Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Paul Newman Leads List of New Inductees
Paul Newman
Sports Car Club of America has announced the five individuals who will be inducted into the SCCA Hall of Fame at the 2009 SCCA National Convention. The diverse group, including Paul Newman, Bill Chambres, Bill Johnson, Kim Kimberly and John Timanus, spans all facets of the Club, from former volunteers and drivers to former SCCA Presidents. Paul Newman’s accomplishments in the entertainment industry are well known throughout the world and it is because of this, that his accomplishments within SCCA are so respected. A championship car owner, four-time National Champion and President’s Cup winner, Newman never sought any extra concessions while participating in Club Racing. Rather, Newman, who went by P.L. Newman on SCCA entry lists, chose to blend in with the SCCA crowd and only be recognized for his accomplishments behind the wheel, which he most certainly achieved through sheer driving skill. Though quite possibly SCCA’s most famous member, Newman treated his fellow members as equals, something for which the Club will always remember him. 

Bill Chambres guided the Club from behind the scenes. He started as a flagger, then a communicator and eventually graduated to the role of steward. Chambres maintained a high level of professionalism in each role for both Club and Pro Racing. He enjoyed lending his expertise to help SCCA and its regions to organize conventions, leading to many a successful event. With each and every task, Chambres exhibited the attitude and attributes that exemplify what an SCCA Official should be.

A Dave Morrell Award winner, Bill Johnson’s abilities as a steward are unquestionable. This made him the perfect man to lead a massive reorganization of the stewards program in 2002 while serving as its chairman. Johnson also served as Chairman of the SCCA Board of Directors, earning the Wolf Barnato Award for his achievements in that capacity. ProSolo fans owe Johnson a debt of gratitude for his role in the creation of the original Tire Rack ProSolo series.

Jim Kimberly was the “gentleman’s driver” personified. He raced cars strictly for the joy he derived from it. While President of the SCCA, Kimberly strongly promoted the belief that SCCA competition should be a purely amateur venture. Though he championed amateur racing, Kimberly’s conduct at the track and behind the wheel was nothing less than professional, which led him to an SCCA National Championship. His conduct in representing SCCA and its ideals were also handled in a truly professional manner, earning him a spot on the Board of Directors. Given to the most improved driver of the season, the Kimberly Cup is named in his honor.

For both SCCA Club and SCCA Pro Racing, John Timanus was an expert on all things technical. His immense understanding of competition rules, technical compliance and how to develop a car’s technical profile earned him the respect of the entire motorsports industry, which translated into respect for SCCA. Timanus was awarded the Woolf Barnato Award, not just because of his technical acumen, but because of the creditability he gained for the Club within the national and international racing scene.

Johnson, Chambres, Newman, Timanus and Kimberly will all be inducted into the SCCA Hall of Fame at the 2009 SCCA National Convention in Las Vegas . The induction ceremony is scheduled to take place Saturday, Feb. 21, at 7 p.m. (PST).

The five 2009 inductees will join the four previous classes, including:

2005: Cameron Argetsinger, A. Tracy Bird, John Fitch, Arthur Gervais, Harry Handley, Vern Jaques, Bill Milliken, Sue Roethel, Art Trier and Rob Walker.
2006: John Bornholdt, John Buffum, Mark Donohue, Denise McCluggage and Grant Reynolds.
2007: Marge Binks, Marc Gerstein, Carl A. Haas, General Curtis E. LeMay, and Theodore F. Robertson.
2008: Roger E Johnson, Don and Ruth Nixon, Kjell Qvale, Robert Ridges and Fred Schmucker.

The formation of the SCCA Hall of Fame was announced Feb. 7, 2004 at the National Convention. Hall of Fame inductees are selected for having made a significant contribution to the development and/or the preservation of SCCA that had a direct impact on the Club being the organization it is today.

Nominations were submitted to and reviewed by the Hall of Fame Nomination and Selection Committees. Of the nominated individuals, five were selected for the 2009 Class.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review