for your iPhone
for your iPad

IndyCar Links

2017 Teams

2017 Schedule

2016 IC Rule Book

2015 IC Engine Rules

2015 IC Aero Rules

2014 Indy Lights Rules

2014 Pro Mazda Rules

2014 USF2000 Rules

2014 Drug Policy

2014 Scanner Freq

Race Car Comparison

Lap Time Comparison

History CART/IRL Split

2017 Point Standings
After Sonoma
Rank Driver Points

1 Josef Newgarden 642
2 Simon Pagenaud 629
3 Scott Dixon 621
4 Helio Castroneves 598
5 Will Power 562
6 Graham Rahal 522
7 Alexander Rossi 494
8 Takuma Sato 441
9 Ryan Hunter-Reay 421
10 Tony Kanaan 403
11 Max Chilton 396
12 Marco Andretti 388
13 James Hinchcliffe 376
14 Ed Jones 354
15 JR Hildebrand 347
16 Carlos Munoz 328
17 Charlie Kimball 327
18 Conor Daly 305
19 Mikhail Aleshin 237
20 Spencer Pigot 218
21 Sebastien Bourdais 214
22 Ed Carpenter 169
23 Gabby Chaves 98
24 Juan Pablo Montoya 93
25 Esteban Gutierrez 91
26 Sebastian Saavedra 80
27 Oriol Servia 61
28 Jack Harvey 57
29 Fernando Alonso 47
30 Pippa Mann 32
31 Zachary Claman DeMelo 26
32 Jay Howard 24
33 Zach Veach 23
34 Sage Karam 23
35 James Davison 21
36 Tristan Vautier 15
37 Buddy Lazier 14

Rookie of Year Standings
1. Ed Jones 354
2. Esteban Gutierrez 91
3. Jack Harvey 57
4. Fernando Alonso 47
5. Zach Veach 23

Manufacturer Standings
1. Chevy 1489
2. Honda 1326 team wins St. Petersburg GP Kart race

by Mark J. Cipolloni
Tuesday, February 28, 2012


The winning team of Wayde Alfarone, Larry Schumacher, Glenn Howell, Spencer Pigot and Scott Morris ( sent four staff members to participate in Tuesday's Honda Grand Prix of St. Pete media kart race with IndyCar and other pro drivers and members of the media, in a lead-up to the March 24-26 Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

The event was held at the impressive Andersen Racing Park in Palmetto, FL just minutes away from the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg (GPSP) location, on their state-of-the-art kart racing course, in equally prepared Honda powered go-karts. The Anderson team also promotes and runs the USF2000, which is a rung on the Mazda Road to Indy ladder system that feeds into IndyCar

After a quick greeting by St. Pete Mayor Bill Foster and executives from the race and promotion staff of the GPSP and the Andersen facility, the pro drivers were introduced.:

Marco Andretti – IndyCar – Racing for WTSP Channel 10 News and Team Univision
Simon Pagenaud – IndyCar – Racing for the Tampa Bay Times and Team Univision
Peter Dempsey – Indy Lights – Racing for Rocket Sports & Entertainment
Jacob Wilson – Indy Lights – Racing for Bay News 9
Spencer Pigot – USF2000 – Racing for Team
Matthew Brabham – USF2000 – Racing for Team Spirit 90.5 FM
Shannon McIntosh – USF2000 – Racing for ABC Action News
Shea Holbrook – Acura World Challenge – Racing for
Anders Krohn – Former Indy Lights driver– Racing for WWPR radio

The team consisted of our contributing photographer and columnist(s) Scott Morris, Wayde Alfarone, Larry Schumacher, and Glenn Howell.

After a quick 20 minute practice session where everyone got only two laps to familiarize themselves with the cars and learn the track, the race began LeMans style for a 1 hour enduro.

For some reason, the organizers decided to put Team at the very back of the field, but we were not worried.

