Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
39 entries for 2008 Indy 500
Three past winners and a talented group of rookies are among the highlights of the 39 entries received for the 92nd Indianapolis 500, scheduled for Sunday, May 25 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The three winners on this year's list are Helio Castroneves (2001-02), Buddy Rice (2004) and Dan Wheldon (2005).

Thirty-two drivers have been named to the 39 entries filed this year for the 33 starting spots in the world's most prestigious auto race, an increase of seven drivers over last year's initial entry list.

The 92nd Indianapolis 500 is scheduled to start at 1 p.m. (ET) Sunday, May 25 and will be broadcast live by ABC Sports, the IMS Radio Network and XM Channel 144.

Castroneves will attempt to join an elite club by earning his third Indianapolis 500 victory in the No. 3 Team Penske Dallara/Honda/Firestone. Just eight drivers have won the race three times or more since the inaugural event in 1911.

The famed 2.5-mile oval will open with a flurry of activity Sunday, May 4 on Indianapolis Star Opening Day/Rookie Orientation, as 12 rookies will participate due to the influx of drivers into the IndyCar Series created by the unification of North American open-wheel racing in February. The last time at least 12 rookies started the Indianapolis 500 was in 1997, when 13 first-timers took the green flag.

This year's rookie crop is one of the most impressive in years at Indianapolis. Leading the group is IndyCar Series sensation Graham Rahal, 19, who won April 6 in St. Petersburg, Fla., to become the youngest winner of a major North American open-wheel race. Rahal, the son of 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal, will drive the No. 06 Hole in the Wall Camps Dallara/Honda/Firestone for longtime open-wheel stalwart Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing.

Talented champions from Firestone Indy Lights, the premier ladder series for the IndyCar Series, continue to climb to the Indianapolis 500. 2007 series champion Alex Lloyd and 2006 series champion Jay Howard will make their Indianapolis debuts.

Lloyd and Howard join 2002 champion A.J. Foyt IV as past Firestone Indy Lights series champions competing for a starting spot at Indianapolis. Other former Firestone Indy Lights graduates competing at Indy include Marco Andretti, Ed Carpenter, Hideki Mutoh, Rahal and Marty Roth.

Three women will attempt to race in the Indianapolis 500 for the second consecutive year, as 2005 Chase Rookie of the Year Danica Patrick and popular veterans Sarah Fisher and Milka Duno were named to entries. Fisher will compete as the driver-owner for Sarah Fisher Racing.

Andretti Green Racing filed four entries, more than any other team. Teams filing three entries included 14-time Indy winners Team Penske, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing and Vision Racing.


Former race winners (3): Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002), Buddy Rice (2004), Dan Wheldon (2005).

Former pole winners (4): Helio Castroneves (2003, 2007), Bruno Junqueira (2002), Tony Kanaan (2005), Buddy Rice (2004).

Rookies (12): Enrique Bernoldi, Jay Howard, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Alex Lloyd, Mario Moraes, Hideki Mutoh, Franck Perera, Will Power, Graham Rahal, Oriol Servia, E.J. Viso, Justin Wilson.

U.S. born (10): Marco Andretti, Townsend Bell, Ed Carpenter, Sarah Fisher, A.J. Foyt IV, Larry Foyt, Graham Rahal, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Danica Patrick, Buddy Rice.

Foreign born (22): Enrique Bernoldi, Brazil; Ryan Briscoe, Australia; Helio Castroneves, Brazil; Scott Dixon, New Zealand; Milka Duno, Venezuela; Jay Howard, England; Bruno Junqueira, Brazil; Tony Kanaan, Brazil; Alex Lloyd, England; Darren Manning, England; Vitor Meira, Brazil; Mario Moraes, Brazil; Hideki Mutoh, Japan; Max Papis, Italy; Franck Perera, France; Will Power, Australia; Marty Roth, Canada; Tomas Scheckter, South Africa; Oriol Servia, Spain; E.J. Viso, Venezuela; Dan Wheldon, England, Justin Wilson, England.

Youngest: Graham Rahal, 19.

Oldest: Marty Roth, 49.

Most previous starts: Helio Castroneves, 7.

Car Driver Entrant
2 A.J. Foyt IV Vision Racing
3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske
4 Vitor Meira Panther Racing
5 Oriol Servia KV Racing Technology
6 Ryan Briscoe Team Penske
7 Danica Patrick Andretti Green Racing
8 Will Power KV Racing Technology
9 Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Racing
10 Dan Wheldon Target Chip Ganassi Racing
11 Tony Kanaan Andretti Green Racing
12 Tomas Scheckter Luczo Dragon Racing
14 Darren Manning A.J. Foyt Enterprises
15 Buddy Rice Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
16 Alex Lloyd Rahal Letterman Racing
17 Ryan Hunter-Reay Rahal Letterman Racing
18 Bruno Junqueira Dale Coyne Racing
19 Mario Moraes Dale Coyne Racing
20 Ed Carpenter Vision Racing
21 TBA Playa Del Racing
22 TBA Vision Racing
23 Milka Duno Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
24 Jay Howard Roth Racing
25 Marty Roth Roth Racing
26 Marco Andretti Andretti Green Racing
27 Hideki Mutoh Andretti Green Racing
33 E.J. Viso HVM Racing
34 Franck Perera Conquest Racing
36 Enrique Bernoldi Conquest Racing
41 Larry Foyt A.J. Foyt Enterprises
44 Max Papis Sam Schmidt Motorsports
67 Sarah Fisher Sarah Fisher Racing
77 TBA Team Penske
83 TBA Panther Racing
91 TBA Hemelgarn Johnson
98 TBA CURB/Agajanian/Beck Motorsports
99 Townsend Bell Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
02 Justin Wilson Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing
06 Graham Rahal Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing
Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review