for your iPhone
for your iPad

NHRA Links
 2014 Schedule
2012 Tickets
2012 Results
2012 Full Throttle points 

NHRA Point Standings
Through Charlotte

Pos. Driver Points

1 Tony Schumacher 2170
2 Spencer Massey 2160
3 Shawn Langdon 2151
4 Antron Brown 2142
5 Doug Kalitta 2105
6 Morgan Lucas 2099
7 Brandon Bernstein 2095
8 Steve Torrence 2093
9 Bob Vandergriff Jr. 2053
10 Dave Grubnic 2043
11 Clay Millican 718
12 Khalid Albalooshi 698
13 Terry McMillen 587
14 Hillary Will 316
15 Cory McClenathan 279
Funny Car
Pos. Driver Points

1 Ron Capps 2230
2 Mike Neff 2157
3 Jack Beckman 2152
4 Robert Hight 2113
5 Cruz Pedregon 2087
6 Johnny Gray 2081
7 Courtney Force 2074
8 John Force 2072
9 Jeff Arend 2064
9 Tim Wilkerson 2064
11 Matt Hagan 885
12 Bob Tasca III 833
13 Alexis De Joria 687
14 Tony Pedregon 524
15 Bob Bode 388
Pro Stock
Pos. Driver Points

1 Allen Johnson 2209
2 Jason Line 2206
3 Vincent Nobile 2138
4 Greg Anderson 2107
5 Mike Edwards 2094
5 Erica Enders 2094
7 Ron Krisher 2063
8 Larry Morgan 2062
9 V. Gaines 2052
10 Jeg Coughlin 2031
11 Shane Gray 684
12 Ronnie Humphrey 625
13 Rodger Brogdon 575
14 Kurt Johnson 544
15 Warren Johnson 491
Pro Stock Motorcycle
Pos. Driver Points

1 Ed Krawiec 2215
2 Andrew Hines 2205
3 Hector Arana Jr 2151
4 Hector Arana 2139
5 Scott Pollacheck 2092
6 Karen Stoffer 2083
7 Paul Ray Jr 2074
8 Shawn Gann 2062
9 Louis Tonglet 2061
10 Matt Smith 2054
Force, Hagan, Johnson, Arana Lead Indy Qualifying

by Pete McCole
Sunday, September 01, 2013


Matt Hagan
Rhonda McCole/
Matt Hagan turned in a record-breaking run to take the provisional pole in the Funny Car division on Saturday as the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series wrapped up the second round of qualifying for Monday’s 59th annual U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.

Brittany Force and Allen Johnson continued to hold the top spot in Top Fuel and Pro Stock, respectively, while Hector Arana moved atop the ladder in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

A torrential rain shower that passed over the track wiped out the earlier qualifying session, leaving just one session for the day under considerably cooler track conditions.

Hagan, the current Funny Car points leader, took to the track for his second round pass and turned in a low ET of 4.007 seconds at 319.22 mph – breaking the track ET and speed records and bumping Del Worsham to take over the top spot.

If Hagan can hold on to the qualifying lead through Sunday’s final two rounds, it will be his second-career no. 1 qualifier mark at Indy.

“It was an incredible run and it was an awesome deal to be able to do that at Indy,” Hagan said. “It was worth the wait for us. It’s just been a phenomenal year and it was cool to see the fans so pumped after that. My team does an amazing job and I’m so glad we could set the track record here.”

Johnny Gray put up a run of 4.012 at 312.13 mph to take the second position, while Worsham held onto third with a 4.045 at 313.15 mph. Bob Tasca III, who was quickest in Friday’s session, fell to fourth with a pass of 4.046, 313.88. Ron Capps (4.049, 315.27) rounded out the top five.

Brittany Force
Rhonda McCole/
Brittany Force continued to lead the Top Fuel bracket as no one was able to top her time of 3.820 seconds from Friday’s session. Doug Kalitta was fastest in Saturday’s session and the only driver in the top five to improve his position, going 3.829 at 320.81 mph to take the second spot over Spencer Massey, who stood third with a 3.837, 316.38. Tommy Johnson, Jr. (3.845, 319.22) and Bob Vandergriff (3.848, 304.39) made up the rest of the top five.

The story was the same in the Pro Stock division as the top five qualifiers remained unchanged with defending series champion Allen Johnson still holding the top spot following his run of 6.661 seconds at 207.02 mph on Friday. Shane Gray (6.665, 207.78) was second, followed by Mike Edwards (6.669, 206.70), Greg Anderson (6.675, 206.80) and V. Gaines (6.676, 207.98).

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Hector Arana was the first driver to eclipse the six-second mark, posting a low ET of 6.968 at 192.96 mph to take the provisional pole away from Matt Smith, who couldn’t improve on his 7.010, 192.00 from Friday. Steve Johnson (7.017, 190.65) fell to third, while Shawn Gann (7.020, 189.71) jumped from tenth to fourth, knocking John Hall (7.022, 189.79) to fifth.

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article