Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Rocketsports and RuSPORT to continue apart - sort of
For the 2007 Champ Car season, two winning teams, Rocketsports and RuSPORT, combined their efforts to campaign Alex Tagliani in the #8 Rocketsports Cosworth/DP01/Bridgestone and Justin Wilson in the #9 CDW Cosworth/DP01/Bridgestone. After running for half of the season under the banner name of RSPORTS, the two teams have decided to enhance their marketing effort by re-establishing their original team names.  Both teams believe there is more image value in their historically branded names.
Rocketsports Racing is a company that has been in existence for 27 years, in which five of those seasons have been invested in the Champ Car World Series. To not have the Rocketsports name in existence this season, will neglect it from the opportunity to continue its branding history. The same goes for the RuSPORT team, now under the ownership of Dan Pettit, which has established its name in the Champ Car Atlantic Championship before making the move up to Champ Car four years ago.
The two teams found it necessary to use their old names for strictly business reasons. Sponsor opportunities that were being worked on for a long time require the use of the well-established team names.
The teams will continue to work very closely together and continue to enjoy the benefits of their joint relationship for the remainder of the 2007 Champ Car season.
To be credited from this point on, the #8 Champ Car entry driven by Tagliani will return to running under the Rocketsports name, while the #9 CDW entry driven by Wilson will run under the RuSPORT name.  Rocketsports PR
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review