Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
PSV Eindhoven wins race 2 at Nurburgring
PSV Eindhoven emerged as winners of Race 2 of Superleague Formula in Germany on Sunday afternoon, driver Yelmer Buurman capitalizing on a late mistake by AS Roma to nip by the Italian car with just minutes of racing remaining.

Second was Anderlecht, with Leicester's Craig Dolby on board, with championship leaders Beijing Guoan third. Long-time leaders Roma were fourth.

In a reverse grid following Race 1's results, Roma and Liverpool got off to a flying start and streaked away from the field.

Tottenham was forced to retire early after a clash with Al-Ain, while Liverpool followed shortly afterwards, retiring with mechanical problems on lap four.

Early pace setters Basel were next to come to an abrupt halt - on lap 13 - with Eindhoven's pace coming to the fore at same stage of the event.

One man on an excellent charge, however, was Rangers' James Walker who had climbed from 15th on the grid to fourth before a spin on lap 15 ended his race and brought the Safety Car out on track.

Also weaving his way through the field was Race 1 winner Robert Doornbos, who even barged Atletico Madrid out of his way at one point. The Dutch racer eventually finished sixth, a result perfectly acceptable considering he started last on the grid.

After a Safety Car mix-up, the action resumed with eight minutes remaining, though it was clear that Roma were struggling and would find it difficult to stay in front of Eindhoven.

The pressure proved too much for Enrico Toccacelo, who ran wide at Turn 1 with two minutes plus one lap left on the clock, to allow not only Eindhoven but Anderlecht and Beijing by.

There was still time enough for Doornbos to get by Galatasaray on the main straight and claim a second impressive result on the day for his Italian squad.

RESULTS - Nurburgring, Race 2


# Driver Club Result
1 5 Y.Buurman PSV Einhoven 46:41.041
2 8 C.Dolby RSC Anderlecht -0.611 sec
3 12 D.Rigon Beijing Guoan -1.630
4 22 A.Toccocela AS Roma -6.574
5 16 T.Gommendy FC Porto -7.914
6 3 R.Doornbos AC Milan -8.318
7 4 A.Pier Guidi Galatasaray -8.713
8 18 B.Garcia Sevilla FC -9.060
9 15 A.Soucek Atletico Madrid -9.418
10 14 A.Pizzonia Corinthians -10.075
11 6 A.Zuber Al-Ain -1 lap
12 17 J.Walker Rangers DNF -10 laps
13 10 M.Wissel FC Basel DNF -12 laps
14 21 A.Valles Liverpool FC DNF -21 laps
15 9 K.Andersen Olympiacos DNF -23 laps
16 7 T.Rocha Flamengo DNF -24 laps
17 19 D.Tappy Tottenham Hotspur DNF -24 laps
18 11 N.Philippe Borussia Dortmund Did Not Start

Beijing Guoan, 151; PSV Eindhoven, 127; Sevilla FC, 120; RSC Anderlecht, 107; AS Roma, 105; FC Porto, 101; Liverpool FC, 92; Tottenham Hotspur, 90; Galatasaray, 90; AC Milan, 85; Rangers FC, 83; FC Basel, 78; Corinthians, 74; Al-Ain, 69; Flamengo, 66; Borussia Dortmund, 52; Olympiacos, 52; Atletico Madrid, 20

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review