Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
IndyCar Series drivers geared up for Rolex 24 at Daytona
The past two IndyCar Series champions and the 2007 Firestone Indy Lights champion will co-drive one of the two Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates cars in the 47th Rolex 24 At Daytona later this month.

Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti will join Alex Lloyd in the No. 02 Target/TELMEX Daytona Prototype. The drivers participated in testing at Daytona International Speedway Jan. 2-4.

Chip Ganassi and co-owner Felix Sabates are the first team owners to win three consecutive Rolex 24 At Daytona overall titles. Last year, Franchitti, Juan Pablo Montoya, Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas teamed up to win the race on the 3.56-mile circuit.

Other IndyCar Series drivers entered in the twice-around-the-clock race in the Daytona Prototype class include:

● Danica Patrick with Childress-Howard Motorsports (Casey Mears, Andy Wallace and Rob Finlay teammates).
● Ryan Briscoe with Penske Racing (Timo Bernhard and Romain Dumas teammates).
● Buddy Rice with Brumos Racing (Darren Law, David Donohue and Antonio Garcia teammates).
● Ryan Hunter-Reay with Michael Shank Racing (Colin Braun, Oswaldo Negri and Mark Patterson teammates).
● Darren Manning with Orbit Racing (Kyle Petty, Marc Goossens and Leo Hindery Jr. teammates).

Also competing in Daytona Prototypes are: KV Racing Technology co-owner Jimmy Vasser, who will co-drive the No. 99 GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Daytona Prototype with Jimmie Johnson, Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty, Tomas Enge, who will compete with Alegra Motorsports, and former Firestone Indy Lights competitor Brad Jaeger, who will compete with Doran Racing.

Vision Racing co-owner Patrick Dempsey heads the Dempsey Racing lineup in the GT class with Joe Foster, Tim Lewis Jr. and Charles Espenlaub. IndyCar Series competitors Max Papis (Mastercar-Coast 2 Costa Racing) and Jeff Bucknum (Stevenson Motorsports) also will compete in the GT class.

Also competing in the GT class will be Jim Michaelian, race director of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach. The IndyCar Series and Firestone Indy Lights will headline the annual street race for the first time April 19.

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review