Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Terminal Velocity Processing to sponsor Pacific F2000
Les Phillips, founder and president of the Pacific F2000 Championship, announced today that Terminal Velocity Processing, an innovative credit card payment processing company, will take over exclusive title sponsorship of the series, beginning with the 2008 season finale at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on October 18/19. The deal also encompasses the entire 2009 season.

TVP specializes in providing cost-saving services for card-not-present (CNP) mail order/telephone order and Internet merchants.

In addition to backing the #84 Terminal Velocity/DFR Van Diemen of current Pacific F2000 series front-runner (and ‘06 champion) Robert Podlesni, the Agoura, Hills, Calif.-based company recently announced it will support the Team USA Scholarship, which is aimed at furthering the careers of talented young American racer car drivers.

"We are enthused to have added a marketing partner like TVP that can bring so many innovative ideas and capabilities to our program," said Phillips. "Pacific F2000 is such a good match for their services and target market. The programs they are developing over the entire sport are certain to help many young and talented drivers and riders find the resources to enhance their driving careers.

"Already we have witnessed several companies, both within and without motorsports, take advantage of the services Terminal Velocity Processing provides. The competitiveness and close racing seen in Pacific F2000 is a perfect showcase for TVP to expose those new customers to the many marketing opportunities in racing."

The Terminal Velocity Pacific F2000 Championship currently is contested over six race weekends, each of which comprises a pair of qualifying sessions and two 30-minute races. The series is based on the West Coast, to keep travel costs within reach of its competitors, and includes events at Auto Club Speedway of Southern California (Fontana), Infineon Raceway (Sonoma, Calif.), Las Vegas Motor Speedway (Nev.), Miller Motorsports Park (Tooele, Utah), Willow Springs International Raceway (Rosamond, Calif.) and Buttonwillow Raceway Park, Calif.

"We at TVP are delighted to serve as official title sponsor of the Pacific F2000 Championship," said Jim Wilson, founder and CEO of Terminal Velocity Processing. "The series has a tremendous history of developing new talent and providing an affordable and extremely competitive first step on the professional auto racing ladder.

"We have established the Terminal Velocity Racing ("TVR") program as a means to contribute dollars for drivers, teams, racing series and scholarship awards which will ultimately benefit various forms of auto racing throughout the country.

"TVP generates funding dollars from the collective automotive-related merchant community by processing their credit card transactions and donating 100 percent of its fee income back to TVR," added Wilson. "TVP intends to rally the automotive related merchant community – which represents hundreds of millions in potential transaction processing dollars – to redirect the collective fee income into auto racing activities that not only benefits the automotive industry, but also ‘gives back’ to support our professional drivers/teams and ladder series events."

Pacific F2000 represents one of the first rungs on the professional open-wheel auto racing ladder. It features modern, purpose-built race cars powered by four-cylinder, double-overhead cam, fuel-injected 2.0-liter Ford Zetec engines which produce around 160 hp or the older, slightly less powerful, carbureted 2.0-liter Ford "Pinto" motors. All run on "slick" (treadless) Hankook racing tires and are capable of speeds in excess of 140 mph.

The category originated in England in 1974 and has helped spawn the careers of many of the sport’s top names, including Formula 1 World Champions Ayrton Senna and Damon Hill. It has been equally productive in the United States and Canada, producing such alumni as Sam Hornish Jr., Buddy Rice, Paul Tracy, Jimmy Vasser and Dan Wheldon. Graduates of Pacific F2000 since its inception in 2004 include Jason Bowles, a front-runner in the Camping World NASCAR West Series event; Team USA Scholarship winners and rising open-wheel stars J.R. Hildebrand, Dane Cameron and Joel Miller, and emerging sports car talent such as Brad Jaeger, Mike Forest and Patrick Barrett.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review