Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Stoner takes 8th win of 2007
The Misano MotoGP visit ended with Ducati Marlboro’s Casey Stoner extending his World Championship advantage to 85 points with a plus four second victory at the Gran Premio Cinzano di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini.

The return of racing to Italy’s Adriatic coast saw the unstoppable Aussie secure maximum points for the eighth time this year, controlling the race from pole, while his closest title rival Valentino Rossi disappointingly retired early on with engine problems after starting second on the grid.

It was also another fantastic day for the ever improving Rizla Suzuki team as they filled the other two podium spots – Chris Vermeulen in second place after starting on the third row, finishing 4.851s behind compatriot Stoner and 11 seconds ahead of team-mate John Hopkins.

There was frustration for Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa and Nicky Hayden on the very first lap, with Pedrosa’s race ended by Kawasaki’s Randy de Puniet as the pair collided and crashed out. Hayden had to steer round them onto the gravel run-off area and never recovered as he came home an unlucky 13th having started on the front row of the grid.

A brave ride from returning Honda Gresini rider Marco Melandri after a series of recent crashes, including a major accident on Saturday, saw him take fourth – while his fellow Italian Loris Capirossi (Ducati Marlboro) crossed the line fifth.

Another MotoGP veteran Carlos Checa (Honda LCR) finished ten seconds behind Capirossi in sixth, in front of compatriot Toni Elias (Honda Gresini) who continues his remarkable recovery from a broken femur.

 Rider                Team                                Time/Behind
1 Casey Stoner Ducati Marlboro Team 44m 34.720s
2 Chris Vermeulen Rizla Suzuki MotoGP + 4.851s
3 John Hopkins Rizla Suzuki MotoGP + 16.002s
4 Marco Melandri Honda Gresini  + 22.737s
5 Loris Capirossi Ducati Marlboro Team + 24.787s
6 Carlos Checa Honda LCR  + 34.986s
7 Toni Elias Honda Gresini  + 40.896s
8 Anthony West Kawasaki Racing Team + 41.774s
9 Colin Edwards Fiat Yamaha Team + 47.146s
10 Shinya Nakano Konica Minolta Honda + 48.808s
11 Alex Hofmann Pramac d'Antin  + 49.299s
12 Sylvain Guintoli Dunlop Yamaha Tech + 1'09.176s
13 Nicky Hayden Repsol Honda Team + 1'20.424s
14 Makoto Tamada Dunlop Yamaha Tech + 1'34.223s
15 Kurtis Roberts Team Roberts  + 1 lap
 Not classified 
 Alex Barros Pramac d'Antin  + 13 laps
 Valentino Rossi Fiat Yamaha Team + 23 laps
 first lap crash   
 Randy De Puniet Kawasaki Racing Team
 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review