Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Haas to receive award
INDIANAPOLIS -- Carl A. Haas, one of the most successful team owners and businessmen in motorsports history, has been chosen by the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association to receive its Pioneer In Racing Award. Haas will accept at the 38th All-America Team dinner, Saturday, January 12, at the Indianapolis Hyatt. 

The Piotigious honors from AARWBA, the country’s oldest and largest organization of motorsports media professionals. The award recognizes long-time dedication and achievement that have made a difference in the sport. Dan Gurney, Parnelli Jones, Andy Granatelli, Kenny Bernstein, the Agajanian family, Les Richter, Hershel McGriff  and Robert Falcon are among the previous recipients. 

While Haas spent his early years winning races behind the wheel of various sports cars, he attained legendary status as a team owner, with 15 major championships. His All-Star roster of drivers has included Mario, Michael and John Andretti, Nigel Mansell, Jackie Stewart, Paul Tracy, Cristiano da Matta, Alan Jones, Brian Redman, Jackie Ickx, Peter Revson, David Hobbs, Patrick Tambay, Masten Gregory, Chuck Parsons and Skip Scott. This season, Sebastien Bourdais and Graham Rahal drive for him in the Champ Car series. Haas entries, co-owned by Paul Newman, have won seven CART/Champ Car titles, including the last three. Haas teams also won three SCCA Formula 5000 championships, four in Can-Am, and another in Super Vee. He’s also campaigned cars in Formula One and the NASCAR Nextel Cup and Busch Series. Haas, along with Champ Car partners Newman and Michael Lanigan, recently announced a new partnership with Robert Yates Racing for NASCAR competition.  

As a racing entrepreneur, Haas also has set a standard. His major sponsors have included blue-chip companies such as McDonald’s, Budweiser, Kmart, Havoline, Beatrice and Citicorp. He’s excelled as a racing car and parts importer and distributor. On an executive level, he’s a former SCCA chairman, CART and Road America director, and promoter at Milwaukee and Houston.  Haas has been inducted into the SCCA Hall of Fame. 

"I'm honored to be recognized by AARWBA as a Pioneer In Racing,” said Haas. “They have had the opportunity to cover the sport and have come to know many people who have made an impact on auto racing both on track and off.  I am proud that they feel I have made a contribution.  My enthusiasm for racing grew from the first time I was exposed to it as a driver and I have enjoyed being involved as a competitor, team owner, advisor, promoter, and racing car and parts importer and distributor.  It was never a job; it has always been a passion." 

The All-America Team ceremony will honor 2007’s top drivers from all forms of motorsports. Categories include stock cars, open-wheel, drag racing, road racing, short track, touring series and at-large categories. It is one of the few such dinners open to the public.
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review