Hot News
for your iPhone
for your iPad
Go to our forums to discuss this news
DATE News (chronologically)
Daytona 500 Qualifying Procedures

• One round of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series timed qualifying will be held. Each team may run two laps with the fast lap setting the qualifying time. The two fastest qualifiers set starting positions one and two and are the only guaranteed positions, filling the front row for the Daytona 500.

• The Gatorade Duels, the 150-mile qualifying races, will determine starting positions for the Daytona 500 beyond the front row. In the event of cancellation, the field will be set according to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Rule Book.

Gatorade Duel Assignment
• The eligible highest ranked 35 in 2008 car owner points will be assigned to Gatorade Duel races based on their standing in the 2008 final car owner points. Odd-numbered owner points will compete in the first Gatorade Duel; even numbered owners will compete in the second. The only exception is that the fastest qualifier will start on the pole in the first Gatorade Duel and the second fastest will start on the pole in the second, regardless of 2008 car owner point standings.

• Owners who failed to finish in the top 35 of the 2008 car owner points will be assigned to a Gatorade Duel based on qualifying times – the highest qualifying owner to the first Duel; the next to the second and alternating through the remaining entries. Starting positions for the Gatorade Duels are based on qualifying times.

Daytona 500 Lineup
• Finishing positions in the Gatorade Duels will determine starting positions in the Daytona 500 once the two fastest qualifiers will start on the front row of the Daytona 500 based on their qualifying times, regardless of their finish in the Duels. Based on their finish in the first Duel, the eligible highest ranked 35 in car owner points plus the two highest finishing non-top 35 teams will be lined up in the odd-number starting positions. Based on their finish in the second Duel, the eligible highest ranked 35 in car owner points plus the two highest finishing non-top 35 teams will be lined up in the even-number starting positions.

• The remaining positions will be filled based on qualifying times beginning with the next available position.

• The composition of the front row will reduce the above numbers. If there are top-35 teams on the front row, the number of guaranteed starters is reduced accordingly. If there are no top-35 teams on the front row, the number of cars that get in based on time are reduced accordingly.

• The 43rd starting position will be assigned to any car owner who has the most recent eligible past NASCAR Sprint Cup champion as long as the past champion competed in the 2008 NASCAR Sprint Cup season. If the 43rd position is not used by a past champion, it will be assigned to the next highest qualifying time.

The bottom line – for the 2009 Daytona 500 - is that the top-two qualifiers are in. The remaining top-35 guaranteed starters are in. Four drivers will make the field based on their performance in the duels and the remaining positions will be filled based on qualifying times or being a past champion.

Qualifying Order


1 24 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet DuPont
2 9 Kasey Kahne Dodge Budweiser
3 12 David Stremme Dodge Penske Racing
4 96 Bobby Labonte Ford Ask.com
5 2 Kurt Busch Dodge Miller Lite
6 83 Brian Vickers Toyota Red Bull
7 34 John Andretti Chevrolet Window World
8 5 Mark Martin Chevrolet Kellogg's / Carquest
9 48 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet Lowe's
10 7 Robby Gordon Toyota Jim Beam
11 42 Juan Montoya Chevrolet Target
12 29 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet Shell / Pennzoil
13 8 Aric Almirola Chevrolet Guitar Hero
14 16 Greg Biffle Ford 3M
15 82 Scott Speed* Toyota Red Bull
16 43 Reed Sorenson Dodge McDonald's
17 99 Carl Edwards Ford Aflac
18 07 Casey Mears Chevrolet Jack Daniel's
19 55 Michael Waltrip Toyota NAPA
20 00 David Reutimann Toyota Aaron's Dream Machine
21 31 Jeff Burton Chevrolet Caterpillar
22 98 Paul Menard Ford Quaker State / Menards
23 39 Ryan Newman Chevrolet U.S. Army
24 26 Jamie McMurray Ford Crown Royal
25 6 David Ragan Ford UPS
26 19 Elliott Sadler Dodge Stanley
27 77 Sam Hornish Jr. Dodge Mobil 1
28 1 Martin Truex Jr. Chevrolet Bass Pro Shops / Tracker
29 47 Marcos Ambrose Toyota Little Debbie / Kingsford / Clorox
30 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet Amp Energy / National Guard
31 11 Denny Hamlin Toyota FedEx Express
32 17 Matt Kenseth Ford Dewalt
33 20 Joey Logano* Toyota The Home Depot
34 33 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet Cheerios / Hamburger Helper
35 18 Kyle Busch Toyota M&M's
36 09 Brad Keselowski Chevrolet Miccosukee Resort & Gaming
37 41 Jeremy Mayfield Toyota All Sport
38 73 Mike Garvey Dodge Jani-King
39 127 Kirk Shelmerdine Toyota Kirk Shelmerdine Racing
40 123 Mike Skinner Chevrolet Mahindra Tractors
41 28 Travis Kvapil Ford Golden Corral
42 171 Mike Wallace Chevrolet TRG Motorsports
43 14 Tony Stewart Chevrolet Office Depot / Old Spice
44 21 Bill Elliott Ford Motorcraft
45 64 Geoff Bodine Toyota Gunselman Motorsports
46 51 Kelly Bires Dodge BlackJack Racing
47 66 Terry Labonte Toyota Window World
48 08 Boris Said Ford U.S. Chrome
49 175 Derrike Cope Dodge Blu Frog Energy Drink
50 78 Regan Smith Chevrolet Furniture Row Racing
51 187 Joe Nemechek Toyota NEMCO Motorsports
52 44 A.J. Allmendinger Dodge Valvoline
53 157 Norm Benning Chevrolet Benning Racing
54 37 Tony Raines Dodge Long John Silver's
55 146 Carl Long Dodge Romeo Guest Construction
56 36 Scott Riggs Toyota Tommy Baldwin Racing
57 60 James Hylton Dodge Carter / Simo Racing

Hot News Archives
2000 2001 2002 2003

Search Hot News
Search Help
AutoRacing1 Inc. BBB Business Review