Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Mortara wins wet first race in Spain
In pouring rain, Edoardo Mortara (Signature-Plus) came out on top. The Italian won the 15th season round of the Formula 3 Euro Series at the 2.977 kilometres long Circuit de Catalunya. Nico Hülkenberg (ASM Formule 3) and Romain Grosjean (ASM Formule 3) completed the podium. Sébastien Buemi (Mücke Motorsport), Grosjean’s fiercest rivals in the battle for the title in the world’s strongest junior racing series, failed to score points in the Barcelona region.

At the start, Hülkenberg took the lead. On lap eight, he locked up under braking and briefly came off the track. In the process, he lost two positions as Mortara and Dillmann wend past him. The German fought, overtook Dillmann on lap 17 and secured second place behind Mortara. For the Italian, it was already his second victory in the Euro Series after his success at Brands Hatch.

Grosjean crossed the finish line in third place, but he was given a one minute time penalty after the race because on the starting grid, the mechanics had been working on his car longer than admitted. He appealed against the decision, which has a delaying effect on the penalty. Thus, he was allowed to keep his third place for the time being. As a result, Grosjean extended his margin in the championship over Buemi to twelve points.

Edoardo Mortara (Signature-Plus): “I am very, very happy. My start was excellent and it was the key to this success. Bar a slight error early on, my race was flawless.”

Nico Hülkenberg (ASM Formule 3): “Up to lap eight, it was almost perfect. Then I made a mistake and lost the lead. Too bad, because I was quick enough to win the race.”

Romain Grosjean (ASM Formule 3): “I have driven a good race without any mistakes and I made it onto the podium after having started 14th. I am very happy.” 

Pos.  No.  Driver                Make                            Behind
1 24 Edoardo Mortara (R)  Dallara F305 Mercedes 0.000
2 19 Nico Hülkenberg  Dallara F305 Mercedes  01.208
3 2 Romain Grosjean  Dallara F305 Mercedes  04.994
4 20 Tom Dillmann (R)  Dallara F307 Mercedes  08.275
5 4 James Jakes  Dallara F305 Mercedes  12.912
6 3 Franck Mailleux (R)  Dallara F305 Mercedes  20.341
7 16 Renger van der Zande  Dallara F306 Mercedes  28.366
8 8 Edoardo Piscopo (R)  Dallara F305 Mercedes  29.690
9 26 Harald Schlegelmilch  Dallara F306 Mercedes  37.211
10 10 Yann Clairay (R)  Dallara F305 Mercedes  41.931
11 1 Kamui Kobayashi  Dallara F305 Mercedes  42.708
12 12 Tim Sandtler  Dallara F306 Mercedes  45.287
13 6 Filip Salaquarda  Dallara F306 Mercedes  48.900
14 23 Dani Clos (R)  Dallara F305 Mercedes  49.722
15 28 Marco Holzer (R)  Dallara F305 Volkswagen  57.439
16 21 Cyndie Allemann  Dallara F306 Mercedes  1:01.952
17 32 Jonathan Summerton  Dallara F306 Volkswagen  1:02.524
18 18 Michael Patrizi (R)  Dallara F306 Mercedes  1:17.471
19 5 Sergey Afanasiev (R)  Dallara F305 Mercedes  1:18.981
20 31 Maximilian Götz  Dallara F306 Volkswagen  6 laps
7 Sebastien Buemi  Dallara F305 Mercedes  13 laps
30 Basil Shaaban  Dallara F306 Mercedes  16 laps
27 Euan Hankey (R)  Dallara F305 Mercedes  23 laps
22 Yelmer Buurman  Dallara F305 Mercedes  28 laps
9 Jean Karl Vernay (R)  Dallara F306 Mercedes  29 laps

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review