drive Team Penske’s No. 2 Shell V-Power Chevrolet for real this season; he finished fourth in his online debut. Rookie Oliver Askew (No. 7 Arrow McLaren SP) finished fifth.

Johnson, who has eyes on INDYCAR road racing in the future, started ninth and ran well in his first INDYCAR attempt despite having a couple of incidents. He was collected in the first-lap accident that included Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi (No. 27 AutoNation/NAPA AUTO PARTS Honda), among others. Then on Lap 34, Johnson’s car drifted wide exiting the track’s famed “bus stop” section and hit the outside wall. He finished 16th.

The second of six events will be held Saturday, April 4 on the Barber Motorsports Park circuit. The event will be held at 4 p.m. ET and streamed through while INDYCAR’s YouTube and Facebook platforms as well as iRacing’s Twitch will serve as additional outlets for viewing.

Future events will be held weekly each Saturday through May 2 at the following sites: a “Driver’s Choice” track (April 11), a “Random Draw” track (April 18), Circuit of The Americas (April 25) and a non-INDYCAR “Dream” track (May 2).



PosSPNo.DriverCar NameLapsStatus
1124Sage KaramDRR Wix Filters Chevrolet45Running
2210Felix RosenqvistNTT DATA Chip Ganassi Racing Honda45Running
3312Will PowerVerizon Team Penske Chevrolet45Running
472Scott McLaughlinShell V-Power Team Penske Chevrolet45Running
557Oliver AskewArrow McLaren SP Chevrolet45Running
6822Simon PagenaudMenards Team Penske Chevrolet45Running
791Josef NewgardenHitachi Team Penske Chevrolet45Running
82118Santino FerrucciSealMaster Honda44Running
91128Kyle KirkwoodDHL Honda44Running
102320Conor DalyU.S. Air Force Chevrolet44Running
111741Dalton KellettK-Line Insulators Chevrolet44Running
121611Kyle KaiserJuncos RacingChevrolet44Running
13185Pato O'WardArrow McLaren SP Chevrolet43Running
141215Graham RahalUnited Rentals Honda43Running
151459Felipe NasrGallagher Carlin Chevrolet43Running
161948Jimmie JohnsonJimmie Johnson Racing Chevrolet43Running
171027Alexander RossiAutoNation / NAPA AUTO PARTS Honda42Running
18158Marcus EricssonHuski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing Honda40Running
192426Zach VeachGainbridge Honda40Running
20655Alex PalouDale Coyne Racing with Team Goh Honda37Off Course
21498Scott SpeedU.S. Concrete / Curb Honda21Off Course
222288Colton HertaCapstone Honda10Off Course
23134Sebastien BourdaisTresiba Chevrolet8Off Course
242014Tony KanaanABC Supply Chevrolet2Off Course
252529James HinchcliffeGenesys Honda0Did Not Start

Lap Leaders

1 - 1624Sage Karam
1712Power, Will
3312Power, Will
34 - 4524Sage Karam

Time of Race: 01:05:50.3717
Avg Speed: 138.200 mph
Margin of Victory: 3.6174 seconds
Lead Changes: 4
Caution Laps: 0

Full Replay

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article