Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
racing news
Motorsports Hall of Fame of America to Induct
The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America will expand its honor roll by seven at its 20th annual Induction Ceremony on Wednesday, August 13, 2008, at the Fillmore Detroit.

The class of 2008 includes open-wheel racing champion Michael Andretti (presenter: Mario Andretti), NASCAR great Buddy Baker (presenter: Humpy Wheeler), drag racing king John Force (presenter: Tom Compton), sports car champion Richie Ginther (presenter: E. Forbes-Robinson), motorcycle hero Wayne Rainey (accepting for Mr. Rainey: Roger Edmondson), aerobatic pilot Betty Skelton (presenter: Patty Wagstaff), and one of America’s most versatile competitors, Paul Goldsmith (presenter: Donald Davidson).

Legendary Indy car team owner Carl Haas will also be recognized as the ninth recipient of the Bob Russo Heritage Award for his significant contribution to American motorsports.

The current list of 167 men and women that grace the Hall of Fame roster includes Mario Andretti, A.J. Foyt, Lee and Richard Petty, Al and Bobby Unser, Chris Economaki, Don Garlits, Shirley Muldowney, Bill France Jr., and Dale Earnhardt, among the historic list of others.

Returning inductees tentatively scheduled to attend include Bobby Allison, Joe Amato, Chris Economaki, Don Prudhomme, Chris Karamesines, Connie Kalitta, Mel Kenyon, Bill Seebold, Bill "Grumpy" Jenkins, Leo Mehl, Buddy Martin, Jim McGee, Herschel McGriff, Danny Ongais, Bill Simpson, Bobby Unser, Hurley Haywood, Shirley Muldowney, Gary Nixon, Carroll Resweber, Lyle Shelton and Jay Springsteen.

Current drivers tentatively scheduled to attend include Tony Pedregon, Ashley Force, Arie Luyendyk, Sarah Fisher, Robert Hight and Johnny O’Connell.

The Fillmore Detroit is located at 2115 Woodward Ave. in Detroit. Limited black tie balcony seating is still available for $75 a seat. For more information on available corporate sponsorships contact Ron Watson at 800.250.7223.

Founded in 1989, the Motorsports Museum & Hall of Fame is operated by the nonprofit Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc. The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America is a museum housing more than 40 racing and high-performance vehicles. The constantly changing collection features racers from the world of Indy cars, stock cars, Can-Am, Trans-Am, sprint cars, powerboats, truck racing, drag racing, motorcycles, air racing and even snowmobiles. Among the highlights are Art Arfons’ Green Monster jet car, Kenny Bernstein’s Funny Car and the championship NASCAR stock car driven by Dale Jarrett.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review