for your iPhone
for your iPad

NHRA Links
 2015 Schedule
2015 Tickets
2015 Results
2015 Full Throttle points 

NHRA Point Standings
Through 2015 Reading

Top Fuel
Position Driver Points
1 Antron Brown 2320
2 Tony Schumacher 2243
3 Larry Dixon 2161
4 Brittany Force 2157
5 J.R. Todd 2149
6 Doug Kalitta 2139
7 Richie Crampton 2133
8 Dave Connolly 2127
8 Steve Torrence 2127
10 Shawn Langdon 2126
11 Spencer Massey 888
12 Clay Millican 876
13 Leah Pritchett 622
14 Terry Mc Millen 615
15 Morgan Lucas 275

Funny Car
Pos Driver Points
1 Del Worsham 2327
2 Matt Hagan 2237
3 Tommy Johnson 2211
4 Jack Beckman 2208
5 John Force 2178
6 Ron Capps 2177
7 Alexis De Joria 2123
8 Cruz Pedregon 2116
9 Tim Wilkerson 2107
10 Robert Hight 2099
11 Courtney Force 946
12 John Hale 751
13 Chad Head 749
14 Tony Pedregon 640
15 Jeffrey Diehl 294

Pro Stock
Pos Driver Points
1 Erica Enders 2331
2 Greg Anderson 2218
3 Allen Johnson 2195
4 Drew Skillman 2171
5 Larry Morgan 2167
6 Chris McGaha 2162
7 Vincent Nobile 2155
8 Jason Line 2125
9 Shane Gray 2117
10 Jonathan Gray 2066
11 V Gaines 744
12 Rodger Brogdon 632
13 Bo Butner 603
14 Deric Kramer 379
15 John Gaydosh 264

Pro Stock Motorcycle
Pos Driver Points
1 Andrew Hines 2259
2 Hector Arana Jr 2225
3 Eddie Krawiec 2208
4 Gerald Savoie 2205
5 Matt Smith 2167
6 Karen Stoffer 2146
7 Hector Arana 2135
8 Chip Ellis 2131
9 James Underdahl 2094
10 Scott Pollacheck 2041
11 Steve Johnson 520
12 LE Tonglet 508
13 Angelle Sampey 501
14 Chaz Kennedy 448
15 Angie Smith 427
Force, Massey, Anderson Top NHRA Winternationals

by Pete McCole
Monday, February 13, 2012


John Force
15-time NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series champion John Force proved that he still knows how to wheel a Funny Car to victory lane, racking up his 134th career victory on Sunday in the season-opening 52nd annual O’Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Winternationals at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona.

Showing his hasn’t missed beat since undergoing knee surgery in the off-season, Force opened up his 34th year of competition by watching his daughter Courtney score her first round win and then took down his own driver in the final round, defeating Mike Neff on a holeshot for the his sixth Winternationals victory.

Spencer Massey scored the victory in the Top Fuel division, while Greg Anderson topped the Pro Stock field.

Sunday’s victory was a bit of redemption for the 62-year-old Force, ending a streak of nine races since Force had even made it out of the first round.

“It’s a great start,” Force said. “You really want to perform. I know all those other kids on our teams and others, like Cruz Pedregon, the Schumacher teams, (Tim) Wilkerson, and (Bob) Tasca, those guys are going to win races, and it was just nice to get a win under my belt. Those boys are bad out there. To make that top 10 is going to be tough. Somebody’s going to be left out, so I’m just going to keep fighting and keep my nose clean.”

John Force gets the hole shot on Neff
Force started the day beating out rookie Alexis DeJoria, Tim Wilkerson and Gary Densham to reach the finals for the 215th time in his career and his first final round meeting against Neff.

Neff, who served as Force’s crew chief during his championship-winning run 2010, bested Tony Pedregon and then teammate Courtney Force and Ron Capps to face Force, getting lane choice in the final round.

In the final, Force showed exactly the kind of skill that made him a 15-time champion, hitting a .067 light over Neff’s .175 to win on a holeshot with a 4.080 at 315.04 against Neff’s 4.036, 316.82.

“Before the final, I said, ‘What are we going to do ‘Guido?’ (crew chief Dean Antonelli),” Force said. “He said, ‘We can’t race him the way we are, running .12 or .14. We’re going to have to go after it, and if it smokes the tires, we’ll go home.’ They were all over there, looking at the numbers, and it just went. It wasn’t quick enough to beat him. He was late, so I got the win. He told me something distracted him.

“It is amazing how we all pulled together before the final. All my brain trust was working on my Mustang and helping Neff. I knew Neff was going to spank me. His Castrol hot rod has been fast all day. We have teamwork and that is what will win us championships. I have done it before and maybe we’ll do it again.”

Spencer Massey beat Antron Brown
Massey defeated his Don Schumacher Racing teammate Antron Brown to score his seventh career Top Fuel victory

Coming into Sunday’s eliminations as the second seed, Massey bested Steve Faria, Clay Millican and teammate Tony Schumacher to reach his 14th-career final round against the fourth-seeded Brown, who won out over Cory McClenathan, Brandon Bernstein and no. 1 qualifier Morgan Lucas to make it to the final round.

Facing each other for the fourth time in their careers in the final round, Brown jumped out to an early lead with a .036 light over Massey, who quickly closed the gap by the 100-foot mark and pulled ahead to reach the line by 15 feet, posting a 3.750 at 325.77 mph over Brown’s 3.794, 320.43.

“It shows that they know what it takes to get the car down the racetrack,” Massey continued. “After the second round, we didn’t have any computer data, and (crew chiefs) Phil (Shuler) and Todd (Okuhara) tuned that thing like it was a Top Fuel car from 1968. They looked at the plugs, looked at the bearings, and it went 3.74 at 328 mph. It’s awesome to start like this and have the No. 1 spot going into Phoenix. This is my life dream, and we’re living it.”

Greg Anderson topped Jeg Coughlin to pick up his 71st Pro Stock victory and his fifth in the Winternationals, posting a 6.549 at 210.87 mph over Coughlin’s 6.586, 209.62.

The fifth-seeded Anderson knocked out Larry Morgan, Allen Johnson and defending race winner and reigning Pro Stock champion Jason Line to reach his 104th final round- his 15th against Coughlin - and first final round appearance since winning at the US Nationals in Indianapolis last September.

“I wasn’t the quickest driver out here today, but I was very consistent,” Anderson said. “We managed to stop the big yellow Mopar (Coughlin). He sure came out swinging. You’re always aware of how good Jeg is driving. I’ve never been very good at tuning that kind of stuff out, but it worked today. The crew made great decisions, and here we are back in the winner’s circle again.”

FUNNY CAR – John Force, Yorba Linda, Calif., Castrol GTX HIGH MILEAGE Ford Mustang, 4.080, 315.64 mph def. Mike Neff, Fishers, Ind., Castrol GTX Ford Mustang, 4.036, 316.82 mph.

TOP FUEL – Spencer Massey, Ft. Worth, Tex., Fram dragster, 3.750, 325.77 mph def. Antron Brown, Brownsburg, Ind., Matco Tools dragster, 3.794, 320.43 mph.

PRO STOCK – Greg Anderson, Mooresville, NC, Summit Pontiac GXP, 6.549, 210.87 mph def. Jeg Coughlin Jr., Delaware, Ohio, JEGS Dodge Avenger, 6.586, 209.62 mph

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article