Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Raikkonen elected 'driver of the year'
F1 Racing magazine has revealed the winners of the 2005 Man of the Year Awards, an awards list which honors the F1 teams and drivers. This year more than 43,000 people voted for their favorites to win in the 14 categories, the highest number of votes ever. Team McLaren Mercedes won six awards in total, more than any other team.

Kimi won two awards, including 'The Drive of the Year' for his performance in Monaco. F1 Racing said: “No drive in 2005 better combined steely strategic nous and outrageous talent than Kimi's victory in Monaco.”

Kimi also won the 'Driver of the Year Award' to which Kimi commented: “It's always nice to be appreciated, so I want to say thank you to the readers of F1 Racing for voting for me. It goes without saying that driver of the year is a great award for any driver to win.”

Juan Pablo won the award for the 'Overtaking Maneuver of the Year' for his pass around Renault's Fernando Alonso at Silverstone for the British Grand Prix. F1 described it as “Nerveless and Gritty” and went on to say that “Juan Pablo comes second to no one when two drivers come eyeball to eyeball.”

The MP4-20 won 'Car of the Year' with 41.3% of the votes. Ron Dennis said: “I have little to do with how our cars are designed and prepared, so this is very much a team award. The guy's efforts have been fantastic all year and I'm very proud to accept this award of their behalf.”

F1 called the car “an all time great.”

Pedro de la Rosa, one of the team’s test drivers, won the Friday Driver of the Year. F1 said he “drove out of his skin in 2005, in testing and when he got the chance to race.” McLaren Mercedes

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review