Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
SCCA honors its own at annual convention
Sports Car Club of America members gathered last weekend in San Antonio, Texas for the first time in the Club’s 63-year history for its annual meeting, Convention, awards and Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

In Saturday night’s gala awards ceremony concluding the three-day event, emcee Peter Hylton (Indianapolis Region) was presented the Woolf Barnato Award—the Club’s highest honor for long-time service to the Club. A surprised Hylton, who spent the previous three days entertaining the masses, was nearly caught speechless. He recovered, however, remembering the words of the late John McGee, who would close all correspondence with “Yours, for the sport.” Hylton served on SCCA’s Board of Directors (and remains the youngest-ever member elected) and has been its volunteer archivist since 1996.

Also presented Saturday were the highest honors in Club Racing, Solo and Rally.

Spec Racer Ford National Champion Mike Miserendino (Cal Club Region) accepted the President’s Cup for outstanding Club Racing driver at the National Championship Runoffs, giving a moving acceptance speech, crediting a notion introduced to him at a young age by his parents that effort brings success for his accomplishments.

Paula Baker (Utah Region) was the emotional recipient of the Solo Cup, admitting to a group of nearly 400 that “microphones make me cry.”

Jeanne English (Cal Club Region) was presented with the Robert Ridges Award (top RoadRally honor) and Jim Rogaski (San Francisco Region) was presented the John McGill Award (top Club Racing non competition honor).

In addition to the annual awards, the third class of the SCCA Hall of Fame was inducted, including living legends Marge Binks (Cal Club and San Diego Regions), Marc Gerstein (Philadelphia Region) and Carl Haas (Chicago Region), as well as the posthumous inductions of Theodore “Ted” Robertson and General Curtis LeMay.

The Convention was not simply about honors though, as the Club held its annual meeting Thursday, including the popular Town Hall open discussion with the Club’s Board of Directors. More than 425 members attended the Convention, which ran from Thursday through Saturday and included dozens of seminars on Club-related activities.

“The amount of energy and enthusiasm for the Club by those attending the Convention was astounding,” SCCA President and CEO Jim Julow said. “While it was only my second SCCA Convention experience, the consensus from the attendees was that it was excellent on all accounts—from the accommodations, to the Club Business and, of course, the social functions.”

Members will be able to access convention materials through the SCCA Web site later this week. An announcement will be made on scca.com when materials are available.

2006 Awards Presented at the SCCA National Convention, Feb. 1-3, 2007

Woolf Barnato Award – Peter Hylton
Hall of Fame Inductees – Marge Binks, Mark Gerstein, Carl Haas, Curtis LeMay, Ted Robertson
Board of Directors Special Recognition Award – JoAnne Jensen for GCR redesign

Club Racing
President’s Cup – Mike Miserendino
John McGill Award – Jim Rogaski
David Morrell Award – Mike West
Martin Tanner Award – Arizona Emergency Services Team
Kimberly Cup – Bryan Golay
Mark Donohue Award – Jesse Prather
Jim Fitzgerald Rookie of the Year Award – Andrew Caddell

Regional Achievement – Oregon Region
Divisional Achievement – Southeast Division

Robert Ridges Award – Jeanne English
Arthur Gervais Award – Old Dominion Region, Old Dominion Rally 1
Norm Hill Award – Arizona Border Region, Great Canyon Rally
Regional Achievement – Arctic Alaska Region
Divisional Achievement – Northeast Division
Manufacturer of the Year – Subaru

Solo Cup – Paula Baker
ProSolo JCJ Cup – Andy Hollis
Johnson Spirit of the Sport – Team Underdog (Heyward Wagner accepting)
Rookie of the Year – Bryan Heitkotter
Driver of the Year – Kevin Wentzel
Driver of Eminence – Tommy Saunders
Divisional of the Year – Finger Lakes Region/Western New York Region

Region Communications
Honorable mention – Florida and Reno
3rd  -  Oregon Region
2nd – Indianapolis Region
1st – Wichita

Tom Burke (for Outstanding Membership Recruiting)
Small Regions – River Cities
Medium -     Utah
Medium Large – Glen
Large – St. Louis
Jumbo – Central Florida

Region Achievement
Small Regions – Big Island of Hawaii
Medium – Blue Mountain
Medium Large – Kansas City
Large – Philadelphia
Jumbo – Washington DC

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review