for your iPhone
for your iPad

IndyCar Links

2016 Teams

2016 Schedule

2016 IC Rule Book

2015 IC Engine Rules

2015 IC Aero Rules

2014 Indy Lights Rules

2014 Pro Mazda Rules

2014 USF2000 Rules

2014 Drug Policy

2014 Scanner Freq

Race Car Comparison

Lap Time Comparison

History CART/IRL Split

2016 Standings
After Pocono
Rank Driver Points

1 Pagenaud, Simon 497
2 Power, Will 477
3 Newgarden, Josef 397
4 Dixon, Scott 386
5 Castroneves, Helio 384
6 Kanaan, Tony 380
7 Munoz, Carlos 354
8 Hinchcliffe, James 349
9 Rahal, Graham 343
10 Kimball, Charlie 333
11 Hunter-Reay, Ryan 330
12 Rossi, Alexander (R) 327
13 Montoya, Juan Pablo 323
14 Bourdais, Sebastien 314
15 Aleshin, Mikhail 287
16 Sato, Takuma 265
17 Andretti, Marco 255
18 Daly, Conor (R) 254
19 Chilton, Max (R) 204
20 Hawksworth, Jack 178
21 Pigot, Spencer (R) 134
22 Chaves, Gabby 105
23 Hildebrand, JR 84
24 Servia, Oriol 72
25 Filippi, Luca 61
26 Bell, Townsend 55
27 Carpenter, Ed 54
28 Mann, Pippa 46
29 Brabham, Matt (R) 37
30 Tagliani, Alex 35
31 Karam, Sage 22
32 Clauson, Bryan 21
33 Wilson, Stefan (R) 14
34 Lazier, Buddy 12
35 Enerson, RC (R) 11

Chevy 1352
Honda 1313
Sato wins pole for race 2 in Detroit

by Brian Carroccio
Sunday, June 1, 2014


Team owner AJ Foyt (L) and Takuma Sato celebrate their pole for race #2 later today
Chris Jones/IndyCar
Takuma Sato has won pole for today's Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit race 2. With a lap of 1:16.1371, the driver of #14 ABC Supply Honda scored his second pole position of 2014.

Andretti Autosport's James Hinchcliffe will start on the outside of the front row. The second-place qualifying position, is the fifth such effort for the driver of the #27 United Fiber and Data Honda this season, and ninth of his career. Hinchcliffe has never won a Verizon IndyCar Pole award.

Yesterday's pole winner Helio Castroneves was the highest placing Chevrolet in third position. Mike Conway will start fourth, with Ryan Briscoe fifth. zzzz

"I'm extremely pleased for the ABC Supply team," said Sato. "Yesterday's race was tough with the gearbox problem, but we used the race as a test session and we learned a lot. We found something that we needed to solve and the team and our engineers did a great job getting everything together.

"I knew the track was really good from watching the first group. I wasn’t sure I could do it, but when I had two laps to go I felt confident that the car worked really well and the last lap the car turned right. I just had to make sure that I didn’t make a mistake as I was committed 100 percent of the time. That’s a really great moment for qualifying."

With just one 12-minute session for each of the two groups of 11 drivers, the qualifying was an all or nothing effort. For the ABC Supply team in the second group, Sato drove the ultimate lap posting a time of 1 minute, 16.1371 seconds (111.115mph), which was nearly a quarter of a second quicker than outside pole winner James Hinchcliffe, who was the quickest in the first group of qualifiers. The groups line up with the group earning the pole occupying the odd-numbered positions and the other group the even-numbered positions.

Helio Castroneves began his celebration of nipping James Hinchcliffe for the pole several seconds too early as Sato had yet to cross the line. Elation turned into dejection as he realized he would be starting third instead of first.


Pos Car Driver Hometown Car Name Engine Entrant Time Speed
1 14 Takuma Sato Tokyo, Japan ABC Supply Co./A.J. Foyt Racing Honda A.J. Foyt Racing 01:16.1371 111.115
2 27 James Hinchcliffe Toronto United Fiber & Data Honda Andretti Autosport 01:16.3739 110.771
3 3 Helio Castroneves Sao Paulo, Brazil Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet Team Penske 01:16.3624 110.788
4 20 Mike Conway Bromley, England Fuzzy's Vodka/Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet Ed Carpenter Racing 01:16.8580 110.073
5 8 Ryan Briscoe Sydney, Australia NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing 01:16.5382 110.533
6 34 Carlos Munoz (R) Bogota, Colombia Cinsay HVM Honda Andretti HVM 01:16.9340 109.964
7 77 Simon Pagenaud Montmorillon, France Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Mtrsprts 01:16.8539 110.079
8 12 Will Power Toowoomba, Australia Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet Team Penske 01:17.0297 109.828
9 17 Sebastian Saavedra Bogota, Colombia AFS KV AFS Racing Chevrolet KV AFS Racing 01:17.0688 109.772
10 67 Josef Newgarden Hendersonville, Tenn. Hartman Oil/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing 01:17.1310 109.684
11 11 Sebastien Bourdais Le Mans, France Mistic KVSH Racing Chevrolet KVSH Racing 01:17.1155 109.706
12 18 Carlos Huertas (R) Bogota, Colombia Dale Coyne Racing Honda Dale Coyne Racing 01:17.4651 109.210
13 19 Justin Wilson Sheffield, England Dale Coyne Racing Honda Dale Coyne Racing 01:17.1660 109.634
14 15 Graham Rahal New Albany, Ohio National Guard Honda Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 01:17.5948 109.028
15 2 Juan Pablo Montoya Bogota, Colombia Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet Penske Motorsports 01:17.2979 109.447
16 7 Mikhail Aleshin (R) Moscow SMP Racing Honda Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 01:18.1119 108.306
17 10 Tony Kanaan Salvador, Brazil Energizer Chevrolet Target Chip Ganassi Racing 01:17.3386 109.389
18 25 Marco Andretti Nazareth, Pa. Snapple Honda Andretti Autosport 01:18.1820 108.209
19 98 Jack Hawksworth (R) Bradford, England Integrity Energee Drink Honda BHA/BBM with Curb Agajanian 01:17.4172 109.278
20 83 Charlie Kimball Camarillo, Calif. Novo Nordisk Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Novo Nordisk Ganassi Racing 01:18.1871 108.202
21 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Fort Lauderdale, Fla. DHL Honda Andretti Autosport No Time No S
22 9 Scott Dixon Auckland, New Zealand Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Target Chip Ganassi Racing 01:19.4557 106.474

Feedback can be sent to

Go to our forums to discuss this article