Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Briscoe on top in morning warmup
After losing out on pole position in qualifying Friday at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, Porsche posted the fastest time in a 25-minute warmup for the Monterey Sports Car Championships. Penske Motorsports’ Ryan Briscoe set the fastest time Saturday morning with a lap of 1:12.171 (111.635 mph) in the Porsche RS Spyder that he will share with Helio Castroneves.

Porsche and Acura are locked in a tight race for the LMP2 manufacturer championship with the German marque leading by eight points. Acura needs to sweep the class podium to claim the title.

Acura sat second in the warmup thanks to Franck Montagny’s lap of 1:12.217 (111.564 mph) in Andretti Green Racing’s Acura ARX-01b that he will drive with Tony Kanaan. Audi Sport North America’s Lucas Luhr was third-quickest and first in LMP1 in one of two diesel-powered Audi R10 TDIs. .

He posted a lap of 1:12.482 (111.156 mph) in the car that he will share with Marco Werner, the two having wrapped up the class championship two races ago in Detroit.

Next up overall was the third-place LMP2 entry of Adrian Fernandez and Luis Diaz in the Lowe’s Fernandez Racing Acura at 1:12.586 (110.997 mph).

The second-quickest LMP1 car was the second Audi of Emanuele Pirro and Christijan Albers at 1:14.176 (108.617 mph). It was nearly a second faster than Intersport Racing’s Lola-AER of Jon Field, Ryan Lewis and Richard Berry.

In GT1, class pole-winner Jan Magnussen set the fastest time at 1:20.266 (100.376 mph) in the Corvette Racing Corvette C6.R that he will drive with Johnny O’Connell. The pairing wrapped up their championship two weeks ago at Road Atlanta.

The second Corvette of Oliver Gavin and Olivier Beretta was 0.091 seconds behind Magnussen.

Tafel Racing’s Dirk Mueller was the quickest driver in GT2. He toured his Ferrari F430 GT, which he will share with Dominik Farnbacher, around the track in 1:23.260 (96.767 mph). That was good enough for a 0.449-second gap to the second-place Flying Lizard Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 RSR of Johannes van Overbeek and Patrick Pilet.

Next up was Risi Competizione’s duo of Jaime Melo and Mika Salo with a lap of 1:23.732 (96.221 mph) in their Ferrari F430 GT. ALMS

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review