Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Allan McNish voted top ALMS Driver of the Decade
Fans voted Allan McNish top ALMS Driver of the Decade
With the 10th season of the American Le Mans Series coming to a close, its fans are honoring the competitors who have made the first 10 years unforgettable. The Series announced its Drivers of the Decade - selected by its worldwide Internet audience - at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, site of the Monterey Sports Car Championships presented by Patr¢n.

Fans voted Audi's Allan McNish, a three-time American Le Mans Series LMP1 champion, as the Series' top Driver of the Decade. The Scot claimed championships in 2000, 2006 and 2007. He owns 26 Series victories, 12 pole positions and 15 fastest race laps. McNish added to his legacy with a sterling showing at Petit Le Mans by making up two laps in the first two hours and 45 minutes after he crashed his Audi R10 TDI on the pre-race reconnaissance lap.

McNish went on to win the race with Dindo Capello and Emanuele Pirro by 4.512 seconds.

Eight of 10 Drivers of the Decade are active members of the American Le Mans Series. They include:

  • Ron Fellows: Three championships, 27 wins and 16 pole positions
  • Johnny O'Connell: Three championships, 94 starts (most all-time) and 36 wins
  • Olivier Beretta: Five championships, 39 wins, 22 pole positions and 24 fastest race laps (all are Series records)
  • David Brabham: 81 starts, 16 victories and nine pole positions
  • Jan Magnussen: One championship, 72 starts, 22 victories, eight pole positions and nine fastest race laps
  • Lucas Luhr: Four championships, 65 starts, 30 victories, 18 pole positions and 11 fastest race laps
  • Jörg Bergmeister: Three championships, 68 starts and 23 victories
  • JJ Lehto: One championship, 23 victories, nine pole positions and 13 fastest race laps
  • James Weaver: 56 starts, five victories, 15 pole positions and 11 fastest race laps

Other drivers receiving significant support include Terry Borcheller, the 2001 GTS champion; three-time LMP1 champion Dindo Capello; 2002 LMP900 champion Tom Kristensen; former GT and LMP2 champion Sascha Maassen; and two-time reigning LMP2 champion Romain Dumas. ALMS

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review