for your iPhone
for your iPad
Formula 1

F1 Links

2018 Schedule

Champ Car vs F1 Car

Teams & Driver Page

2018 Point Standings

After China
Championship Standings:

Drivers' Standings
1 Sebastian Vettel 54
2 Lewis Hamilton 45
3 Valtteri Bottas 40
4 Daniel Ricciardo 37
5 Kimi Raikkonen 30
6 Fernando Alonso 22
7 Nico Hulkenberg 22
8 Max Verstappen 18
9 Pierre Gasly 12
10 Kevin Magnussen 11
11 Stoffel Vandoorne 6
12 Carlos Sainz 3
13 Marcus Ericsson 2
14 Esteban Ocon 1
15 Sergio Perez 0
16 Charles Leclerc 0
17 Brendon Hartley 0
18 Lance Stroll 0
19 Romain Grosjean 0
20 Sergey Sirotkin 0

Constructors' Standings
1 Mercedes 85
2 Ferrari 84
3 Red Bull Racing 55
4 Mclaren Renault 28
5 Renault 25
6 Toro Rosso Honda 12
7 Haas Ferrari 11
8 Sauber Ferrari 2
9 Force India Mercedes 1
10 Williams Mercedes 0

Raikkonen wins wet Chinese GP, Alonso 2nd

It’s Hamilton’s turn to choke
Sunday, October 7, 2007


Kimi Raikkonen

SHANGHAI, CHINA - Kimi Raikkonen scored a 9.8s second win over Fernando Alonso in the Chinese Grand Prix on Sunday to keep his and Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro’s hopes alive in the 2007 Formula One World Championship as major rival Lewis Hamilton slid off the pit access lane after 30 laps of the 56 lap race. Raikkonen was backed up by Felipe Massa in third place.

The race was full of drama as it started on a wet track - but not as wet as Fuji the weekend before - dried out before a small shower dampened it again around half distance. It then dried out again to the finish.

Hamilton led away from pole position with Raikkonen taking second and Massa third, but Alonso came around the outside of the second Ferrari to take third only to lose it again on the first lap. Alonso challenged Massa for the first few laps, as Hamilton pulled away out front, opening up an 8.6s lead by lap 14.

Behind, Raikkonen was pulling away from Massa, opening up a five second gap while Massa was shadowed by Alonso who was only a couple of seconds behind.

The first pit stops came on lap 15 when Hamilton came in, while the other contenders came in successively from lap 17 onwards, but all remained on what were by now fairly well-worn wet tires. After the last stop, Hamilton’s lead had been halved to four seconds, but the margin to Massa in third had now grown to 12s with Alonso slightly closer behind him.

Massa came in on lap 26 for his second stop on what was virtually half distance as the rain returned for a brief shower, and that instantly allowed Raikkonen to close onto Hamilton’s tail, and on lap 29, he swept past. Hamilton promptly had a moment off track, so that on lap 30, Raikkonen’s leading margin had leaped to 8.0s.
But now the track was beginning to dry, and Hamilton - among others - headed for the pits to fit dry tires. The pit lane includes a sharp lefthander, but Hamilton’s tires were so badly worn that he had little grip and slid straight on, into a gravel trap where he remained, out of the race.

Raikkonen and Alonso both pitted on the next lap and rejoined with the Finn 11s ahead of Alonso, who in turn had rejoined just ahead of Massa.

The leader, on the road, was Robert Kubica who had made just one pit stop after 25 laps but he led just one lap before rolling to a halt with a recurrence of hydraulic failure which had plagued the BMW Sauber team all weekend.


Raikkonen now led by 10s from Alonso in second place while Massa was in third. Alonso reduced Raikkonen’s lead to 7.9s over the remaining laps, but it was usually at least eight seconds. By contrast, Massa was falling back with graining tires to a 10s deficit behind the Spaniard, but then the tires cleaned themselves up and Massa set four fastest laps in the last five laps. He was 3.0s behind Alonso at the end.

The rest were left far behind, but it was the Ferrari-engined Scuderia Toro Rosso of Sebastian Vettel which scored a remarkable fourth place ahead of Jenson Button’s Honda and Vettel’s teammate Vitantonio Liuzzi. Nick Heidfeld and David Coulthard scooped the final points.

The championship now heads to Interlagos on the outskirts of Sao Paulo in Brazil for the final round of the series, with Hamilton still leading the championship on 107 pts, from Alonso with 103 and Raikkonen still in with a chance on 100 pts.


Press Conference


1. Kimi Raikkonen Finland Ferrari 56 1h37m58.395
2. Fernando Alonso Spain McLaren-Mercedes 56 9.8
3. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari 56 12.8
4. Sebastian Vettel Germany Toro Rosso-Ferrari 56 53.5
5. Jenson Button Britain Honda 56 1m08.6
6. Vitantonio Liuzzi Italy Toro Rosso-Ferrari 56 1m13.6
7. Nick Heidfeld Germany BMW Sauber 56 1m14.2
8. David Coulthard Britain Red Bull-Renault 56 1m20.7
9. Heikki Kovalainen Finland Renault 56 1m21.1
10. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull-Renault 56 1m24.6
11. Giancarlo Fisichella Italy Renault 56 1m26.6
12. Alexander Wurz Austria Williams-Toyota 55 1 Lap
13. Jarno Trulli Italy Toyota 55 1 Lap
14. Takuma Sato Japan Super Aguri-Honda 55 1 Lap
15. Rubens Barrichello Brazil Honda 55 1 Lap
16. Nico Rosberg Germany Williams-Toyota 54 2 Laps
17. Sakon Yamamoto Japan Spyker-Ferrari 53 3 Laps
R Robert Kubica Poland BMW Sauber 33
R Lewis Hamilton Britain McLaren-Mercedes 30 Spin
R Ralf Schumacher Germany Toyota 25 Spin
R Adrian Sutil Germany Spyker-Ferrari 24 Accident
R Anthony Davidson Britain Super Aguri-Honda 11
Fastest Lap Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari 56 1:37.454

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article