for your iPhone
for your iPad

Byron dominates Bristol NASCAR iRacing crashfest

Leads 116 of 150 laps
Sunday, April 5, 2020


William Byron
William Byron

Hendrick Motorsports #24 Chevy driver William Byron won the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Series Invitational Food City Showdown presented by M&M’s at virtual Bristol Motor Speedway in dominating fashion.

After leading the first 73 laps, the No. 24 Axalta Chevrolet driver took the lead back from Chris Buescher with 42 laps remaining and never looked back. Buescher obtained the lead after using pit strategy to find the front.

“It was a lot of fun,” Byron told FOX Sports following the race. “We had to work through some track position and really keep ourselves up toward the top five.
“This one of the race tracks I always enjoy coming to in the Cup car,” he added. “… It’s fun to have a little bit of pressure on a race in iRacing.”

John Hunter Nemechek finished second, the same place he started, while last Sunday’s Texas Motor Speedway winner Timmy Hill finished third. Homestead-Miami Speedway winner Denny Hamlin earned a third-place result, while Matt DiBenedetto rounded out the top five.

The event was filled with multiple cautions, including a storm of early yellow flags involving Ryan Preece, Kyle Busch, Ryan Blaney, Clint Bowyer, Jimmie Johnson and Bubba Wallace.

Chase Elliott’s day ended prior to Lap 50 when his No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet turned over in Turn 3 after heavy contact with Ty Dillon’s No. 13 GEICO Chevrolet.

The most eventful caution of the day occurred when Kyle Larson and Daniel Suarez got together coming out of Turn 4 at the halfway point of the race. After the caution flew, Larson intentionally wrecked Suarez in Turn 1. For the second week in a row, Suarez was removed from the race by iRacing officials due to the nature of the incident. Larson was also removed from the race.

Byron earned the Busch Pole Award after winning the first of two heats prior to Sunday’s 150-lap race at the .533-mile concrete oval, starting alongside John Hunter Nemechek on the front row who was the winner of the second heat. NASCAR Cup Series drivers qualified to set the lineup for the pair of heat events, with the first heat setting the inside lane, while the second heat set the outside lane.

Byron joins Denny Hamlin (Homestead-Miami Speedway) and Timmy Hill (Texas Motor Speedway) as the third different winner in the three Pro Invitational Series races held so far.


1124William ByronChevrolet116Running
2238John H. NemechekFord0Running
31066Timmy HillToyota0Running
42611Denny HamlinToyota0Running
52121Matt DiBenedettoFord0Running
6437Ryan PreeceChevrolet0Running
71177Parker KligermanToyota0Running
81331Tyler ReddickChevrolet0Running
91451Garrett SmithleyChevrolet0Running
10934Michael McDowellFord0Running
113214Clint BowyerFord0Running
12395Christopher BellToyota0Running
133019Bobby LabonteToyota0Running
14788Alex BowmanChevrolet0Running
15243Austin DillonChevrolet0Running
16206Ross ChastainFord0Running
171522Joey LoganoFord0Running
18618Kyle BuschToyota0Running
19171Kurt BuschChevrolet0Running
201289Landon CassillChevrolet4Running
212548Jimmie JohnsonChevrolet0Running
2258Dale Earnhardt Jr.Chevrolet0Running
232817Chris BuescherFord30Running
24222Brad KeselowskiFord0Running
251813Ty DillonChevrolet0Running
261912Ryan BlaneyFord0Running
272396Daniel SuarezToyota0Disconnected
282947Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Chevrolet0Disconnected
29842Kyle LarsonChevrolet0Disqualified
30279Chase ElliottChevrolet0Disconnected
313120Erik JonesToyota0Disconnected
321643Bubba WallaceChevrolet0Disconnected

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article