Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Dakar Stage 8 cancelled for Bikes to honor dead rider
Paulo Goncalves
Paulo Goncalves

After the accident yesterday which claimed the life of motorcycle rider Paulo Goncalves, today’s stage, the eighth of the Dakar Rally 2020, has been cancelled in the motorcycle category out of respect for the mourning of family and friends in the bivouac.

An on-track accident at kilometer 276 in the seventh stage of the Dakar Rally 2020 took the life of Portuguese rider Paulo Goncalves (5/2/1979).

Paulo Goncalves was a rider with Honda HRC, Monster Energy Honda Team from mid-2013 until mid-2019. During those six season the spirited Portuguese rider won over the hearts of, not only the entire team, but also all the companions in the bivouac.

Paulo won three Dakar Rally stages with Honda and claimed the runner-up spot in the 2015 edition. Previously after various victories in the 2013 world championship, Paulo clinched the title of FIM Cross-Country Rallies world champion in an epic triumph in Morocco. In 2014 he took the runner-up prize was third in the world championship in 2015 and 2017.

Yoshishige Nomura, HRC President

I am shocked, and deeply saddened at the news of Paulo Goncalves passing away. Paulo joined the during 2013 season, the year that Honda returned to the Dakar, and played an invaluable role in enhancing the racing bike's competitiveness. His friendly, jolly personality made him a driving force for the team, and charmed motorsports fans worldwide. HRC appreciates Paulo's tremendous achievements and his immeasurable contribution as a Honda rider, and expresses its deepest condolences to his family and friends.

Rider Standings

Provisional Top-10 Standings after Stage 7


1Brabec Ricky9USAMonster Energy Honda TeamHonda28:25m01s
2Quintanilla Pablo5CHIHusqvarna Factory Rally TeamHusqvarna+24m48s
3Cornejo Jose Ignacio17CHIMonster Energy Honda TeamHonda+27m01s
4Price Toby1AUSKTM Factory Racing TeamKTM+28m44s
5Barreda Joan12SPAMonster Energy Honda TeamHonda+29m39s
6Walkner Matthias2AUTKTM Factory Racing TeamKTM+33m04s
7Benavides Luciano16ARGKTM Factory Racing TeamKTM+38m58s
8Howes Skyler59USAKlymciw RacingKTM+01h15m02s
9Caimi Franco22ARGYamalube Yamaha Official Rally TeamYamaha+01h15m31s
10Svitko Stefan19SLOSlovnaft TeamKTM+01h19m41s


Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review