Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
IRL announces new payout structure to teams UPDATE Statement from Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage on today’s announcement from officials from the Indy Racing League and Indianapolis Motor Speedway on the restructuring of earnings distribution for the 2008 IndyCar Series, including the Indianapolis 500. Texas Motor Speedway, which has played host to IndyCar Series races since the facility opened in 1997, will host the Bombardier Learjet 550k on June 7, 2008.

“If this program assures full Indy car fields for promoters and stability for the team owners, I think this move is a great concept for the health of the sport. I think all IndyCar fans want to see 30-car fields from a competition standpoint as do the promoters. The key to the success of this program, however, will be whether or not this reduces the incentive to battle for positions from race to race with most of the money already up front and the top five only being paid per race and year end in bonuses. I’m optimistic that the teams and drivers will continue to have the incentive to race hard every lap regardless of payout.”

10/02/07 The IndyCar® Series announced a restructuring of its earnings distribution designed to provide a financial foundation for new and existing teams committed to running the entire IndyCar Series schedule.

Beginning in 2008, the program, called IndyCar TEAM: Team Enhancement and Allocation Matrix, will award a minimum of $1.2 million to each car entered to compete the entire season, including the Indianapolis 500. By implementing IndyCar TEAM, the Indy Racing League will dissolve its existing event purse formula.

"Today's introduction of IndyCar TEAM is an expansion of the Series' Leader's Circle Program and further enhances the value of racing in the IndyCar Series for all of our team entrants," said Brian Barnhart, president of the competition and operations division of the Indy Racing League, sanctioning body for the IndyCar Series. "This is a baseline program designed to increase as the series grows and as we are successful in attracting sponsors and enhancing league revenues."

In conjunction with the announcement of the IndyCar TEAM program, officials with the Indianapolis Motor Speedway announced that the purse for the 92nd Indianapolis 500 will increase to at least $13.4 million, a 25 percent increase over the record $10.67 million purse for the 2007 race.

"As the Indianapolis 500 and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway approach some historic milestones in 2009 and 2011, it's only appropriate we strengthen the incentive to compete in 'The Greatest Spectacle in Racing,'" said Joie Chitwood, president and COO of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. "The new purse structure for the Indy 500 will help all entries earn more money than ever during the Month of May."

The winner of the 92nd Indianapolis 500 could receive at least $2.5 million, a 42 percent increase over the record winner's payout of $1.76 million awarded to Buddy Rice in 2004. The runner-up could earn at least $1.25 million, with the third-place finisher earning at least $750,000. Fourth- and fifth-place finishing cars will be guaranteed bonuses of $475,000 and $375,000, respectively.

The IndyCar Series champion will continue to receive a $1 million bonus, as in past seasons, with second through fifth place in the final point standings getting end-of-season bonuses of $250,000, $175,000, $125,000 and $75,000.

In addition to the guaranteed $1.2 million for participation in the series, teams will compete for bonuses of $35,000 for first place, $25,000 for second, $20,000 for third, $15,000 for fourth and $10,000 for fifth place at each IndyCar Series race outside of Indianapolis.

There also will be a record number of entries earning at least $1 million in an IndyCar Series season, creating greater depth and financial stability for series' teams.

"IndyCar TEAM really provides some tremendous stability and predictability for our existing teams with respect to their operating budgets, which will make them healthier while positioning us favorably for attracting more teams," said Terry Angstadt, president of the Indy Racing League's commercial division.

All contingency prizes, which totaled more than $1.2 million in 2007, will continue to be awarded to entrants/drivers for individual IndyCar Series events.

The Leader's Circle Program was established in 2002 to provide incentives to teams which participate in the series full time. The program leverages relationships built by the Indy Racing League with its partners, sponsors and suppliers to provide benefits directly to the teams.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review