Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Tryson Wins Crew Chief of the Race
With the extended two day rain delay for the running of the 3M Performance 400 at Michigan International Speedway, crew chiefs were required to wait patiently, recalculating and planning their strategies for the all important 400 mile race.  For the No. 2 MillerLite Dodge crew chief, Pat Tryson, it was more than planning for the possibility of a rain affected shortened race, varying track conditions or a complete 200-lap event.  Tryson needed to plan a race strategy, as well as, a points strategy, as his Penske Racing team sat 12th in the points standings, just inside the cut-off for the chase.  His various strategies paid off, as a call to his driver, Kurt Busch, on lap 177 during the second last caution of the race to stay out and not pit, maintained his leader’s position, keeping Busch up front for the remainder of the race.  For his calculated race strategy and race day calls, Tryson was awarded the WYPALL* Wipers Crew Chief of the Race.
Starting from 15th position, Tryson and Busch combined to have their Dodge in the top ten early in the race.  On lap 102, Busch had made his way to the front, earning the valuable five bonus points for leading a lap.  As the race unfolded, it became obvious that Tryson had given Busch a car deemed the one to beat, as no other in the field could catch the Dodge.  As Busch crossed the finish line to take the checkered flag, the team not only finished with the five bonus points for leading a lap, but also five bonus points for leading the most laps in the race.  Tryson’s decision to keep his driver on the track to maintain solid track position, which eventually led to winning the race, solidified their top 12 position in the standings. 
“We hoped the tires would hold up at the end there,” commented Tryson on the race.  “I knew the No. 1 also stayed out and was on old tires so I was confident he [Busch] would hold them off.  I can’t say enough about the No. 2 MillerLite team.  I’m really looking forward to the rest of the year.”
A panel of voters, including a member of the local media, Kenny Francis, Tony Eury Jr., Robbie Reiser and a WYPALL* Wipers representative, were unanimous in selecting Tryson as the WYPALL* Wipers Crew Chief of the Race.  “Pat has done an awesome job since joining up with the No.2 team back in June,” said Eury Jr.  “This team has definitely turned it up a notch and are going to be tough to handle.”
As the WYPALL* Wipers Crew Chief of the Race, Tryson received $1,000. Earning his first crew chief of the race award puts Tryson third in the overall standings.  Mike Ford and Robbie Reiser are currently tied for first, while Tony Eury Jr., Larry Carter, Donnie Wingo, and Chad Knaus are all tied for second, with two wins.  Pat Tryson, Jimmy Elledge, Tony Gibson, Steve Letarte, Mike Nelson, Darian Grubb, Alan Gustafson, Chip Bolin and Ryan Pemberton each have one win. At the end of the season, the crew chief with the most wins will receive $20,000 and be crowned WYPALL* Wipers Crew Chief of the Year.
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review