for your iPhone
for your iPad

NHRA Links
 2014 Schedule
2012 Tickets
2012 Results
2012 Full Throttle points 

NHRA Point Standings
Through Charlotte

Pos. Driver Points

1 Tony Schumacher 2170
2 Spencer Massey 2160
3 Shawn Langdon 2151
4 Antron Brown 2142
5 Doug Kalitta 2105
6 Morgan Lucas 2099
7 Brandon Bernstein 2095
8 Steve Torrence 2093
9 Bob Vandergriff Jr. 2053
10 Dave Grubnic 2043
11 Clay Millican 718
12 Khalid Albalooshi 698
13 Terry McMillen 587
14 Hillary Will 316
15 Cory McClenathan 279
Funny Car
Pos. Driver Points

1 Ron Capps 2230
2 Mike Neff 2157
3 Jack Beckman 2152
4 Robert Hight 2113
5 Cruz Pedregon 2087
6 Johnny Gray 2081
7 Courtney Force 2074
8 John Force 2072
9 Jeff Arend 2064
9 Tim Wilkerson 2064
11 Matt Hagan 885
12 Bob Tasca III 833
13 Alexis De Joria 687
14 Tony Pedregon 524
15 Bob Bode 388
Pro Stock
Pos. Driver Points

1 Allen Johnson 2209
2 Jason Line 2206
3 Vincent Nobile 2138
4 Greg Anderson 2107
5 Mike Edwards 2094
5 Erica Enders 2094
7 Ron Krisher 2063
8 Larry Morgan 2062
9 V. Gaines 2052
10 Jeg Coughlin 2031
11 Shane Gray 684
12 Ronnie Humphrey 625
13 Rodger Brogdon 575
14 Kurt Johnson 544
15 Warren Johnson 491
Pro Stock Motorcycle
Pos. Driver Points

1 Ed Krawiec 2215
2 Andrew Hines 2205
3 Hector Arana Jr 2151
4 Hector Arana 2139
5 Scott Pollacheck 2092
6 Karen Stoffer 2083
7 Paul Ray Jr 2074
8 Shawn Gann 2062
9 Louis Tonglet 2061
10 Matt Smith 2054
Hight scores fourth straight in Concord

NHRA Four-Wide nationals
Sunday, April 15, 2012


Funny Car Final
The dominant start of the 2012 season continued for Funny Car racer Robert Hight when he scored his fourth win in five races at the NHRA Four-Wide Nationals at zMAX Dragway. Spencer Massey in Top Fuel and Greg Anderson in Pro Stock also secured wins at the fifth race of 2012 in the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series.

Auto Club Ford Mustang driver Hight becomes just the fifth Funny Car racer to win four consecutive events in NHRA history, joining the ranks of Don Prudhomme, Kenny Bernstein, his team owner John Force, and Cruz Pedregon, who he defeated in the finals to accomplish the feat. Hight used a reaction time of .058 seconds at the start of his 4.076-second pass at 314.83 mph to secure his 27th career win.

“This is unbelievable. This class is so tough. Racing those three guys in the final, Cruz, Capps, Force, those guys are all hall of famers. They’re definitely guys that I grew up watching, and they all have more wins than me, so just to be out there racing those guys and to actually beat them is unbelievable,” said Hight.

Robert Hight

Spencer Massey

“To win one of these races is tough, and to have four in a row, it’s stuff that you don’t even dream about. I don’t see why we got to stop here, right? That was a 40-point swing for us in the final. That’s gaining 40 points on everybody but the runner-up. That’s big time. I want to keep this going. It’s not that easy to win out here, so you don’t want to give this up. You may never win another one.”

Massey is also enjoying a strong start to the season when he notched his third win of the early season. Massey and his FRAM/Prestone dragster, has yet to lose in a final-round appearance this year, and his 3.802-second pass at 332.18 was able to defeat his Don Schumacher Racing teammate Tony Schumacher in the U.S. Army Top Fuel dragster. Massey also set the national speed record with his speed of 332.18 mph, and he takes over the points lead from teammate Antron Brown.

“It’s unbelievable. Starting out running 328 mph in qualifying and then coming up this morning and blistering a 330 and then just trying to go down the racetrack in the final and running 332; we were just trying to go A to B and make them beat us. When I went across the finish line, I didn’t know who won until I made the turnoff, and it wasn’t until they were giving me the trophy that they told me I’d run 332 mph. That’s unreal. It just shows you how awesome this Prestone and FRAM team of Phil Shuler and Todd Okuhara is running,” stated Massey. “The car always pulls hard on every run, and on that 332, it never let up. It pulled as hard at the finish line as it did at 330 feet. You know you’re on a good run when it does that. You just have to be focused on the starting line and have your head in the game. It’ll show you which driver knows what’s going on at the Four-Wide Nationals. I love it.”

This was the second NHRA Four-Wide Nationals win for Anderson, who calls Charlotte home for himself and his race team. The driver of the Summit Racing Equipment Pontiac GXP held off a hard charging Erica Enders in her GK Racing Chevy Cobalt. Enders is working to become the first female winner in the NHRA Pro Stock category. The 6.540-second pass at 212.23 powered him to his 72nd career win and adds to his points lead in the category.

“I am off to a good start this year. I’ve been in three finals, and leading the points. I have a great race car, and Jason has a great race car. The Summit team is on fire. These are two of the very best cars we’ve had,” said Anderson. “When you’re racing four wide, you always feel like an underdog. Even if you have the fastest car, you have guys who cut .00 lights every time, and let’s face it, I’m not one of those guys. I’ve complained about this [four-wide] concept, but I guess it’s time to embrace it.”

The NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series returns to action on April 27-29 at the O’Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Spring Nationals presented by Super Start Batteries at Royal Purple Raceway in Houston, April 27-29.

Mike Castellana was awarded his third NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series ProCare Rx victory in a single pass during the final round after his competitor was unable to make it to the starting line. Castellana was to face Leah Pruett in the finals, but she suffered extreme engine damage in the semifinals, and her team wasn’t able to fix the car in time for the final.

This was the second consecutive final-round appearance for Castellana, who was defeated in Gainesville by Rickie Smith. Castellana faced Smith in the quarterfinals during eliminations on Sunday and was able to avenge his loss at the prior event. Castellana also defeated Chip King, and the No. 1 qualifier of Danny Rowe en route to the finals. With the win, Castellana takes over the point lead from Smith.

The NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series presented by ProCare Rx will next be in action in Houston.

Lucas Oil event winners
Top Alcohol Dragster
Bill Reichert, 5.317, 264.23 def. Doug Foley, 10.199, 82.63.

Top Alcohol Funny Car
Andy Bohl, Ford Mustang, 5.614, 261.47 def. Dan Pomponio, Chevy Monte Carlo, 5.721, 245.14.

Competition Eliminator
Russell Joly, Chevy Cobalt, 8.314, 115.49 def. Tony Terry, Cobalt, foul.

Super Stock
Michael Volkman, Chrysler Sebring, 10.359, 116.85 def. Joe Santangelo, Olds Achieva, 10.369, 103.40.

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article