Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Drivers Nominated for Qualifying
Australia - A1 Team France continued to dominate the action at Sydney's Eastern Creek Raceway, setting the pace in the third and final practice session this morning in overcast and humid weather conditions, ahead of qualifying for the A1GP Sydney, Australia this afternoon.

Loic Duval, who topped the time sheets during Friday practice having only arrived at the circuit one hour before the session began, clocked the fastest lap at the start of the hour long session this morning and France remained the team to beat. Duval was closely followed by Great Britain's Robbie Kerr in second, who is back at the sharp end of the time sheets after a difficult weekend in Taupo, and India's Narain Karthikeyan in third, who put in a late charge on fresh tires.

Current championship leader New Zealand's Jonny Reid set the fourth quickest time of the session, just ahead of Germany's Michael Ammermüller in fifth. China's Congfu Cheng was on strong form this morning, ending the session in sixth position.

Italy's Edoardo Piscopo finished the session seventh ahead of home nation Australia's John Martin, who was the fastest man around the Eastern Creek circuit during yesterday's rookie session. Brazil's Sergio Jimenez ended the morning ninth fastest followed by Pakistan's Adam Khan in tenth.

Several teams struggled to find grip around the 'slippery' 3.93 km circuit which is particularly hard on tires, the Czech Republic, Netherlands and Portugal all spinning off during the session.

All 22 nations competing in the World Cup of Motorsport now have to decide on their set ups before qualifying for the Sprint and Feature races begins at 14.15 this afternoon. Qualifying consists of four 15 minute sessions with a five minute break between each one. The fastest lap time set by each team's nominated driver in the first two qualifying segments will determine the grid for the rolling start Sprint race, while the fastest times set in the final two segments will determine how the 22 cars will line up on the grid for the standing start Feature race. Each driver is limited to one 'flying lap' per 15 minute session.

Official Practice Session 3

1 Loic DUVAL FRANCE 01:20.060 - 24
2 Robbie KERR GREAT BRITAIN 01:20.233 0.173 21
3 Narain KARTHIKEYAN INDIA 01:20.333 0.273 23
4 Jonny REID NEW ZEALAND 01:20.475 0.415 25
5 Michael AMMERMÜLLER GERMANY 01:20.649 0.589 23
6 Congfu CHENG CHINA 01:20.706 0.646 29
7 Edoardo PISCOPO ITALY 01:20.746 0.686 22
8 John MARTIN AUSTRALIA 01:20.818 0.758 23
9 Sergio JIMENEZ BRAZIL 01:21.085 1.025 25
10 Adam KHAN PAKISTAN 01:21.161 1.101 25
11 Adrian ZAUGG SOUTH AFRICA 01:21.215 1.155 23
12 Joao URBANO PORTUGAL 01:21.502 1.442 25
13 Robert WICKENS CANADA 01:21.531 1.471 19
14 Neel JANI SWITZERLAND 01:21.583 1.523 23
15 Jeroen BLEEKEMOLEN NETHERLANDS 01:21.628 1.568 17
16 Tomas ENGE CZECH REPUBLIC 01:21.733 1.673 22
17 Adam CARROLL IRELAND 01:21.801 1.741 20
18 David GARZA MEXICO 01:21.857 1.797 23
19 Satrio HERMANTO INDONESIA 01:22.032 1.972 25
20 Fairuz FAUZY MALAYSIA 01:22.129 2.069 22
21 Jonathan SUMMERTON USA 01:22.134 2.074 23
22 Chris ALAJAJIAN LEBANON 01:36.349 16.289 2

Nominated drivers for Qualifying - A1GP Sydney, Australia (round 6 of 10)

Australia John Martin
Brazil Sergio Jimenez
Canada Robert Wickens
China CongFu Cheng
Czech Republic Tomas Enge
France Loic Duval
Germany Michael Ammermüller
Great Britain Robbie Kerr
India Narain Karthikeyan
Indonesia Satrio Hermanto
Ireland Adam Carroll
Italy Edoardo Piscopo
Lebanon Chris Alajajian
Malaysia Fairuz Fauzy
Mexico David Garza
Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen
New Zealand Jonny Reid
Pakistan Adam Khan
Portugal Joao Urbano
South Africa Adrian Zaugg
Switzerland Neel Jani
USA Jonathan Summerton

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review