for your iPhone
for your iPad

NHRA Links
 2015 Schedule
2015 Tickets
2015 Results
2015 Full Throttle points 

NHRA Point Standings
Through 2015 Pomona

Top Fuel
Position Driver Points
01 Shawn Langdon 124
02 Antron Brown 92
03 Spencer Massey 78
04 Larry Dixon Jr 73
05 Richie Crampton 59
06 Doug Kalitta 56
07 Steve Torrence 54
08 Leah Pritchett 52
09 Tony Schumacher 36
10 Brittany Force 33
11 Troy Buff 32
11 Dave Connolly 32
13 Steven Chrisman 31
13 Terry Mc Millen 31
13 Clay Millican 31
13 J.R. Todd 31
17 Steve Faria 10

Funny Car
Position Driver Points

01 Matt Hagan 107
02 Ron Capps 94
03 Del Worsham 74
04 Robert Hight 73
05 Courtney Force 61
06 Tommy Johnson Jr 60
07 John Hale 51
08 Bob Bode Jr 46
09 John Force 40
10 Cruz Pedregon 38
11 Tony Pedregon 34
12 Alexis De Joria 33
13 Tim Wilkerson 32
14 Gary Densham 31
15 Chad Head 30
16 Jeff Arend 16
17 Terry Haddock 10
18 Jack Beckman 5

Pro Stock
Position Driver Points

01 Jason Line 123
02 Drew Skillman 97
03 Erica Enders-Stevens 81
04 Rodger Brogdon 80
05 Chris McGaha 55
06 Larry Morgan 54
07 Shane Gray 52
07 Allen Johnson 52
09 Greg Anderson 34
09 Vincent Nobile 34
11 Jimmy Alund 32
11 Jonathan Gray 32
13 V Gaines 31
13 Joey Grose 31
13 Matthew Hartford 31
13 Deric Kramer 31
17 Jeffrey Isbell 10
zMax final qualifying - Hagan & Schumacher grab poles

by Pete McCole
Saturday, September 17, 2011


Tony Schumacher
Rhonda McCole/
Tony Schumacher, Matt Hagan, Jason Line and Eddie Krawiec locked down no. 1 qualifier spots on Saturday as qualifying wrapped up for Sunday’s fourth annual NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series O’Reilly Auto Parts Nationals at zMax Dragway in Concord, NC.

More track records continued to fall thanks to unseasonably cool temperatures that dropped the track temperature to under 80 degrees, although the track conditions were nowhere as cool as they were Friday night, which saw track records fall in Pro Stock, Pro Stock Motorcycle and Funny Car, including the quickest time ever in Funny Car history set by Hagan.

Despite the cool track conditions, the leaderboards remained largely changed from Friday’s sessions, with the exception of Top Fuel, which after coming close to seeing a record-breaking run on Friday, finally got their chance to re-write the record book on Saturday

Defending Top Fuel winner Larry Dixon, who held the no. 1 spot through Friday’s first two rounds of qualifying and just barely missed tying the track ET record, was the next to get his name on a track record with a pass of 3.775 at 320.89 mph that eclipsed the previous mark of 3.780 set by Del Worsham back in April and kept him atop the Top Fuel ladder.

But in the final session, Schumacher and the Don Schumacher Racing stable clawed their way back in front, topping Dixon’s mark with a run of 3.771 at 325.92 mph to set the new track ET record and give “The Sarge” his fifth no. 1 qualifier spot of the season and 66th of his career.

“I love coming here,” said Schumacher, who will face Morgan Lucas in the opening round of Sunday’s eliminations. “Bruton Smith built a great racetrack, and it’s topped off with the great weather we have this weekend. The crew chiefs just turned it up all the way. We saw (Larry) Dixon running 3.70’s and knew that’s where we had to be. The U.S. Army dragster went 3.80, 3.80, and 3.77 in its last three runs. I couldn’t be happier.”

Spencer Massey tied the low ET with a 3.771 run of his own, but his slower 324.98 mph top speed gave Schumacher the record and the no. 1 spot over Massey.

Dixon held onto third, followed by Del Worsham (3.787, 321.81) and Antron Brown (3.802, 324.44).

Bruce Litton, Pat Dakin, Ike Maier and “The Greek” Chris Karamesines all missed the show.

Hagan’s national record-setting run of 3.995, 316.23 proved insurmountable on Saturday, with Hagan himself running the quickest time of Saturday’s sessions with a 4.038 at 310.41 mph before blowing up just past the finish line.

While not enough to back up Friday’s effort and secure the national record, it was plenty to earn him his third top qualifier of the season.

“It’s Tommy’s (DeLago, crew chief) call whether we try to go for (the national record) tomorrow or just go rounds,” said Hagan. “It’s anybody’s ballgame right now, and I’m just excited to have a competitive race car underneath me. I can’t wait to get going in the morning and hopefully we can do big things out here.”

Mike Neff held the no. 2 spot from Friday’s sessions with a 4.038, 314.17 while Melanie Troxel jumped to the third spot with a pass of 4.042, 291.76 in the final session, bumping Jack Beckman (4.044, 318.92) down to fourth ahead of Jeff Arend (4.048, 313.44).

Cruz Pedregon took the bump spot to earn a matchup with Hagan in the opening round on Sunday. Bob Gilbertson was the only DNQ.

Jason Line
Rhonda McCole/
Jason Line backed up his record-breaking run of 6.510, 212.66 on Friday with the fastest pass of the day in Saturday’s first session, running 6.518, 212.59, notching his third straight no.1 qualifier spot and 22nd of his career on the strength of his, buoying his place in the points battle trailing teammate Greg Anderson.

Anderson stole some of Line’s thunder by taking the track speed record on Friday with a 212.69 mph pass at 6.513 seconds to take the second spot, followed by Allen Johnson (6.529, 211.79), Ronnie Humphrey (6.534, 211.76) and Mike Edwards (6.540, 211.93).

“We just have to make it so that the No. 1 qualifier wins instead of the No. 2 qualifier,” said Line. “We’ve kind of been jinxed on that the last three races, but we’re going to fix that tomorrow. Obviously to peak right now as the Countdown starts is a great thing. As a racer and a team, that’s what you dream about, so it feels really good. We just need to do our job tomorrow and capitalize on it.”

Countdown contender Ron Krisher failed to qualify, joining Robert Patrick, Bob Benza, Wally Stroupe and Grace Howell.

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, none of Saturday’s qualifiers were able to top Eddie Krawiec’s record-breaking run from Friday, earning him the top qualifying honors for the third time this season and ninth of his career. He’ll face off against Steve Johnson for Sunday’s opening round.

Matt Smith (6.871, 191.84) will start second, followed by Karen Stoffer (6.873, 195.59). Hector Arana (6.890, 193.54) moved up to eighth to fourth whole Shawn Gann made a huge leap from 14th to fifth with a run of 6.901, 191.89 in the final session.

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article