Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
McLaughlin/Coulthard front row lockout at AGP
Penske Mustangs lock out front row in Melbourne
Penske Mustangs lock out front row in Melbourne for 1st weekend race

Scott the unstoppable has continued his golden run with a scorching lap record and two front row starts to put the Mustang on top in the Beaurepaires Melbourne 400.

With two qualifying sessions setting the grid for the first two of four races this weekend McLaughlin and the Mustangs were on top in both with Jamie Whincup a lone soldier for Holden, with third in the last session.

McLaughlin secured both ARMOR ALL Pole Positions, the first a lap record which beat the previous mark held by his Shell V-Power team-mate Fabian Coulthard in 2017.

He took that run ahead of Coulthard and another Mustang runner in Cameron Waters while in the last session he was ahead of Chaz Mostert and Whincup.

It was a dominant performance from the new Ford following McLaughlin’s sweep of the Superloop Adelaide 500 a fortnight ago.

“The driver needs a big tune-up after that second lap, I just made a mistake,” McLaughlin said, with his effort in second qualifying nearly half-a-second slower than his time in the earlier session.

“It wasn’t my best lap by any means. I had a really good first sector and half a good second sector, I was lucky to hold on in that last sector.

“The car is good, it was awesome, the 53.8 (from first qualifying) was amazing. I’m stoked for everyone at Shell V-Power Racing and Ford Performance.”

Double pole for McLaughlin. Since Penske people are tweaking the team's engines they are quick
Double pole for McLaughlin. Since Penske people are tweaking the team's engines they are quick
Mostert made up for an inconsistent weekend in Adelaide where he had a lightning fast car but mistakes and an unfortunate pit lane mix up cost him.

“It’s a credit to the team, they’ve given us pretty fast cars,” Mostert said.

“They’ve worked really hard on the cars and the faults they had last year and there’s a few things we need to fix as well but over all we’ve improved the package, more so underneath the skin."

In first qualifying and after a low-key run through practice, Shane van Gisbergen was fifth in his Red Bull Holden Racing Team Commodore, two spots ahead of Whincup.

Tim Slade split them in sixth with the second Brad Jones Racing Commodore of Nick Percat eighth.

James Courtney and Mark Winterbottom rounded out the top 10, while Anton De Pasquale was the best of the Penrite Racing Holdens in 11th.

In the second run of the day Mostert and Whincup were followed in the order by Waters, Coulthard and Will Davison, making it five Mustangs in the top six.

Penrite Racing pair David Reynolds and Anton De Pasquale took seventh and eighth, from Tim Slade and Mark Winterbottom, with Shane van Gisbergen 11th.

Race 3 Lineup

117McLaughlinShell V-Power Racing Team1:53.828+0.0002
212CoulthardShell V-Power Racing Team1:54.189+0.3612
36C. WatersTickford Racing1:54.403+0.5752
423DavisonMonster Energy Racing1:54.522+0.6942
597Van GisbergenRed Bull Holden Racing Australia1:54.543+0.7152
614SladeBrad Jones Racing1:54.626+0.7982
788WhincupRed Bull Holden Racing Australia1:54.635+0.8072
88PercatBrad Jones Racing1:54.650+0.8222
922CourtneyMobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing1:54.792+0.9642
1018WinterbottomPreston Hire Racing1:54.892+1.0642
1199A. de PasqualeErebus Motorsport1:54.916+1.0882
125HoldsworthThe Bottle-O Racing Team1:54.976+1.1482
139ReynoldsErebus Motorsport1:55.036+1.2082
142S. PyeMobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing1:55.190+1.3622
157HeimgartnerNissan Motorsport1:55.196+1.3682
1634J. GoldingWilson Security Racing GRM1:55.256+1.4282
1715R. KellyNissan Motorsport1:55.276+1.4482
1833R. StanawayWilson Security Racing GRM1:55.524+1.6962
1935T. HazelwoodBigmate Racing1:55.645+1.8172
2078S. De SilvestroNissan Nismo1:55.682+1.8542
213G. JacobsonNissan Nismo1:55.742+1.9142
2255MostertSupercheap Auto Racing1:56.085+2.2574
2319J. Le BrocqTEKNO Woodstock Racing1:56.729+2.9012
2421M. JonesCoolDrive Racing1:56.951+3.1234

Race 4 Lineup

117McLaughlinShell V-Power Racing Team1:54.264+0.0002
255MostertSupercheap Auto Racing1:54.277+0.0132
388WhincupRed Bull Holden Racing Australia1:54.343+0.0792
46C. WatersTickford Racing1:54.491+0.2272
512CoulthardShell V-Power Racing Team1:54.507+0.2425
623DavisonMonster Energy Racing1:54.516+0.2522
79ReynoldsErebus Motorsport1:54.634+0.3692
899A. de PasqualeErebus Motorsport1:54.667+0.4022
914SladeBrad Jones Racing1:54.682+0.4182
1018WinterbottomPreston Hire Racing1:54.694+0.4302
1197Van GisbergenRed Bull Holden Racing Australia1:54.834+0.5692
125HoldsworthThe Bottle-O Racing Team1:54.911+0.6462
1322CourtneyMobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing1:54.971+0.7072
148PercatBrad Jones Racing1:54.985+0.7214
1515R. KellyNissan Motorsport1:55.048+0.7842
162S. PyeMobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing1:55.208+0.9434
177HeimgartnerNissan Motorsport1:55.351+1.0872
1834J. GoldingWilson Security Racing GRM1:55.476+1.2122
1935T. HazelwoodBigmate Racing1:55.588+1.3242
2033R. StanawayWilson Security Racing GRM1:55.597+1.3322
2178S. De SilvestroNissan Nismo1:55.847+1.5832
223G. JacobsonNissan Nismo1:55.971+1.7073
2319J. Le BrocqTEKNO Woodstock Racing1:56.128+1.8642
2421M. JonesCoolDrive Racing1:56.541+2.2762
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review