Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Six IndyCar Series drivers earn AARWBA All-America nominations
Six IndyCar Series drivers are on the ballot for the Auto Racing All-America team, which will be voted on by more than 300 members of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association.

Two nominees from each of seven categories will be named to the first team, to be honored at the annual AARWBA banquet Jan. 10 in Ontario, Calif. The winner of the Jerry Titus Award, which honors the top vote-getter regardless of category -- also will be announced.

Team Penske’s Ryan Briscoe is a first-time nominee in the open-wheel racing category. Former Jerry Titus Award winners Dan Wheldon (2005) and Tony Kanaan (2004) also are on the ballot, along with IndyCar Series and Indianapolis 500 champion Scott Dixon, series championship runner-up Helio Castroneves and Danica Patrick.

Raphael Matos, the reigning Firestone Indy Lights champion who will move to the IndyCar Series in 2009 with Luczo Dragon Racing, is nominated in the at-large category.

Briscoe won at The Milwaukee Mile and Mid-Ohio Sports Car course in his first season driving the No. 6 Team Penske car. He also won the non-points race at Surfers Paradise, Australia. Kanaan finished third and Wheldon fourth in the championship race. Patrick, the first female to win a major closed-course auto race in April, finished a career-high sixth in the standings.

Balloting also will determine a second team of the drivers placing third and fourth in each category, and honorable mentions to all other drivers receiving at least 5 percent of the vote. AARWBA members have chosen an All-America Auto Racing Team since 1970.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review