Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Annett wins ARCA race in Toyota
Michael Annett
ARCA RE/MAX Series rookie Michael Annett survived the "big one" at Daytona. The Des Moines, Iowa driver also held off what was left of the hungry pack for the final 32 laps to take home the biggest victory of his career Saturday afternoon at Daytona Int'l Speedway, winning the 45th annual ARCA 200 at Daytona.

Annett, in the No. 28 Bill Davis-owned Pilot Travel Centers Toyota, finished three lengths in front of Justin Allgaier.

"We didn't qualify where we wanted to qualify," said Annett, who started third. "We wanted the pole, but we knew we had a good car in the draft. These tracks are a lot of fun and being in a Bill Davis Toyota makes it even more fun.  The only two tracks I've raced in with Bill Davis was the restrictor plate tracks and we won both of those so I can't wait to see how I tackle these intermediate tracks. We're looking at doing about 10-12 ARCA races with Bill Davis Racing."

Allgaier's second-place finish marked his career best superspeedway effort in his family-owned No. 16 AG Tech-Hoosier Tire Midwest Chevrolet. It also earned the Springfield, Illinois driver the Casite Hard Charger award for advancing the most positions.

"Towards the end we started moving up and old Bill [Baird] really pushed me up," said Allgaier. "We were just trying to get the best finish we could. If you look at the competition, there were some amazing cars here today. We qualified 30th and we felt like we had a better racing car than our qualifying car but it was obviously a lot better than we thought."

Baird, the 1999 ARCA RE/MAX Series driving champion, finished third a Ken Schrader-owned Saturn Machine Dodge.

"It was a busy week," said Baird. "We qualified 17th and the second lap of final practice here we got taken out. We missed the crashes [in today's race]. I'm basically retired from racing but that's why I still come back here, I still have the dream. We were hoping the field would break out at the end there but there was just no one to do it with so we settled for third."

Five-time Daytona champion Bobby Gerhart, the defending race winner, finished fourth in the No. 5 Lucas Oil Chevrolet.

"I missed it (the big wreck), but I was part of it," said Gerhart. "A couple of guys wrecked up there; we all bunched up and I just couldn't get stopped. I was a sitting duck with a big hole in the car, and it was pretty obvious after that. We put a little patch on it and I got right back in it. We'll be back next year and start the string all over again."

Nine-time series champion Frank Kimmel, after starting 43rd, finished fifth in his own No. 44 Prestolite-Riverside Auto Parts Dodge.

"We didn't have a winning car, for sure, but to come out with a top five with that car today is like a win for us, for sure," said Kimmel. "It was a real important day, with Riverside Auto Parts, Prestolite Wire coming out. It's a pretty rewarding day when all your friends come out to help you."

At the onset, SIM Factory Pole Award winner Justin Marks swapped the lead with Formula One veteran Scott Speed for the first 23 laps before series rookie Tom Hessert took over the top spot on lap 24. Hessert led the next 21 circuits during which a multi-car wreck off turn four brought out the red flag while track officials cleaned up.

The accident occurred on lap 30 when Kyle Krisiloff and Marks bounced off one another triggering a multi-car pile-up that eliminated some key players including Speed, Krisiloff, Kirk Shelmerdine, Mario Gosselin and Jack Bailey to name a few. There were no injuries; however 13 cars were eliminated among the 16 cars involved. 

When racing resumed, Hessert came down pit road for a scheduled pit stop giving the lead to Gerhart, who led up through lap 48. However, Annett, clearly one of the quickest machines all day, charged to the front on lap 49 and never relinquished the lead. Despite a solid line of lead-lap cars behind him for the remainder of the race, Annett, with no drafting help, was able to pull away as necessary.

Hessert, making his career-first start, finished sixth in the Maaco Auto Painting Ford earning the SunTrust Highest Finishing Rookie of the Race honors. Hendrick Motorsports rookie Landon Cassill finished seventh in the Stanley-Vidmar-Proto Chevrolet. Dawayne Bryan was eighth followed by Brad Baker in ninth and Dario Franchitti in 10th.

The next event on the ARCA RE/MAX Series schedule is at Salem Speedway in Salem, Indiana on Sunday, April 13th. 



St # Driver Sponsor Car Pts
1 3 28 Michael Annett  Pilot Travel Centers Toyota 240
2 30 16 Justin Allgaier  AG Tech Chevrolet 220
3 17 52 Bill Baird  Saturn Machine Dodge 215
4 4 5 Bobby Gerhart  Lucas Oil Chevrolet 215
5 43 44 Frank Kimmel  Riverside Auto Parts Dodge 205
6 11 1 Tom Hessert III  MAACO Auto Painting Ford 205
7 8 88 Landon Cassill  Stanley Chevrolet 195
8 22 72 Dawayne Bryan  Hi Tech Construction Dodge 190
10 9 40 Dario Franchitti  Fastenal Dodge 180
11 19 09 John Wes Townley  Zaxby's Ford 175
12 39 24 Mike Harmon  Elite 2 Racing Chevrolet 170
13 7 46 Matt Carter  Fort Dodge Animal Health Ford 165
14 40 34 Darrell Basham  Darrell Basham Racing Chevrolet 160
15 26 60 Patrick Sheltra  Ferguson Pipe Chevrolet 155
16 16 39 JR Heffner  Park East Sales Chevrolet 150
17 36 23 Brandon Kelley  Hixson Construction Chevrolet 145
18 21 4 Tayler Malsam  Cunningham Motorsports Dodge 140
19 34 22 Ken Butler III  ESR Development Toyota 135
20 37 90 Gabi DiCarlo  Great Clips Chevrolet 130
21 42 06 Tim Mitchell  Star Wheels Skate Center Ford 125
22 20 37 Dexter Bean  Glock Chevrolet 120
23 35 45 Nur Ali  Mark Gibson Racing Dodge 115
24 14 93 Pierre Bourque  ESR Development Dodge 110
25 6 99 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.  K&N Ford 105
26 1 65 Justin Marks  Voodoo Ride Toyota 120
27 23 54 Benny Chastain  Chastain-Schacht Motorsports Chevrolet 95
28 28 38 Danny Sammons  Harmon-Solhem Racing Chevrolet 90
29 41 26 Brad Smith  Koolmat Dodge 85
30 13 19 Jack Bailey Jr.  Eddie D'Hondt Racing Toyota 80
31 38 84 Norm Benning  Shodeen Chevrolet 75
32 27 21 Mario Gosselin  James Carter Attorney Chevrolet 70
33 18 32 Dominick Casola  A. Casloa Farms Dodge 65
34 10 27 Kirk Shelmerdine  Wabash Motorsports Chevrolet 60
35 12 30 Terry Jones  Jones Group Dodge 55
36 24 11 Bryan Silas  Nortrax-ICI Homes Ford 50
37 5 94 Max Dumarey  BodyCoach.net Ford 45
38 15 7 Kyle Krisiloff  Bobby Gerhart Racing Chevrolet 40
39 2 2 Scott Speed  Red Bull Toyota 50
40 32 75 Brian Scott  Bob Schacht Motorsports Chevrolet 30
41 29 12 Alli Owens  ElectrifyingCareers.com Chevrolet 30
42 31 00 Ed Kennedy  Ralph Solhem Racing Chevrolet 30
43 25 25 Ryan Fischer  Venturini Motorsports Chevrolet 30

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review