Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Pedrosa dominates before home crowd

(L to R) Casey Stoner, Dani Pedrosa and John Hopkins

A first win on home soil for Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) in the premier class saw him snatch second place in the World Championship at the conclusion of his second MotoGP season, at the Gran Premio bwin.com de la Comunitat Valenciana, as Valentino Rossi (Fiat Yamaha) was unable to finish the race due to a technical problem.

A crowd of 130,000 Spaniards ecstatically cheered Pedrosa to the victory which saw him overcome a 24 point deficit to secure the 2007 MotoGP runner-up spot, behind World Champion Casey Stoner - who himself finished second in today's race by a 5.447s gap.

Although Pedrosa started on pole Stoner was in the lead in the early stages, but the Repsol Honda man fought back for victory over the young Aussie, while John Hopkins signed off from the Rizla Suzuki team by completing the podium before his move to Kawasaki.

Rossi, meanwhile, finishes third in the championship for the first time in his Grand Prix career as he was forced to retire on lap 20 due to problems with his bike, having bravely got up to 14th from 17th on the grid - despite riding with fractured bones in his right hand.

The top five was completed by Marco Melandri (Honda Gresini) and his Italian compatriot Loris Capirossi (Ducati Marlboro). Chris Vermeulen (Rizla Suzuki) was sixth, whilst Brazilian veteran Alex Barros (Pramac d’Antin) ended his MotoGP career in seventh.

The top ten was completed by Nicky Hayden (Repsol Honda), Randy de Puniet (Kawasaki Racing) and Toni Elias (Honda Gresini), whilst the Carlos Checa (Honda LCR) was 12th.



Rider Team Time/Behind
1 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 46m 43.533s
2 Casey Stoner Ducati Marlboro Team + 5.447s
3 John Hopkins Rizla Suzuki MotoGP + 20.404s
4 Marco Melandri Honda Gresini + 24.827s
5 Loris Capirossi Ducati Marlboro Team + 25.804s
6 Chris Vermeulen Rizla Suzuki MotoGP + 25.862s
7 Alex Barros Pramac d'Antin + 29.47s
8 Nicky Hayden Repsol Honda Team + 30.333s
9 Randy De Puniet Kawasaki Racing Team + 30.895s
10 Toni Elias Honda Gresini + 31.03s
11 Sylvain Guintoli Dunlop Yamaha Tech 3 + 38.763s
12 Carlos Checa Honda LCR + 42.506s
13 Colin Edwards Fiat Yamaha Team + 46.572s
14 Shinya Nakano Konica Minolta Honda + 50.22s
15 Makoto Tamada Dunlop Yamaha Tech 3 + 56.879s
16 Anthony West Kawasaki Racing Team + 1m 15.369s
Not classified
Valentino Rossi Fiat Yamaha Team + 11 laps
Kurtis Roberts Team Roberts + 20 laps

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review