for your iPhone
for your iPad

NHRA Links
 2015 Schedule
2015 Tickets
2015 Results
2015 Full Throttle points 

NHRA Point Standings
Through 2015 Reading

Top Fuel
Position Driver Points
1 Antron Brown 2320
2 Tony Schumacher 2243
3 Larry Dixon 2161
4 Brittany Force 2157
5 J.R. Todd 2149
6 Doug Kalitta 2139
7 Richie Crampton 2133
8 Dave Connolly 2127
8 Steve Torrence 2127
10 Shawn Langdon 2126
11 Spencer Massey 888
12 Clay Millican 876
13 Leah Pritchett 622
14 Terry Mc Millen 615
15 Morgan Lucas 275

Funny Car
Pos Driver Points
1 Del Worsham 2327
2 Matt Hagan 2237
3 Tommy Johnson 2211
4 Jack Beckman 2208
5 John Force 2178
6 Ron Capps 2177
7 Alexis De Joria 2123
8 Cruz Pedregon 2116
9 Tim Wilkerson 2107
10 Robert Hight 2099
11 Courtney Force 946
12 John Hale 751
13 Chad Head 749
14 Tony Pedregon 640
15 Jeffrey Diehl 294

Pro Stock
Pos Driver Points
1 Erica Enders 2331
2 Greg Anderson 2218
3 Allen Johnson 2195
4 Drew Skillman 2171
5 Larry Morgan 2167
6 Chris McGaha 2162
7 Vincent Nobile 2155
8 Jason Line 2125
9 Shane Gray 2117
10 Jonathan Gray 2066
11 V Gaines 744
12 Rodger Brogdon 632
13 Bo Butner 603
14 Deric Kramer 379
15 John Gaydosh 264

Pro Stock Motorcycle
Pos Driver Points
1 Andrew Hines 2259
2 Hector Arana Jr 2225
3 Eddie Krawiec 2208
4 Gerald Savoie 2205
5 Matt Smith 2167
6 Karen Stoffer 2146
7 Hector Arana 2135
8 Chip Ellis 2131
9 James Underdahl 2094
10 Scott Pollacheck 2041
11 Steve Johnson 520
12 LE Tonglet 508
13 Angelle Sampey 501
14 Chaz Kennedy 448
15 Angie Smith 427
Massey, Worsham, Edwards No.1 Qualifiers at Bristol

by Pete McCole
Saturday, June 15, 2013


Mike Edwards
Rhonda McCole/
Spencer Massey, Del Worsham and Mike Edwards topped the speed charts to claim no. 1 qualifier positions in record-setting qualifying sessions for Sunday’s NHRA Mellow Yellow Drag Racing Series Thunder Valley Nationals at Bristol Dragway in Bristol, Tenn.

Sunny skies and cooler temperatures over the facility nestled high in the Blue Ridge Mountains during Friday’s led to very favorable tracks conditions as records fell across the board, with new speed and ET records being set in all three major divisions. By Saturday, the temperatures during the afternoon sessions were significantly higher, and much of the top five in all three divisions remained unchanged

Massey earned his first no. 1 qualifier of the season and seventh of his career after setting the fast time in the Top Fuel bracket with a record-breaking pass of 3.775 seconds at 326.79 mph in Friday’s session, easily eclipsing both track records - 3.796 set by Shawn Langdon, and 324.98 mph by Massey himself - set during this same event last year.

Spencer Massey
Rhonda McCole/
“I definitely like that feeling of having the No. 1 spot,” Massey said. “It’s always a plus. I’ve never actually won from the No. 1 spot. It’s something that seems like it’s really tough to do. Sometimes when you qualify No. 1, it’s like there’s a target on your back. If you win out of the No. 1 spot, it would make it that much more special. I’d love to do it here.”

Steve Torrence was second, going 3.779 at 324.51, followed by Clay Millican (3.787/326.48), David Grubnic (3.792/321.12) and Tony Schumacher (3.795/325.77)

Terry McMillen, Troy Buff and Pat Dakin failed to qualify for a spot in Sunday’s field. Doug Herbert qualified 16th and will going to the opening round against Massey.

Del Worsham topped the Funny Car division to collect his first top qualifier of the season and 13th of his career, turning in a run of 4.008 seconds at 314.83 mph on Friday that was enough to break the track ET record of 4.047 set by Robert Hight in June of 2011.

Del Worsham
Rhonda McCole/
“That run last night was awful special and the entire team has been going above and beyond here lately,” Worsham said. “The track was just hot today and the chances of running that good were pretty slim. We tried some things out there today. We’ll be ready for tomorrow.”

Jack Beckman took the second spot with a run of 4.012 at 317.05 mph to break the track speed record of 316.45 mph set by Hight. Matt Hagan (4.049/317.05), Tim Wilkerson (4.061/315.56) and Ron Capps (4.066/310.84) rounded out the top five qualifiers.

After watching both his record fall, Hight was fortunate just to make the field, claiming the bump spot to face Worsham in the opening round of Sunday’s eliminations.

It was a familiar theme in Pro Stock, as Mike Edwards secured his ninth top qualifier in the past ten races, breaking his own track ET record as well as the track speed record in the process, going 6.632 at 208.23 mph for his fourth straight pole and 50th of his NHRA career.

Edwards, who has won the last four Bristol events, was the quickest qualifier in three of the four rounds of qualifying, but was unable to improve on his record-setting run from Friday, which bested the previous ET record of 6.633 and track speed record of 207.94 mph by Greg Anderson, both set in May of 2009.

“I love coming to this track and racing here,” said Edwards, who will meet JR Carr in the opening round. “It has been good to us over the years. It’s great to be running good here again. If we could get five in a row at this place, that’s phenomenal for me. We are just going to take it like we have been doing all year long. You never know. We feel like we have as good a chance as anybody.”

Allen Johnson was second with a quick pass of 6.645 at 207.85 mph, followed by Erica Enders-Stevens (6.651/207.11), Shane Gray (6.654/207.62) and Jason Line (6.661/206.95)

Missing the field were John Gaydosh, Jr., Kurt Johnson and Warren Johnson.

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article