Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Gordon’s team claims 2007 Pit Crew Title
Jeff Gordon’s No. 24 over-the-wall crew beat Mark Martin’s No. 01 crew in a tiebreaker to capture the 2007 Checkers®/Rally’s® Double Drive-Thru Challenge season championship.

Gordon’s and Martin’s pit crews ended the season tied for first with four wins a piece, but the tiebreaker went to Gordon’s team for having the highest finish in the Nextel Cup driver point standings.

Checkers/Rally’s will present Gordon’s crew a $111,150 bonus check for winning the season-long competition during Champions Week in New York City. Combined with its $11,000 winnings for each weekly each pit crew victory, the total prize money earned by Gordon’s crew in 2007 is $155,150.

"The No. 24 DuPont® pit crew did an amazing job all year," said crew chief Steve Letarte. "They were consistently fast and didn't miss a beat when changes were made to the lineup due to injuries. Aside from those listed, Mike Atwell did an incredible job changing rear tires in Kevin Gilman's absence for six or eight races. I'm glad this award recognizes their contribution to our season."

The No. 24 crew consists of: Jeff Cook (jackman), Mike “Tiny” Houston (front-tire carrier), Clay Robinson (front-tire changer), Jeff Knight (rear-tire carrier), Kevin Gilman (rear-tire changer), Caleb Hurd (gasman), Jamie Frady (catch can) and Andy Kruep (eighth-man). The pit crew coach is Matt Clark.

David Ragan’s No. 6 over-the-wall crew won the weekly Checkers/Rally’s Double Drive-Thru challenge during Sunday’s (Nov. 18) Nextel Cup event at Homestead-Miami Speedway. It was the first win of the season for the Roush Fenway Racing crew.

Ragan’s team consists of: Dennis Killian (jackman), Shelton McCall (front-tire carrier), Adam Emmert (front-tire changer), TJ Hamilton (rear-tire carrier), Dwayne Ogles (rear-tire changer), John Goodman (gasman), Shane Wood (catch can) and Justin Hines (eighth man). Jimmy Fennig is the crew chief.

2007 Checkers/Rally’s Double Drive-Thru Challenge Winners – Nextel Cup Series

Pos Car No. Pit Crew Wins Prize Money
T1 24 Jeff Gordon* 4 155,150**
T1 01 Mark Martin 4 44,000
T3 11 Denny Hamlin 3 33,000
T3 8 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 3 33,000
T3 12 Ryan Newman 3 33,000
T3 5 Kyle Busch 2 33,000
T7 29 Kevin Harvick 2 22,000
T7 48 Jimmie Johnson 2 22,000
T7 2 Kurt Busch 2 22,000
T7 25 Casey Mears 2 22,000
T7 07 Clint Bowyer 2 22,000
T7 41 Reed Sorenson 2 22,000
T7 1 Martin Truex Jr. 2 22,000
T14 70 Johnny Sauter 1 11,000
T14 6 David Ragan 1 11,000

| * won in tiebreaker – highest finishing team in driver point standings
**includes $111,150 season champion bonus

Checkers/Rally’s paid out $507,150 in prize money during the 2007 Nextel Cup season

Daytona (2/18) Martin Team
California (2/25) Martin Team
Las Vegas (3/11) Martin Team
Atlanta (3/18) Johnson Team
Bristol (3/25) Hamlin Team
Martinsville (4/1) Earnhardt Team
Texas (4/15) Martin Team
Phoenix (4/21) Hamlin Team
Talladega (4/29) Kurt Busch Team
Richmond (5/6) J. Gordon Team
Darlington (5/13) J. Gordon Team
Charlotte (5/27) Hamlin Team
Dover (6/4) Newman Team
Pocono (6/10) J. Gordon Team
Michigan (6/17) Kyle Busch Team
Infineon (6/24) Harvick Team
New Hamp. (7/1) Johnson Team
Daytona (7/7) Mears Team
Chicago (7/15) Harvick Team
Indianapolis (7/29) Sorenson Team
Pocono (8/5) Newman Team
Watkins Glen (8/12) Truex Team
Michigan (8/21) Kurt Busch Team
Bristol (8/25) Bowyer Team
California (9/2) Earnhardt Team
Richmond (9/8) J. Gordon Team
New Hamp. (9/16) Kyle Busch Team
Dover (9/23) Mears Team
Kansas (9/30) Earnhardt Team
Talladega (10/7) Sauter Team
Charlotte (10/13) Bowyer Team
Martinsville (10/21) Kyle Busch Team
Atlanta (10/28) Sorenson Team
Texas (11/4) Newman Team
Phoenix (11/11) Truex Team
Homestead (11/18) Ragan Team

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review