Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Gordy Named SCCA Chairman of the Board
The Sports Car Club of America, Inc. Board of Directors welcomed three new members of the Board this past weekend in its final face-to-face meeting of the year, and appointed R.J. Gordy, of Martinez, Calif., its Chairman for 2008.

Gordy will assume the Chairman duties January 1 from outgoing Chairman Robert Introne, who did not seek re-election. Gordy represents Area 9 (Northern California) on the 13-member Board of Directors, which governs the 50,000-member motorsports organization. Gordy began his three-year term on the Board in 2006.

"I am deeply honored to assume the position as Chairman of the Board of Directors of Sports Car Club of America,” Gordy said. “Some significant challenges lie ahead. However, I am confident that our team will overcome these challenges as we continue to offer motorsports enthusiasts the finest venue in which to enjoy their passion."

Gordy joined SCCA in 1985, beginning a 21-year driving career in Spec Racer Ford. Recognizing that he would not be able to drive forever, but wanting to ensure involvement, Gordy joined the Club Racing steward’s program in 1994. He was elected to the San Francisco Region Board of Directors in 1998, and began a five-year term as the group’s Regional Executive in 2001. In addition to being an active driver, steward and region leader, Gordy was selected to be a pace car driver at the National Championship Runoffs beginning in 2001 and has done so since.

Also elected into a new office was John Sheridan, of Altamont, N.Y., who takes over the Vice Chairman position vacated by Gordy. Sheridan was re-elected to his Director position in Area 10 (Northeast) in November and will begin his second three-year term in 2008.

K.P. Jones, of The Villages, Fla., remains the Board of Directors Treasurer and Jim Christian, of Boulder, Colo., remains its Secretary. Introne remains on the SCCA Board of Directors Executive Committee as its fifth member.

Jerry Wannarka (Area 2), Lisa Noble (Area 6) and Philip Creighton (Area 12) were all welcomed at the meeting as new members to the Board of Directors, beginning their formal duties the first of the year.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review