By the end of the second lap, Spencer Pigot had brought the kart up to fifth place, battling hard with Marco Andretti. Each would pass and repass each other for position. Even though this was a fun event, the testosterone was running very high and the competitive spirit turned it into a real contest much like any other.

When Spencer Pigot brought the kart in for a driver change, he had team in fourth, behind WWPR (Anders Krohn team), RocketSports (Peter Dempsey Team) and WTSP (Marco Andretti team). Marco Andretti had the team in his gun sights after the recent Parking Gate episode and had fire in his eyes. He drove for both the WTSP team and also did a stint for the Tampa Bay Times team. He wanted to beat us bad.

But the team was up for the challenge.  Scott Morris jumped into the kart for the 2nd stint and by the third turn had taken the kart to the lead and quickly pulled away. By the end of the 2nd segment, team had almost lapped the entire field.

Wayde Alfarone continued the pace for, as did Larry Schumacher, and Glenn Howell, all driving a flawless race.

All of the pro drivers were required to run the final stint of the race, and when Spencer Pigot took over the kart for the team he was nearly two laps up on the field. Spencer brought the kart home in champion style to take the checkered flag and bring home the honors for

Rocket Sports Entertainment with Peter Dempsey finished second and the Tampa Bay Times team with Marco Andretti finished third, with Marco edging out Spencer Pigot for fast time of the day, turning double duty for two different teams.

All of the teams got to experience the thrill of racing wheel to wheel.  The losers promised to take it to us next year! Of course we here at welcome any challenge, and thank the GPSP organizers and the Andersen Race Park staff for hosting the event.

Fun was had by all.


Pos No. Team Laps Behind Fast Lap
1 09 45 - 58.017
2 06 Rocket Sports and Entertainment 43 2 Laps 58.403
3 03 WTSP 10 News 42 3 Laps 50.396
4 08 WWPR 1490 radio 42 +44 secs 57.878
5 00 Bay News 9 41 4 Laps 58.194
6 04 ABC Action News 41 +39 secs 59.092
7 888 Tampa Bay Times 40 5 Laps 59.190
8 07 Team Spirit 40 +18.5 sec 58.819
9 777 Team Univision 39 6 Laps 59.705
10 05 39 +7.3 sec 59.534


She kept asking for some wickerbill...
Kim Green
Simon Pagenaud
Marco Andretti
Dan Andersen
Tim Ramsberger
St. Pete Mayor Bill Foster
Shea Holbrook
Spencer Pigot
Marco Andretti
The roster of pro drivers
A LeMans style start, and they put Team AR1 at the back!
Spencer Pigot makes a good start a charges to the front
passing karts already...
Spencer Pigot puts the pressure on Marco Andretti
Spencer Pigot pushes Marco a little wide...
Still fighting for the spot
Spencer Pigot makes the pass on Marco Andretti, but they swapped back and forth all day
Nice to be able to race with the pro drivers...
Larry Schumacher with Marco Andretti
Peter Dempsey says "who are these guys on this Team AR1 and why are they so bloody quick?"
Larry Schumacher gets ready fro his stint in the kart
Simon Pagenaud gets ready to run
Wayde Alfarone stretching out the Team lead
Wayde Alfarone chasing down another one!
Wayde Alfarone takes two at a time!
Larry Schumacher makes another pass
Larry Schumacher keeps it cool
Someone gets it turned around...
Larry Schumacher showing the perfect line
Team making a quick driver change
Team takes a commanding lead!
Glenn Howell battling with Simon Pagenaud
Spencer Pigot bringing it home in the closing laps
Marco Andretti and Simon Pagenaud having a good dice
Spencer Pigot with one lap to go...
Look Ma! No hands! Spencer Pigot takes the checker with Team!
The 1st place trophies
Team on top of the podium
Team takes the win
Larry Schumacher, Wayde Alfarone, Glenn Howell, Spencer Pigot, Scott Morris
The winning team of Larry Schumacher, Scott Morris, Glenn Howell, Wayde Alfarone, Spencer Pigot
Scott Morris, Spencer Pigot

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article