for your iPhone
for your iPad

NHRA Links
 2018 Schedule 
2018 Results  

NHRA Point Standings
Through Las Vegas

Pos Driver Points
1 Steve Torrence 2718
2 Clay Millican 2487
3 Tony Schumacher 2454
4 Leah Pritchett 2394
5 Brittany Force 2302
6 Antron Brown 2291
7 Mike Salinas 2259
8 Doug Kalitta 2259
9 Terry McMillen 2253
10 Scott Palmer 2182

1 JR Todd 2553
2 Robert Hight 2479
3 Ron Capps 2388
4 Tim Wilkerson 2367
5 Tommy Johnson 2362
6 Courtney Force 2324
7 Matt Hagan 2321
8 Jack Beckman 2283
9 John Force 2277
10 Shawn Langdon 2204

1 Tanner Gray 2583
2 Jeg Coughlin 2443
3 Erica Enders 2434
4 Drew Skillman 2413
5 Vincent Nobile 2404
6 Jason Line 2350
7 Greg Anderson 2334
8 Bo Butner 2300
9 Deric Kramer 2220
10 Chris McGaha 2135

1 Matt Smith 2479
2 Eddie Krawiec 2475
3 LE Tonglet 2418
4 Hector Arana Jr. 2415
5 Jerry Savoie 2378
6 Andrew Hines 2366
7 Angelle Sampey 2268
8 Angie Smith 2255
9 Steve Johnson 2242
10 Scotty Pollacheck 2209
Brown, Hagan, Edwards, Arana No.1 Qualifiers at Indy

by Pete McCole
Monday, September 2, 2013


Antron Brown
Rhonda McCole/
Antron Brown (Top Fuel), Matt Hagan (Funny Car), Mike Edwards (Pro Stock) and Hector Arana (Pro Stock Motorcycle) all claimed the no. 1 qualifier position in their respective classes in Sunday final round of qualifying for Monday’s 59th annual U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis as the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series enters its final weekend before the Countdown to the Championship.

Top Fuel points leader Shawn Langdon and defending Funny Car Champion Jack Beckman raced to victory in the Traxxas Nitro Shootout to collect the $100,000 top prize in the non-points “race within a race” that pits the first seven winners from this season’s NHRA events, along with a driver voted in by the fans to complete the eight-car field in each division.

Langdon knocked teammate Antron Brown to reach the championship round, topping Steve Torrence in the final round, running a 3.821 at 320.05 mph over Torrance’s time of 3.828 seconds at 323.04 mph.

“This was eight of the best cars battling it out for $100,000 and to win it here at Indy, it’s just a great feeling,” Langdon said. “The only way you could top this is to win (Monday) and then win a world championship. The team is working hard, having a good team and the car is running excellent, so it’s all good vibes right now.”

Beckman earned every penny of his $100,000 prize, winning the final round in spectacular fashion after his engine let go at the finish line, blowing the body off his Dodge Charger as he defeated Cruz Pedregon in a holeshot victory, going 4.086 at 310.77 mph over Pedregon’s quicker run of 4.066, 308.35.

“We’re the only car with the chance of doubling up at Indy and you have to like that,” said Beckman, who was uninjured in the incident. “It’s a fairly surreal experience and the fact that we haven’t won anything this year makes it that much bigger. This just feels fantastic and truly is amazing. It’s one of those events that years from now you will always remember.”

In Sunday’s qualifying, Brown went from last to first – climbing from 16th to first in the final round - running a 3.811 at 320.58 mph to post his 34th-career top qualifier and second of the season for the 2011 Top Fuel winner of this event.

“It was a struggle for everybody on our team and we really had nothing to lose going into that run,” said Brown, who will face Morgan Lucas in the opening round on Monday. “We weren’t scared, we got after it and we stepped up to the plate. This class has some big-name players and you can’t be afraid to go after things. We had been tip-toeing it and you can’t do that. Racing Morgan in the first round is like a final round matchup and we have to be ready and prepared to get the job done.”

Not to be outdone by his teammate, Tony Schumacher made the biggest jump of the weekend, going from not making the field all the way up to top qualifier after running a 3.814 at 319.82 mph in the final round before Brown knocked him down to second place. Steve Torrence, who held the no. 1 spot after running 3.815, 325.61 in Sunday’s opening round, was unable to improve his time in the final session and will start third.

Brittany Force, who led the first two rounds of qualifying, held onto fourth with a 3.820, 313.44. Langdon rounded out the top five, standing on his time of 3.821, 322.34.

Matt Hagan
Rhonda McCole/
Funny Car points leader Matt Hagan held onto his top qualifier spot from Saturday as no one was better his record-breaking run of 4.007 seconds at 319.22 mph, earning him his fourth no. 1 qualifier of the season and 14th of his career and locking him in to the top seed in the Countdown to the Championship.

The top five remained unchanged with Johnny Gray (4.012, 312.13) holding second, followed by Del Worsham(4.045, 313.15), Bob Tasca III (4.046, 313.88), Ron Capps (4.049, 315.27).

Jeff Arend, still nursing a foot injury suffered two weeks ago, took the bump spot to face Hagan in the opening round.

Mike Edwards
Rhonda McCole/
In Pro Stock, Mike Edwards took the track as the last qualifier in Sunday’s opening round and blasted to the head of the field with a run of 6.621 seconds at 208.20 mph to reach the no. 1 qualifier position for the 13th time this season and 54th of his career. He will face Chris McGaha in the opening round on Monday.

V. Gaines (6.637, 208.59), Jeg Coughlin (6.637, 206.99), Greg Anderson (6.640, 208.10) and Rickie Jones (6.644, 207.85) rounded out the top five.

After being bumped out of the top spot in the Pro Stock Motorcycle ladder in Sunday’s opening round, Hector Arana roared back and re-claimed the pole with a quick pass of 6.938 second at 193.88 mph, knocking Eddie Krawiec to second place.

Krawiec (6.948, 190.89) held onto second, followed by LE Tonglet (6.966, 191.38), Scotty Pollacheck (6.970, 191.43) and Jerry Savoie (6.980, 191.70)

Adam Arana took the bump spot and will face his father Hector in the first round on eliminations on Monday.

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article